Yourko v. YourkoYourko v. Yourko
- Reporters:
- ,
- Before:
- Goodwyn, Cleo E. Powell, Kelsey, McCullough, Chafin, Mann, Millette
Lee Ann. B. Yourko (“Wife“) appeals the decision of the Court of Appeals reversing the circuit court. Specifically, Wife takes issue with the Court of Appeals’ determination that certain indemnification provisions in a property settlement agreement that she entered into with Michael B. Yourko (“Husband“) violated federal law and, therefore, were void ab initio.
I. BACKGROUND
As part of their divorce proceedings, Husband and Wife negotiated an agreement regarding the division of his military retirement pay. In conjunction with entry of the final divorce decree, the circuit court entered a Military Pension Division Order (“MPDO“) which memorialized the parties
Paragraph 9 of the MPDO states:
The parties have agreed upon the level of payments to [Wife] to guarantee income to her, based upon military retired pay with a deduction for disability compensation, resulting in [Wife‘s] share equaling $1,202.70 per month. [Husband] guarantees the level agreed upon by the parties and agrees to indemnify and hold [Wife] harmless as to any breach hereof. Furthermore, if [Husband] takes any action, including additional waiver of retired pay for disability compensation which reduces the former spouse share she is entitled to receive, then he shall indemnify her by giving to her directly the amount by which her share or amount is reduced as additional property division payments which do not terminate upon her remarriage or cohabitation. [Husband] hereby consents to the payment of this amount from any periodic payments he received (such as wages or retired pay from any source) and this clause may be used to establish his consent (when this is necessary) for the entry of an order of garnishment, wage assignment, or income withholding.2
At some point after entry of the MPDO, the agency in charge of distributing military benefits, the Defense Finance Accounting Service (“DFAS“), computed Husband‘s disposable retired pay to be only $844 per month. Per DFAS, the remainder of his retirement benefits were considered to be disability pay, which is not divisible under federal law. As a result, DFAS calculated Wife‘s share of Husband‘s disposable military retirement pay to be only $253.20 per month rather than $1,202.70.
Husband subsequently moved to reinstate the parties’ divorce proceedings to the circuit court‘s active docket pursuant to
After considering the matter, the circuit court dismissed Husband‘s motion. The circuit
Husband appealed to the Court of Appeals, arguing that the circuit court erred in ruling that it lacked the authority to amend the MPDO. In a published opinion, the Court of Appeals reversed the decision of the circuit court. Yourko v. Yourko, 74 Va. App. 80 (2021). The Court of Appeals agreed with the circuit court‘s determination that the MPDO was a final order, that it contained no clerical errors and that there was no mutual mistake of fact. Id. at 89-91. However, it went on to rule that federal law preempted Virginia law on questions involving the divisibility of military retirement benefits. Id. at 96. Relying on the United States Supreme Court‘s decision in Howell v. Howell, 581 U.S. 214 (2017), the Court of Appeals determined that, “indemnification or reimbursement to compensate a former spouse for the waived military retirement pay was in violation of federal law.”3 Id. at 94. Although Howell only addressed situations where indemnification is ordered by a court, the Court of Appeals explained that the difference between court ordered indemnification and contractual indemnification was semantic in nature. Id. at 96. The Court of Appeals went on to hold that, because the indemnification provision was in violation of federal law, it was void ab initio and, therefore, it could “be attacked beyond twenty-one-days from judgment.” Id. at 97 (citing Bonanno v. Quinn, 299 Va. 722, 736-38 (2021)).
Wife appeals.
II. ANALYSIS
On appeal, Wife argues that the Court of Appeals erred in interpreting Howell to forbid courts from recognizing indemnification provisions related to military retirement pay in property settlement agreements. Wife contends that the holding of Howell was limited to preventing courts from requiring indemnification. She insists that Howell does not address whether spouses could voluntarily agree to indemnify a former spouse in the event military retirement pay is reduced.4 We agree.
The primary question raised in Wife‘s appeal is whether the United States Supreme Court‘s interpretation of the Uniformed Services Former Spouses’ Protection Act (“USFSPA“),
In 1981, the United States Supreme Court ruled that Congress did not intend to allow courts to divide military retirement pay as part of judicially divisible property in a divorce proceeding. McCarty v. McCarty, 453 U.S. 210, 223 (1981) (observing that “the application of community property law conflicts with the federal military retirement scheme“). In reaching this conclusion, the United States Supreme Court noted that Congress treated military retirement pay differently from other federal retirement systems. Id. at 221. Moreover, it pointed out that Congress had referred to military retirement pay as “‘a personal entitlement payable to the retired member himself as long as he lives.‘” Id. at 224 (quoting S. Rep. No. 1480, 90th Cong., 2d Sess., 6 (1968)) (emphasis in original).
In response to McCarty, Congress enacted the USFSPA, which authorized courts to treat veterans’ “disposable retired pay” as judicially divisible property in divorce proceedings.
In Mansell v. Mansell, 490 U.S. 581, 585 (1989), the United States Supreme Court addressed the effect that the USFSPA had upon its decision in McCarty. Its analysis began by noting that, because “the application of state community property law to military retirement pay” was “completely pre-empted” by pre-existing federal law, the USFSPA acted as “an affirmative grant of authority giving the States the power to treat military retirement pay as community property.”6 Id. at 588. However, it observed that the power granted by Congress was limited to only a portion of a veteran‘s military retirement pay. It specifically noted “that the [USFSPA] does not grant state courts the power to treat as property divisible upon divorce military retirement pay that has been waived to receive veterans’ disability benefits.” Id. at 594-95. In other words, the USFSPA was only a partial rejection of McCarty; a veteran‘s disability benefits remained a personal entitlement.
Recognizing that the amount of disposable retired pay may be reduced by the actions of a veteran after a property division award was entered in a divorce proceeding, some courts opted to require that veterans reimburse or indemnify their former spouse if the veteran opted to waive military retirement pay for disability pay. See, e.g., In re Marriage of Howell, 361 P.3d 936 (Ariz. 2015); Glover v. Ranney, 314 P.3d 535 (Alaska 2013); Krapf v. Krapf, 786 N.E.2d 318 (Mass. 2003); Johnson v. Johnson, 37 S.W.3d 892 (Tenn. 2001). The United States Supreme Court rejected this approach, however, ruling that a state court could not “subsequently increase, pro rata, the amount the divorced spouse receives each month from the veteran‘s retirement pay in order to indemnify the divorced spouse for the loss caused by the veteran‘s waiver.” Howell, 581 U.S. at 216. It explained that a court ordering a veteran to reimburse or indemnify their spouse for the reduction in disposable retired pay caused by waiver due to disability was no different than an order that divided the disability pay. Id. at 221.
The difference is semantic and nothing more. The principal reason the state courts have given for ordering reimbursement or indemnification is that they wish to restore the amount previously awarded as community property, i.e., to restore that portion of retirement pay lost due to the postdivorce waiver. And we note that here, the
amount of indemnification mirrors the waived retirement pay, dollar for dollar. Regardless of their form, such reimbursement and indemnification orders displace the federal rule and stand as an obstacle to the accomplishment and execution of the purposes and objectives of Congress. All such orders are thus pre-empted.
It is important to note, however, that neither Mansell nor Howell involved a property settlement agreement that contained an indemnification provision. Moreover, neither opinion can be read as addressing the enforceability of such a provision. Mansell simply proscribes state courts from “treating military retirement pay that had been waived to receive disability benefits as community property.” 490 U.S. at 586. Howell, on the other hand, only makes clear that state courts cannot order a veteran who elects to waive retirement pay for disability pay to indemnify a former spouse. 581 U.S. at 222. It is against this backdrop that we must analyze the facts of this case.
The record here establishes that the parties divided Husband‘s military retirement pay as part of a negotiated property settlement agreement, i.e., the MPDO. As a property settlement agreement, the MPDO is a contract under Virginia law and must be treated accordingly. See Southerland v. Estate of Southerland, 249 Va. 584, 588 (1995) (“Property settlement agreements are contracts and are subject to the same rules of construction that apply to the interpretation of contracts generally.“). Therefore, it cannot be said that the circuit court erred by treating Husband‘s disability pay as marital property for purposes of equitable distribution in violation of Mansell because the present case is limited to the parties’ contractual obligations under the MPDO. Howell is similarly not implicated, as nothing in the record indicates that the circuit court sought to “circumvent” the USFSPA by ordering that Husband indemnify Wife for the reduction in disposable retired pay; rather, the indemnification provision was undisputedly part of the MPDO.
Having established that neither Mansell nor Howell apply to the present case, the remaining question is whether the USFSPA bars a former service member from dividing his or her total military retirement pay via contract. As previously noted, Congress intended for military retirement pay to be a personal entitlement of the veteran which could not be judicially divided in the context of divorce. McCarty, 453 U.S. at 224. Though Congress reduced the extent of this personal entitlement by enacting the USFSPA, it did not eliminate it entirely. See Mansell, 490 U.S. at 592 (noting that Congress decided to “shelter from community property law that portion of military retirement pay waived to receive veterans’ disability payments“). Importantly, neither Congress nor the United States Supreme Court has ever placed any limits on how a veteran can use this personal entitlement once it has been received. In other words, federal law does not prohibit a veteran from using military disability pay in any manner he or she sees fit, provided the money is paid directly to the veteran first; indeed, it expressly permits such usage. See, e.g.,
Moreover, the fact that the contract is between a husband and wife does not change the analysis. As at least one treatise on this subject matter has recognized:
It‘s one thing to argue about a judge‘s power to require under principles of fairness and equity, a duty to indemnify; that approach has been eliminated by the Howell decision. It‘s another matter entirely to require a litigant to perform what he has promised in a contract.
2 Mark E. Sullivan, The Military Divorce Handbook: A Practical Guide to Representing Military Personnel and Their Families 691 (3d ed. 2019).
Indeed, this was the approach that the Court of Appeals adopted over 30 years ago. In Owen v. Owen, 14 Va. App. 623 (1992), a husband and wife entered into a property settlement agreement wherein the husband agreed to pay the wife
After determining that Howell barred servicemembers from making “contracts, ‘guarantees,’ or ‘indemnification’ promises to former spouses,” the Court of Appeals expressly overruled Owen and its progeny. Yourko, 74 Va. App. at 96. This was error. As previously noted, Howell is not implicated when parties contractually agree to divide military retirement benefits and include an indemnification provision. For similar reasons, Howell is not implicated when a court seeks to enforce an otherwise valid indemnification provision. Rather, by the plain language of the opinion, Howell is only implicated when a court seeks to circumvent the USFSPA by ordering indemnification.
It is further worth noting that, contrary to the Court of Appeals’ ruling, nothing in the MPDO specifies that Wife must be indemnified from Husband‘s military disability pay. The MPDO only requires that Husband “indemnify [Wife] by giving to her directly the amount by which her share or amount is reduced as additional property division payments which do not terminate upon her remarriage or cohabitation.” By its plain language, the MPDO specifies that the indemnification is a direct payment from Husband to Wife. With regard to the source of funds, the MPDO is silent, stating only that Husband “hereby consents to the payment of this amount from any periodic payments he received (such as wages or retired pay from any source).” The record clearly indicates that Husband‘s income far exceeds the amount necessary to indemnify Wife even if the totality of his military retirement pay is excluded.7 Therefore, the MPDO cannot be interpreted as requiring Husband to use any of his military disability pay to indemnify Wife. On this record, any assertion to the contrary is entirely speculative, as the MPDO does not dictate the source of the indemnification payments. As such, Husband “‘is free to satisfy his obligations to his former wife by using other available assets.‘” Owen, 14 Va. App. at 627 (quoting Holmes v. Holmes, 7 Va. App. 472, 485 (1988)).
For these reasons, we expressly adopt the holding of the Court of Appeals in Owen that, with regard to the division of military retirement benefits, “federal law does not prevent a husband and wife from entering into an agreement to provide a set level of payments, the amount of which is determined by considering disability benefits as well as retirement benefits.” 14 Va. App. at 628.8 Along these same lines, federal
III. CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, we will reverse the decision of the Court of Appeals and reinstate the circuit court‘s decision dismissing Husband‘s motion to amend.
Reversed and final judgment.