Saunders v. BrownSaunders v. Brown
- Reporters:
- , ,
- Before:
- Steinberg
The appellant, veteran Clarence V. Saunders, appeals a January 14, 1991, Board of Veterans’ Appeals (BVA or Board) decision denying entitlement to Service Disabled Veterans Insurance (SDVI), a form of National Service Life Insurance (NSLI). Clarence V. Saunders, BVA 91-01225 (Jan. 14, 1991). The Secretary of Veterans Affairs (Secretary) has moved for summary affirmance. The Court holds that summary disposition is inappropriate because this case is not one “of relative simplicity” under the criteria in Frankel v. Derwinski, 1 Vet.App. 23, 25-26 (1990). The Court will vacate the BVA decision, retain jurisdiction, and remand the matter to the Board for proceedings consistent with this opinion.
I. BACKGROUND
The veteran served on active duty in the United States Army from April 26, 1950, to April 26, 1953. R. at 1. While in service he applied for and was issued two policies under the NSLI “V” insurance program [hereinafter “V” insurance], each in the amount of $5000; the first policy was issued in May 1950 and the second in March 1951. Supp.R. at 1-3. The V and SDVI insurance programs are administered by the Department of Veterans Affairs (formerly Veterans’ Administration) (VA). In July 1953, a VA regional office (RO) awarded the veteran service-connected disability compensation for a right-arm wound (rated 10% disabling) and for deformity of the right index finger (rated 10% disabling), as well as service connection for residuals of a right-knee wound (rated 0% disabling), for a combined rating of 20%, effective April *32227, 1953. Supp.R. at 8; R. at 7. Although the VARO’s July 1953 award letter indicated that an “Insurance Paragraph]” was enclosed with the letter, the record on appeal does not contain such a paragraph. In April 1954, the VARO increased his right-arm rating to 30%, for a combined rating of 40%, effective April 20, 1954. R. at 10. Although the veteran continued payments to the VA on his V insurance policies for some time after discharge, both of the policies lapsed in 1959 due to nonpayment of the premiums. The VA’s Insurance Division (Division) informed the veteran in October 1962 and again in May 1972 (apparently after he had made inquiry) that policies could not be reinstated. R. at 11-12.
In an August 1976 “Statement in Support of Claim”, the veteran stated that he had never been told that he was eligible for SDVI. R. at 13. The Division deemed the August 1976 statement to be merely an inquiry, and in September 1976 the Division informed him that applications for SDVI must be submitted within one year following notice of the grant of service connection, and also that any VA failure to advise him of eligibility for SDVI would not extend the one-year application period. R. at 14. The letter also stated: “The [VA] is not legally obligated to specifically inform each veteran of his eligibility for the insurance.” Ibid.
In January 1989, the veteran filed an application for $10,000 of SDVI. Supp.R. at 10. The application was denied by the Division in February 1989 because application was not made within the one-year period, which had expired on July 14, 1954. R. at 15. In a March 1989 letter to the Division, the veteran stated his opposition to the denial of his application and requested copies of any documents indicating that he had been informed of the one-year application period. He also stated that in 1979 he had been awarded a 10% service-connected rating for his right knee, implying that this rating action started another application period for SDVI. R. at 16-17.
In a May 1989 letter to Congressman G.V. “Sonny” Montgomery, the Division director stated, inter alia, that the 1979 10% rating of the right knee was simply a re-rating of the disability which had been rated 0% in 1954, and that all ratings subsequent to July 10, 1953, had been re-ratings of the disabilities rated that date. R. at 19. The director stated that the only exception to the one-year application period is if the evidence shows a veteran to be incompetent during that period; he also stated that VA cannot legally waive the one-year application period based on the fact that the veteran did not receive information regarding SDVI. R. at 20.
In July 1989, the veteran filed a Notice of Disagreement with the Division’s denial of his insurance application. R. at 21-22. He alleged a violation of his due process rights under the Fifth Amendment. In November 1989, he filed a VA Form 1-9 (Appeal to the BVA), alleging both due process and equal protection violations. R. at 23. In an accompanying memorandum, he stated that he would have converted his V insurance policies had he been timely informed of his eligibility for SDVI. R. at 24. He argued that VA had the burden of proof to demonstrate that he had been informed of the right to apply for SDVI, and that that burden would be met only upon its producing a document showing he had been so informed and bearing his signature “showing that he was aware of what he was signing_ [AJnything less would violate the ‘Due Process and Equal Protection’ Clauses”. R. at 25. He alleged that Congress did not intend to give VA authority to deny a disabled veteran the opportunity to apply for SDVI without the VA having first notified the veteran of eligibility. R. at 26. He also alleged that
At an April 1990 .personal hearing before the RO, the veteran stated that he had not been informed that he could reinstate his lapsed V insurance policies, have premiums deducted from his disability payments, or apply for SDVI. R. at 43. He stated that the “only issue” was the constitutionality of
In its January 14, 1991, decision denying the veteran’s claim, the BVA concluded that VA had no obligation to notify veterans of entitlement to SDVI and that no liability was created by its failure to do so. It conceded that, “inasmuch as the veteran had the maximum amount of insurance allowable by statute in 1953, it is plausible that he may not have received actual notice from the [Division] concerning his eligibility for [SDVI]”. Saunders, BVA 91-01225, at 4-5. The Board denied the veteran’s claim on the ground that he had failed to file his SDVI application within the statutory one-year period following the initial award of service connection. Id. at 4.
II. ANALYSIS
A. Eligibility Requirements for SDVI
Section 1922(a) of title 38, U.S.Code, currently provides:
Any person who is released from active military, naval, or air service, under other than dishonorable conditions on or after April 25, 1951, and is found by the Secretary to be suffering from a disability or disabilities for which compensation would be payable if 10 per centum or more in degree and except for which such person would be insurable according to the standards of good health established by the Secretary, shall, upon application in writing made within two years from the date service-connection of such disability is determined by the Secretary and payment of premiums as provided in this subchapter, be granted insurance by the United States against the death of such person occurring while such insurance is in force.
B. Duty to Inform the Appellant of Possible SDVI Eligibility
The appellant asserts that VA had a duty to inform him of his possible eligibility for SDVI, implying that a VA failure to make timely notification to him had the effect of tolling the one-year application period until such notification was made. The appellant acknowledges that
C. Constitutional Challenges to
The appellant’s allegation that
An appellant who seeks redress in federal court must demonstrate “actual injury redressable by the court”. Simon v. Eastern Kentucky Welfare Rights Org., 426 U.S. 26, 38, 96 S.Ct. 1917, 1924, 48 L.Ed.2d 450 (1976). Moreover, because this Court, as a court established by Congress under Article I of the Constitution, has adopted the “case or controversy” jurisdictional restraints applicable to Article III courts, Mokal v. Derwinski, 1 Vet.App. 12, 13 (1990), the Court will not anticipate a question of constitutional law in advance of the necessity of deciding it. See United States v. Raines, 362 U.S. 17, 80 S.Ct. 519, 4 L.Ed.2d 524 (1960) (“power of the federal courts to declare Acts of Congress unconstitutional lies in the power and duty of those courts to decide cases and controversies properly before them”).
1. One-year application period: The appellant’s first claim is that the one-year (now two-year) application period for SDVI, established by
First, citing Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254, 90 S.Ct. 1011, 25 L.Ed.2d 287 (1970), the appellant asserts that
Next, as to appellant’s equal protection claim, the proper standard of review is the “rational basis” test, under which a statute withstands constitutional scrutiny on equal protection grounds (the Equal Protection Clause is applied to the federal government through the Fifth Amendment’s Due Process Clause, see Bolling v. Sharpe, 347 U.S. 497, 74 S.Ct. 693, 98 L.Ed. 884 (1954)) unless the statute is “patently arbitrary and irrational” and not reasonably related to any proper congressional purpose. U.S. R.R. Retirement Bd. v. Fritz, 449 U.S. 166, 177, 101 S.Ct. 453, 460, 66 L.Ed.2d 368 (1980); see also Wood v. Derwinski, 1 Vet.App. 190, 194 n. 1 (1991) (Steinberg, J., concurring) (describing “rational basis” test and citing cases where the test was not met). Here, although VA has not offered any justification for either the one- or two-year limit, and the legislative history is silent, the most obvious justification for such a limitation would be to bring veterans into the SDVI risk pool at the earliest possible age, thus spreading the risk among younger, relatively healthier veterans; otherwise, veterans might wait to apply for coverage until they were older and sicker (indeed, without such a limitation, veterans could forestall seeking coverage until in risk of imminent death), thereby increasing the costs to such an extent that the governmental subsidy would be too costly, or premiums would be made so high that few veterans could afford the coverage. When there are “plausible reasons” for Congress to enact such a limitation, whether or not such a basis was actually expressly articulated by Congress in some fashion, this Court’s scrutiny under the rational basis test “is at an end”. Fritz, 449 U.S. at 179, 101 S.Ct. at 461. The same “rational basis” analysis also applies to the veteran’s implied challenge to the constitutionality of the provision in
2. Lack of a notification provision in
*326When a claimant submits a well-grounded claim, the Board is required to assist the claimant “in developing the facts pertinent to the claim.”
It has generally been thought that the adjudication of the constitutionality of congressional enactments is “beyond the jurisdiction of administrative agencies”, including the BVA. Johnson v. Robison, 415 U.S. 361, 368, 94 S.Ct. 1160, 1166, 39 L.Ed.2d 389 (1974); see also, Public Utilities Comm’n v. United States, 355 U.S. 534, 539-40, 78 S.Ct. 446, 450, 2 L.Ed.2d 470 (1958). On the other hand, “[ajdminis-trative agencies are entitled to pass on constitutional claims but they are not required to do so”, Plaquemines Port v. Federal Maritime Comm’n, 838 F.2d 536, 544 (D.C.Cir.1988); because the appellant’s claim for entitlement to SDVI arises under a law that affects the provision of benefits by the Secretary, the Board had jurisdiction over the claim. See
D. Inadequacy of the Secretary’s Response
Finally, the Court notes with concern that the Secretary, in his motion for summary affirmance filed with this Court, has failed adequately to address the constitutional arguments raised by the appellant in his brief. For example, the Secretary’s motion does not discuss any of the more than a dozen cases that the appellant cited in support of his constitutional claims. This Court has held that a motion for summary disposition is inappropriate “when it does not address all issues presented and all forms of relief potentially implicated.” *327MacWhorter v. Derwinski, 2 Vet.App. 655, 656-57 (1992), modifying 2 Vet.App. 133 (1992). The Court further stated in MacWhorter: “Although counsel has a duty to represent the client diligently, counsel also has a duty, as an officer of this Court, to weigh and consider carefully the propriety of the response to be given the Court.” MacWhorter, supra. The Secretary’s response in this case was clearly inadequate.
III. CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, the Court vacates the BVA’s January 14, 1991, decision and remands the matter to the Board for prompt fulfillment of the duty to assist by developing the record further in the two specific respects set forth in part II.D.ii., above. The Board is free to express a view on the appellant’s claim that
VACATED AND REMANDED.