Putman v. AlexanderPutman v. Alexander
- Reporters:
- , ,
- Before:
- Martin
Majestic Mountain Construction, Inc. and Marsha Patterson-Jones (collectively “defendants”) appeal from Opinions and Awards by the North Carolina Industrial Commission (“Commission”) (1) awarding disability benefits, medical expenses, and attorney’s fees and costs to Michael Dewayne Putman and Darrell Thompson (collectively “plaintiffs”) and (2) assessing additional civil penalties against defendant Marsha Patterson-Jones. We affirm each of the Commission’s awards.
While defendants have maintained separate appeals, both appeals involve common questions of law, as еvidenced by defendants’ decision to submit virtually identical appellate briefs in each case. Therefore, upon our own initiative, we consolidate these appeals for the purpose of rendering a single opinion on all issues properly before the Court.
See
On 16 June 2005, plaintiffs were injured by an accident arising out of and in the course of their employment with Randy Alexander. Plaintiffs were doing carpentry work “on a second-story deck that collapsed and broke away from [a] town home [that was under construction], causing plaintiffs] to fall approximately 15 to 16 feet onto a lower deck, then fall to the ground approximately 10 feet below the lower deck, and then down an embankment.” Both plaintiffs sustained injuries which required varying degrees of continued medical treatment and rehabilitative or therapeutic care, and which restricted their ability to return to work. At the time of the accident, plaintiffs’ employer, Randy Alexander, did not have workers’ compensation insurance.
In June 2005, plaintiffs were working on the construction site for a residential development project named the Villas of Provence in Glenville, North Carolina. At that time, William Allen Patterson was the title owner of the 9.5 acre tract on which the residential units were being constructed. Marsha Patterson-Jones, Mr. Patterson’s daughter, was the owner and “qualifier” of Majestic Mountain Construction, Inc. (“MMC”), which was the licensed general contractor for the Villas of Provence project. Mrs. Patterson-Jones was also a licensed realtor and owned Majestic Mountаin Realty, which listed two of the first four units sold in the Villas of Provence. Ben Jones, Mrs. Patterson-Jones’s husband, served as the “site manager for the property on which defendant [MMC] was developing and plaintiff[s were] working,” and was responsible for “hir[ing] the subcontractors, [telling] them what to do, check[ing] to make sure the work was being done properly, and reporting] back to his wife on what materials needed to be ordered” for the project. However, whether Ben Jones was retained by his wife’s company, MMC, or by his father-in-law is one of the issues before this Court. Ben Jones was also respоnsible for hiring Randy Alexander and was the person to whom Randy Alexander and plaintiffs reported on the Villas of Provence construction site.
On 23 October 2006, both plaintiffs’ cases were presented in one hearing before a deputy commissioner. On 30 May 2007, the deputy commissioner filed Opinions and Awards which determined that plaintiffs sustained compensable injuries by an accident arising out of and in the course of their employment with Randy Alexander. The deputy commissioner
We first consider plaintiff Thompson’s motion to this Court to dismiss defendants’ appeal on the grounds that defendants failed to timely serve their notice of appeal on plaintiff Thompson pursuant to Rule 3 of the North Carolina Rules of Appellate Procedure. We also consider defendants’ petition for writ of certiorari filed in response to plaintiff Thompson’s motion to dismiss. For the reasons discussed below, we grant plaintiff Thompson’s motion to dismiss defendants’ appeal, and we grant defendants’ petition for writ of certiorari.
“In order to confer jurisdiction on the state’s appellate courts, appellants of lower court orders must comply with the requirements of Rule 3 of the North Carolina Rules of Appellate Procedure.” Bailey v. State, 353 N.C. 142, 156, 540 S.E.2d 313, 322 (2000). “The provisions of Rule 3 are jurisdictional, and failure to follow the rule’s prerequisites mandates dismissal of an appeal. In addition, the rules of the Supreme Court that regulate appeals, such as Rule 3, are mandatory and must be observed.” Id. (citation omitted).
Rule 3(c) of the North Carolina Rules of Appellate Procedure requires that, within the time limitations spеcified by the rule, “a party must file and serve a notice of appeal.”
In the present case, defendants timely filed their notice of appeal to this Court from the 5 December 2007 Opinion and Award in favor of plaintiff Thompson on 18 December 2007. However, instead of mailing a copy of that notice to plaintiff Thompson’s counsel of record, who appeared on his behalf before both the deputy commissioner and the Full Commission, service was made upon plaintiff Putman’s counsel of record. Plaintiff Thompson subsequently moved to dismiss defendants’ notice of appeal on 6 February 2008 for failing to comply with the service requirements of Appellate
Nevertheless, this Court may issue a writ of certiorari “when the right to prosecute an appeal has been lost by failure to take timely action.”
The issues before this Court are as follows: (I) whether the Commission erred by concluding
I.
Defendants first contend the Commission erred by concluding that MMC was plaintiffs’ statutory employer under
When it has jurisdiction to hear the claims before it, “ ‘[t]he findings of fact by the Industrial Commission are conclusive on appeal if supported by any competent evidence.’ ”
Adams v. AVX Corp.,
349 N.C. 676, 681, 509 S.E.2d 411, 414 (1998) (quoting
Gallimore v. Marilyn’s
Shoes, 292 N.C. 399, 402, 233 S.E.2d 529, 531 (1977)),
reh’g denied,
350 N.C. 108, 532 S.E.2d 522 (1999);
see also
However, “[wjhether a defendant is a statutory employer within the meaning of [N.C.G.S.]
Any principal contractor, intermediate contractor, or subcontractor who shall sublet any contract for the performance of any work without requiring from such subcontractor or obtaining from the Industrial Commission a certificate, issued by a workers’ compensation insurance carrier, or a certificate of compliance issued by the Department of Insurance to a self-insured subcontractor, stating that such subcontractor has complied with [N.C.G.S. §] 97-93 hereof, shall be liable, irrespective of whether such subcontractor has regularly in service fewer than three employees in the same business within this State, to the same extent as such subcontractor would be if he were subject to the provisions of this Article for the payment of compensation and other benefits under this Article on account of the injury or death of any employee of such subcontractor due to an accident arising out of and in the course of the performance of the work covered by such subcontract. If the principal contractor, intermediate contractor or subcontractor shall obtain such certificate at the time of subletting such contract to subcontractor, he shall not thereafter be held liable toany employee of such subcontractor for compensation or other benefits under this Article.
A.
In their brief, defendants do not contest the determination that Randy Alexander worked as a subcontractor, rather than as an independent contractor. So, in order to determine that the Commission correctly concluded that MMC was plaintiffs’ statutory employer, after our consideration of all of the evidence in the record, we must find (1) that Mrs. Patterson-Jones, on behalf of MMC, entered into an agreement with Mr. Patterson, which provided that MMC would serve as the general contractor for the project, and (2) that Ben Jones worked for MMC and hired Randy Alexandеr as a subcontractor for MMC, rather than for Mr. Patterson.
1.
Although she was present during the proceedings, Mrs. Patterson-Jones did not testify at the 23 October 2006 hearing. However, Mr. Patterson, her father, and Ben Jones, her husband, each gave testimony before the deputy commissioner. Both Mr. Patterson and Ben Jones testified that Mrs. Patterson-Jones was the sole owner and “qualifier” of MMC, that a contractor’s license for the State- of North Carolina was held in the name of MMC, and that MMC was the general contractor for the Villas of Provence development project.
In addition, Mr. Patterson testified that his daughter formed MMC at least two years before construction began on the Villas of Provence project in 2004. Mr. Patterson further testified that he knew he needed a licensed contractor on the project, and that neither he nor Ben Jones hold a general contractor’s license. Mr. Patterson testified that he wanted his daughter’s company to take on that role because “[s]he’s had her [general contractor’s] license for a number of years . . . [and tjhere’s a benefit to the Villas of Provence that she has, through her corporation, a contractor’s license.’’ (Emphasis added.) Mr. Patterson also testified that, in exchange for receiving the benefit of his daughter’s license and labor through MMC as the general contractor, they both agreed that Mrs. Patterson-Jones, MMC’s owner, would be compensated only upon the sale of each unit.
After reviewing all of the evidence in the record, we find from that evidence and by its greater weight, as did the Commission, that Mrs. Patterson-Jones, on behalf of and through her company MMC, agreed to and did serve as the general contractor on the Villas of Provence project.
2.
Defendants also assert that Ben Jones did not work for MMC, but instead served as Mr. Patterson’s “independent construction management consultant” on the project. They claim that Ben Jones was paid for his work by checks drawn from Mr. Patterson’s bank account. However, the record contains no evidence — e.g., copies of bank statements or cancelled checks payable from Mr. Patterson to Ben Jones, or payable from Ben Jones to Randy Alexander or plaintiffs — that Randy Alexander was paid by monies from an account owned by Mr. Patterson. In fact, evidence was presented that, although Ben Jones signed the checks, Randy Alexander thought he remembered that the checks were drawn from an account belonging to MMC, where “Majestic Mountain
The evidence in the record also tended to show that both plaintiffs believed that Ben Jones worked for MMC. Plaintiffs also testified that, to their knowledge, the other carpentry crews with whom they worked on the same units were working for MMC. Plaintiff Thompson further testified that he understood that he was “working for Ben Jones and Majéstic Mountain Construction” and that he thought Ben Jones actually owned MMC. When questioned about why plaintiff Thompson may have thought Ben Jones was working for MMC, Mr. Jones said, “No. I mean, I guess he — I don’t know. I mean — .” When asked, “Did you tell him that?,” Ben Jones responded, “Not that — not to my knowledge. No.” However, when asked about whether he “had that authority from Majestic Mountain Construction on [the Villas of Provence] project” to discharge individual workers from any of the subcontractors’ crews, Ben Jones admitted, “Anybody that I work for. I have to have that.” (Emphasis added.)
Plaintiff Thompson’s wife also testified that, while Ben Jones and Mrs. Patterson-Jones waited with her at the hospital for news about her husband, Ben Jones “give [sic] me а business card the night of the accident, with the construction name, his name, address, phone numbers, and told me to call him if I needed anything.” When asked what information was on the business card, she testified that the card said, “ ‘Majestic Mountain Construction, Incorporated. Ben Jones,’ has their physical address, cell number and office number.” She also testified that she took Ben Jones’s comment and the information on the card to mean that MMC “was his employer and that he would have workman’s comp or, if there was anything further that we needed, to contact him.” On cross-examination, Ben Jоnes admitted that the business card he gave to plaintiff Thompson’s wife shows his name, the name of Majestic Mountain Construction, Inc., the physical address for MMC, MMC’s company office number, and his cell phone number. When asked in what capacity he used the business card, Ben Jones said, “That one there, I use — I gave it— made it up and put it in the office at Majestic Mountain office so if people comes [sic] in there, wants [sic] a house built” “that maybe they could call me and, you know, I could tell them what I do and they could hire me.”
After considering all of the evidence in the reсord, we find by the greater weight thereof that Ben Jones worked for MMC. Accordingly, since Ben Jones hired Randy Alexander to serve as a subcontractor for MMC, and since both conditions of
B.
Defendants further assert that MMC was not plaintiffs’ statutory employer because they claim that, in addition to her ownership of MMC, Mrs. Patterson-Jones was a “part owner” of the Villas of Provence development project. Thus, defendants argue that Mrs. Patterson-Jones could not have “contracted with hersеlf as principal of [MMC] to legally force herself to build a house on the property of the Villas of Provence.” Accordingly, defendants argue that the Commission’s application of
In Purser, Mr. and Mrs. McMahan “rented properties and constructed new homes under the business name of Heatherlin Properties,” which “employed” Mr. McMahan, who held his general contractor’s license. See Purser, 137 N.C. App. at 333, 527 S.E.2d at 690. “When building a house, Mr. McMahan listed himself as the general contractor on the building permit and listed Heatherlin Properties as the owner of the property . ...” Id.
In our analysis in
Purser,
this Court emphasized that “it is unreasonаble to assume that a person could contract with himself to do something for his own benefit, thereby making himself a general contractor if he should then contract that job to another person.”
In the present case, there was no evidence in the record to dоcument that Mrs. Patterson-Jones was a part owner of the Villas of Provence at the time plaintiffs were injured. The evidence tended to show that the property was never titled in Mrs. Patterson-Jones’s name, and no evidence was presented to demonstrate that Mrs. Patterson-Jones contributed any monies to the purchase of the property. While Mr. Patterson testified that ownership of the property was transferred to Provence Villas, LLC — a company for which Mr. Patterson served as the managing member and Mrs. Patterson-Jones served as a member — he also conceded that this company was not registered with the Secretary of State until July 2005, less than one month after the accident in which plaintiffs were injured.
Mr. Patterson testified that Mrs. Patterson-Jones was an “undisclosed principal” in the property prior to the formation of Provence Villas, LLC, and that she acquired a fifteen-percent interest in the property prior to the time of the accident, “somewhere in 2004.” However, when asked “what, if anything, was significant in 2004 that [Mr. Patterson] decided to verbally tell [Mrs. Patterson-Jones] that she had this fifteen-percent interest in land,” Mr. Patterson testified that “[i]t was basically because we werе formulating our plans as to what we were going to do with the property, and [Mrs. Patterson-Jones] was involved.” He also testified that “I didn’t — we didn’t — we didn’t transfer anything and — . . . [i]t was purely a personal quasi-business situation,” which he stated meant that “[i]t was business and it was personal and it was done in 2004.” Nonetheless, after our consideration of all of the evidence in the record, we cannot find by its greater weight that Mrs. Patterson-Jones was a part owner in the Villas of Provence at the time of the accident; rather, we find that she was not. Therefore, we conclude that
Purser
does not control the present case, and hold that the Commission correctly determined that MMC was plaintiffs’ statutory employer pursuant to
II.
Defendants next contend the Commission erred by assessing civil penalties against Mrs. Patterson-Jones under
(a) Every employer subject to the compensation provisions of this Article shall file with the Commission . . . evidence of its compliance with the provisions of G.S. 97-93 and all other provisions relating thereto.
(d) Any person who, with the ability and authority to bring an employer in compliance with G.S. 97-93, willfully fails to bring the employer in compliance, shall be guilty of a Class H felony. Any person who, with the ability and authority to bring an employer in compliancewith G.S. 97-93, neglects to bring the employer in compliance, shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. Any person who violates this subsection may be assessed a civil penalty by the Commission in an amount up to one hundred percent (100%) of the amount of any compensation due the employer’s employees injured during the time the employer failed to comply with G.S. 97-93.
In their brief, defendants assert that
In addition,
Accordingly, we conclude that, when circumstances arise that implicate
III.
Finally, defendants contend the Commission erred by decreeing that the amount of the civil penalty assessed against Mrs. Patterson-Jones could be determined based on plaintiffs’ disability compensation and plaintiffs’ compensation for medical expenses. Defendants argue that amounts due for plaintiffs’ medical expenses may not be included in the Commission’s determination of the amount of the civil penalty assessed under
Defendants assert that
As we consider the interpretation of this provision, we are mindful that “the Workers’ Compensation Act should be liberally construed,” see Deese, 306 N.C. at 277, 293 S.E.2d at 142-43, and that “the underlying purpose of the North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Act is to ‘provide compensation to workers whose earning capacity is diminished or destroyed by injury arising from their employment.’ ” See McRae v. Toastmaster, Inc., 358 N.C. 488, 493, 597 S.E.2d 695, 699 (2004) (quoting Seagraves v. Austin Co. of Greensboro, 123 N.C. App. 228, 233, 472 S.E.2d 397, 401 (1996)).
The term “compensation” was already among the list of defined terms in Article 1 of the Workers’ Compensation Act when the term “medical compensation” was added to
Moreover, while we recognize that the Commission’s legal interpretation of a particular provision is not binding,
see id.
at 278, 293 S.E.2d at 143, the Commission’s decisions in this and other cases to assess civil penalties pursuаnt to
Therefore, we conclude that
Accordingly, we affirm the Commission’s Opinions and Awards.
Affirmed.
Judges McGEE and STEPHENS concur.