Shea v. BaderShea v. Bader
- Reporters:
- , ,
- Before:
- Shepard
This is an appeal from an order of the Industrial Commission which denied an employer’s claim against the Industrial Special Indemnity Fund and a cross-appeal by employee-claimant from the Commission’s award of attorney’s fees to him.
*698 In 1967, claimant-respondent and cross-appellant was working as a logger and fell from a load of logs and landed on his back. Four days later the tongue of a logging trailer fell striking Shea on the head. Shea underwent several surgeries for treatment of the resultant back and neck injuries, including a cervical fusion and disc extraction in his neck, a laminectomy for removal of a herniated disc and a fusion in his back, a rhizotomy to sever nerve roots to relieve pain, and surgery to relieve a bilateral carpal tunnel syndrome. Shea’s permanent disability from those 1967 accidents was adjudicated as 50 per cent of the whole man based on physicians’ opinions that Shea would be unable to perform sustained, active physical work and would be required to engage in more sedentary occupations. Shea’s workmen’s compensation claims were resolved by a lump sum settlement agreement based on the 50 per cent disability rating and approved by the Commission.
However, thereafter Shea did not seek sedentary employment, but rather worked as a ranch and farm hand feeding cattle and horses, loading and unloading 130-pound bales of hay, mending fences, driving farm machinery, riding horseback and sawing logs. He was able to engage in such activity despite his frequent complaints of stiffness and soreness.
In 1975, Shea was employed as a packer and guide by appellant-employer, St. Joe Outfitters. He fell from a horse, landed on his head and fractured his neck, which required various casts, collars, and eventually surgery. Since that 1975 accident, Shea has continued to suffer pain and weakness and has been unable to work.
Shea applied for a disability award, and after a hearing in July of 1976, an order issued holding that Shea had suffered an injury arising out of and in the course of employment. Following an additional hearing in January of 1977, Shea was found to be temporarily and totally disabled and awarded medical and income benefits for as long as the total disability continued. The Commission retained jurisdiction, stating:
“[T]he Commission hereby retains jurisdiction to resolve any further disputes between the parties, including but not limited to the duration of the claimant’s total disability, the extent of the claimant’s permanent disability, and such other issues as may be brought before the Commission upon the request of any party.”
In 1978, Shea filed his petition with the Commission for a permanent and total disability award. St. Joe Outfitters, the employer, moved for joinder of the Industrial Special Indemnity Fund, asserting that a portion of Shea’s total disability was attributable to his preexisting permanent physical impairment. Under
A hearing was held to determine if Shea should be awarded permanent and total disability benefits and whether the Fund should be liable for a portion of those benefits. An award for total and permanent disability was ordered dating from January 7, 1977. The Commission therein held that the preponderance of the evidence indicated that prior to the 1975 accident, Shea did not have a condition within the purview of
*699
On this appeal it is not disputed that Shea was totally and permanently disabled. It is the employer, St. Joe Outfitters, which contends that the Commission erred in dismissing the Fund and asserts that an inappropriate standard was applied in determining whether Shea’s condition prior to the 1975 accident constituted a “permanent physical impairment” within the meaning of
A decision of the Commission is final and conclusive as to all matters adjudicated by the Commission, absent fraud or a timely appeal.
This Court has stated that the principles of res judicata and collateral estoppel rest on the theory that the matter has been litigated to a final conclusion between the parties in a previous adversary proceeding, and although res judicata may not apply unless both individuals were parties to a previous judgment, the doctrine of collateral estoppel may remain applicable when the doctrine is used defensively and the party against whom the doctrine is asserted litigated the relevant issue with vigor in the action resulting in the prior judgment. Idaho State University v. Mitchell, 97 Idaho 724, 552 P.2d 776 (1976). The Fund asserts that it is using the doctrine of collateral estoppel defensively and the employer had full and fair opportunity to litigate the issue and hence collateral estoppel should be applied here.
The Industrial Commission has broad and continuing jurisdiction to reexamine and modify prior orders for a period of five years from the date of the accident which causes the injury.
We now address the employer’s, St. Joe Outfitters’, assertion that the Commission applied an improper standard in determining if Shea, prior to the 1975 accident,
*700
had a permanent physical impairment which constituted a hindrance or obstacle to employment under the provisions of
Here it is clear from the record that the Commission did not use such an objective test in determining whether Shea had suffered from a preexisting permanent physical impairment. Hence, we remand the cause for a redetermination in accordance with and consistent with Gugelman and Curtis.
On his cross-appeal claimant Shea contends that the Commission’s award of attorney’s fees was erroneous as too meager. Shea retained counsel to prosecute his claim against his employer, St. Joe Outfitters. Shea and his counsel entered into a contingent fee agreement.
Here the Commission found that the employer, St. Joe Outfitters, had not secured insurance for workmen’s compensation liability, and hence awarded Shea attorney’s fees. In its 1977 order, the Commission awarded Shea $2,500 for attorney’s fees incurred prior to the date of the 1977 hearing, and in its 1979 order, the Commission awarded an additional $1,000 to Shea for attorney’s fees incurred subsequent to the 1977 hearing. Shea asserts that the 1979 award was unreasonably small.
This aspect of the case is also controlled by recent precedent. Clark v. Sage, 102 Idaho 261, 629 P.2d 657 (1981). There we held that when a claimant retains counsel pursuant to a contingent fee agreement, and the Commission is required to award attorney’s fees, the Commission is required to base its award on what would be a reasonable fee on a contingent basis. There various factors were set forth which were relevant to the determination of such a reasonable fee. At the time of the Commission’s award, it did not have the benefit of our opinion in Clark, and since the instant case is indistinguishable from Clark, this aspect of the cause must also be remanded to the Commission for a determination of an appropriate attorney’s fee in accordance with and consistent with the standards enunciated in Clark.
The cause is reversed and remanded for further proceedings consistent herewith. Costs to appellant and to cross-appellant. No attorney’s fees on appeal.
BAKES, C. J., and McFADDEN, DONALDSON and BISTLINE, JJ., concur.