Winter v. PrincipiWinter v. Principi
- Reporters:
- , ,
- Before:
- Ivers
Appellant, Kenneth R. Winter, seeks review of a July 8, 1991, decision by an expanded panel of the Board of Veterans’ Appeals (BVA) which determined that the character of the veteran’s discharge from military service precluded entitlement to Department of Veterans Affairs (formerly Veterans’ Administration) (VA) benefits. The Court holds the BVA did not commit either factual or legal error which would warrant reversal. Accordingly, the Court affirms the decision of the BVA.
I. BACKGROUND
The veteran served two brief periods of active duty, first in the United States Marine Corps from June 1967 until October 1967, and then in the United States Army from March 1981 until September 1981. R. at 1-2. It is the veteran’s second period of *30military service which is the focus of this case.
The veteran enlisted in the Army, and was sent to the U.S. Army Infantry School at Fort Benning, Georgia, for Advanced Individual Training (AIT) as an infantryman. R. at 34. While at Fort Benning, the veteran was listed as absent without leave (AWOL) from June 22, 1981, until July 25, 1981, some 32 of the approximately 176 days he was in U.S. Army service. Id. This conduct rendered him “triable by court-martial under circumstances that could lead to a bad conduct or dishonorable discharge.” R. at 25. Upon his return from AWOL status, the veteran voluntarily requested discharge “for the good of the service,” pursuant to Chapter 10 of Army Regulations (AR) 635-200, claiming he was “not Army material.” R. at 27-29. The veteran did receive an administrative discharge under Chapter 10, AR 635-200. R. at 25-37. As part of the discharge proceedings, the veteran received a “mental status evaluation,” which established that the veteran had “the mental capacity to understand and participate in the proceedings and was mentally responsible.” R. at 30. Because his administrative discharge was for “conduct triable by court-martial,” the veteran received his discharge “under other than honorable conditions” (OTH). R. at 2.
In February 1989, the veteran applied for VA medical benefits, citing the following conditions: bilateral hearing loss, eye condition, a nervous condition, migraine headaches, chest pains, asthma, and a fractured ankle. R. at 70-73. Because of the nature of his discharge, the VA issued an Administrative Decision, dated June 19, 1989, stating:
[38] C.F.R. [§] 3.12(d)(4) states that a discharge will be considered to have been issued under other than honorable conditions if a claimant is discharged because of willful and persistent misconduct. The claimants [sic] period of AWOL during his relatively short period of active duty is considered to be willful and persistent misconduct.
R. at 81 (emphasis added). The Administrative Decision concluded that the veteran’s “discharge on September 9, 1981, is considered to be a bar to VA benefits. He is entitled to health care under Chapter 17.” Id. The veteran filed a Notice of Disagreement, stating that he was attempting to have his discharge status upgraded and that he wished to explain the circumstances surrounding his OTH discharge. R. at 82. The VA issued a Statement of the Case on July 17, 1989. R. at 85-88. A VA hearing was held on August 21, Í989, where the veteran testified that, during his tour at Fort Benning, he was given medication for chest pains, medication which caused him to become severely disoriented. He testified that the medication “made me almost sort of like a zombie. I was walking around in a daze.” R. at 89-90. The veteran testified that he went AWOL without realizing it, and he emphasized that he returned voluntarily. R. at 91-92, 96. He also testified that he did not understand the ramifications of his OTH discharge at the time he accepted it. R. at 96. Nonetheless, the hearing officer confirmed the finding of willful and persistent misconduct. R. at 99. The veteran’s accredited representative, the Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW), filed a VA Form 1-646 (Statement of Accredited Representative in Appealed Case) and prepared an “Informal Hearing Presentation.” R at 103-06. The VFW contended that the veteran “was not mentally responsible for his actions.” R. at 104. In the presentation, the VFW representative argued that
The BVA issued a decision on September 6, 1990, denying the veteran eligibility for VA benefits. The BVA determined that the veteran’s testimony was “not credible or supported by his service records” and concluded that “the veteran’s conduct was indeed willful misconduct, and considering that AWOL was for over 30 days we also find that it was persistent.” R. at 110. Since the BVA did not address the
II. ANALYSIS
The veteran contends that
Because
Willful and persistent misconduct. This includes a discharge under other than honorable conditions, if it is determined that it was a persistent misconduct. A discharge because of a minor offense will not, however, be considered willful and persistent misconduct if service was otherwise honest, faithful, and meritorious.
Given the plain language of the regulation, it is obvious that any OTH discharge will bar the receipt of benefits by the veteran if it is determined that the OTH discharge was based upon willful and persistent misconduct. In this case, the veteran was on active duty for slightly less than 180 days. Consequently, the veteran spent more than 18% of his time in service in an AWOL status. The BVA correctly determined that the UCMJ views AWOL in excess of 30 days as a severe offense, punishable by confinement for up to one year and the issuance of either a bad conduct or dishonorable discharge. See Manual FOR Courts-MaRTIAL (1984), Pakt IV, PARA. 10(e)(2)(b) and (c). Consequently, the BVA’s determination that this veteran’s misconduct was severe and, by analogy, persistent because he spent almost one fifth of his service time in an AWOL status is fully supported by the record. The VA was also precluded by
Finally, the record contains no indication that the veteran had any mental illness at the time of his AWOL. His mental evaluation during the Chapter 10 proceedings shows him to be normal. Further, his service medical records do not indicate that he was receiving any medication for his chest pains at the time of the AWOL incident.
Upon consideration of the foregoing and the record on appeal, the Court holds that the veteran has not demonstrated that the BVA committed either factual or legal error which would warrant reversal. See Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet.App. 49 (1990); see also Anderson v. City of Bessemer City, 470 U.S. 564, 105 S.Ct. 1504, 84 L.Ed.2d 518 (1985); Danville Plywood Corp. v. United States, 899 F.2d 3 (Fed. Cir.1990).
III. CONCLUSION
For the reasons stated above, the BVA decision of July 8, 1991, is AFFIRMED.