Smith v. BrownSmith v. Brown
- Reporters:
- , ,
- Before:
- Farley
Appellant Raymond L. Smith appeals from a January 3, 1991, decision of the Board of Veterans’ Appeals (BVA or Board) which denied his claims of entitlement to service connection for a right knee disability as secondary to his service-connected left knee disability, and to a rating in excess of 10% for postoperative residuals of a left medial meniscectomy (excision of a crescent shaped disk of fibrocartilage attached to the superior articular surface of the tibia, Dorland’s ILLUSTRATED Medical DICTIONARY, 1005 (27th ed. 1988)) with degenerative joint disease (left knee condition). The Board stated that a preponderance of the evidence did not demonstrate that a causal relationship existed between appellant’s service-connected left knee condition and his right knee disorder, and that no more than a slight impairment of the left knee had been shown, thus not warranting an increase in his 10% disability rating. Because the BVA failed to support the determinations made in the January 3, 1991, decision with sufficient reasons or bases, the Court will remand both issues to the Board for readjudication.
*337I. FACTUAL BACKGROUND
Appellant served honorably in the United States Air Force from December 12, 1956, until January 15, 1959. R. at 17, 61, 114. The Veterans’ Administration (now Department of Veterans Affairs) (VA) Chicago, Illinois, Regional Office (RO) granted service connection for appellant’s disability resulting from postoperative residuals of a left medial meniscectomy with degenerative joint disease, and initially evaluated this disability as 0% disabling (noncompensable) from March 1, 1975. See R. at 17, 63. On February 2, 1984, after reviewing the results of a December 7, 1983, examination (not of record), which found that “anterior drawer and Lachman tests conducted on appellant’s knee were mildly positive, [and] the pivot shift test is grade I/II and patella-femoral crepitus is clearly heard,” the RO concluded that appellant’s condition had reached a compensable degree of disability,, and evaluated appellant’s left knee condition as 10% disabling, effective September 22,1983. R. at 17. A September 4, 1984, RO decision resulted in an increase in appellant’s left knee disability rating to 20%, effective August 9, 1984. R. at 18. On January 1, 1986, the Board denied appellant’s claims of entitlement to an effective date for a compensable rating earlier than September 22, 1983, and to a rating in excess of 20% for his left knee condition. R. at 19-25. On March 3, 1987, the Board again denied appellant’s claim of entitlement to an increased (compensable) disability evaluation for his left knee condition prior to September 22, 1983. R. at 28-33.
In October 1988, appellant submitted a claim of entitlement to a rating higher than the 20% rating which had been assigned for his left knee condition in September 1984 (see R. at 55, 63), and on December 12, 1988, the VA requested that a medical examination be conducted to determine whether appellant’s service-connected left knee condition warranted an increased rating. R. at 46. Appellant underwent a VA examination on January 25, 1989, which revealed that appellant’s left leg was %” shorter than his right, that his left knee had a full range of motion, that he ambulated without limp or pain, and that his left knee showed “no effusion, instability, tenderness, Murray drawer apprehension ... [or] quad or calf atrophy.” R. at 47.
In February 1988, appellant, through his wife, had submitted a letter which indicated that he had experienced instability problems with his right leg, and that he attributed his right leg instability to his service-connected left knee condition. R. at 48.- In his February 1988 correspondence appellant requested that the VA consider his claim for a right knee disability as secondary to his service-connected left knee condition (secondary service connection). Id. On April 7, 1989, the RO adjudicated appellant’s claims for a higher disability evaluation for his service-connected left knee condition, and for entitlement to service connection for a right knee disability as secondary to his service-connected left knee disability. R. at 55. The RO reviewed private medical records that appellant had submitted which reflected treatment he had received in 1972, 1984-85, and 1988-89 (R. at 1-4, 35-36, 38, 40, 42-45), and determined that appellant’s left knee condition had improved. R. at 56. The RO concluded that the improvement in appellant’s condition warranted a “decreased evaluation for [appellant’s] service[-]connected left knee condition, subject to the provisions of
On June 6, 1989, appellant filed a Notice of Disagreement (R. at 58), and on June 15, 1989, the RO confirmed the April 7, 1989, decision which had decreased appellant’s disability evaluation for his left knee condition from 20% to 10%, and had denied his claim of entitlement to secondary service *338connection. R. at 60. The VA issued a Statement of the Case (SOC) on July 19, 1989 (R. at 62-66), and appellant perfected his appeal to the Board on July 28, 1989. R. at 67. On October 2, 1989, appellant testified under oath at the RO, regarding both claims. R. at 69-84. In November 1989, the RO requested that a disability examination be conducted to determine the extent of appellant’s left knee disability. R. at 90, 93. When scheduling this examination, the RO requested in writing that the VA examiner render an opinion concerning the issues whether the discrepancy in the lengths of appellant’s legs was due to his service-connected left knee disability, and whether appellant’s right knee condition was a secondary result of his service-connected left knee condition. Id. The VA conducted this examination on December 12, 1989. R. at 91-96.
The December 1989 examination reports revealed the following: no leg length discrepancy, no laxity in the 0 to 125 degree range of motion of appellant’s left knee, 0 to 135 degree range of motion of the right knee, slight pain in the medial joints, and minimal evidence of arthritis in appellant’s left knee, with no arthritis evident in the right knee. R. at 93 (duplicated at 96). A radiographic report of appellant’s knees, hip joints, and pelvis noted mild degenerative changes and indicated that the examination “was otherwise unremarkable.” R. at 94. Although specifically requested to do so, the physician conducting the December 1989 examination provided no opinion on the question whether appellant’s right knee condition was the secondary result of his service-connected left knee condition. See R. at 90, 93. On January 22, 1990, an RO hearing officer confirmed and continued the April 7, 1989, decision which reduced appellant’s service-connected left knee disability to 10% and which denied appellant’s claim that his right knee condition be awarded service connection as secondary to his left knee condition. R. at 101-02. The VA issued a Supplemental SOC on February 8, 1990 (R. at 98-100), and appellant perfected his appeal to the Board on March 23, 1990. R. at 105-06. Appellant submitted a March 3, 1990, report from Dr. James H. Wilson which stated that the lengths of appellant’s legs differ by three-fourths inch, and opined that appellant suffered from osteoarthritis of both knees, and from anterior medial rotary instability of the left knee, with possible internal derangement. R. at 108. After reviewing Dr. Wilson’s report, the RO issued a rating decision on appeal which confirmed and continued the April 7, 1989, rating decision. R. at 110.
In the January 3, 1991, decision which forms the basis of this appeal, the Board determined that appellant’s right knee disability was not “proximately due to or the result of a service-connected disability,” and that the “schedular criteria for a rating in excess of 10 percent have not been met.” Raymond L. Smith, BVA 91-_, at 7 (Jan. 3, 1991).
II. ANALYSIS
A. Left Knee Condition
(1)
Where the reduction in evaluation of a service-connected disability ... is considered warranted and the lower evaluation would result in a reduction ... of compensation payments currently being made, a rating proposing the reduction or discontinuance will be prepared setting forth all material facts and reasons. The beneficiary will be notified ... and furnished [with] detailed reasons therefor, and will be given 60 days for the presentation of additional evidence to show that the compensation payments should be continued at their present level_ [I]f additional evidence is not re*339ceived within that period, final rating action will be taken and the award will be reduced or discontinued....
Appellant’s argument that the Board erred as a matter of law by reducing his disability rating without demonstrating that his condition had improved materially must fail. As the Secretary of Veterans Affairs (Secretary) stated in his brief, the RO’s May 23, 1989, correspondence to appellant that notified him of the rating reduction and explained that he had 60 days in which to submit additional evidence prior to the rating reduction taking effect, complies with the procedural requirements of
(2)
(3) Reasons or Bases: Despite appellant’s misinterpretation of
B. Secondary Service Connection for Right Knee Disability
A disability which is proximately due to, or the result of a service-connected disease or injury, shall be service connected, and shall be considered part of the *340original service-connected condition.
In his brief, the Secretary again, to his credit, points to the segments of the Board’s decision which are lacking: adequate reasons or bases supporting the BVA’s denial of appellant’s claim; a full discussion and analysis of all the evidence in the record applicable to appellant’s claim, including an evaluation of the credibility of appellant’s testimony; and an explanation for the absence of a medical opinion which the VA had specifically requested in December 1989. Br. at 17-19. The omission of an opinion, specifically requested by the VA, regarding the question whether appellant’s right knee condition was secondarily related to his service-connected left knee disability, is particularly disturbing. See R. at 90, 93. The absence of such an opinion from the record indicates that the Secretary and the Board have neglected their duty to assist appellant in the development of his claim. Pritchett v. Derwinski, 2 Vet.App. 116 (1992); Dyess v. Derwinski, 1 Vet.App. 448 (1991); Littke v. Derwinski, 1 Vet.App. 90 (1990);
III. CONCLUSION
The Court VACATES the January 3, 1991, Board decision and REMANDS the matter for readjudication consistent with this opinion. “A remand is meant to entail a critical examination of the justification for the decision. The Court expects that the BVA will reexamine the evidence of record, seek any other evidence the Board feels is necessary, and issue a timely, well-supported decision in this case.” Fletcher v. Derwinski, 1 Vet.App. 394, 397 (1991).