Robert L. McGee v. R. James NicholsonRobert L. McGee v. R. James Nicholson
- Reporters:
- , ,
- Before:
- Hagel
Lead Opinion
On Appeal from the Board of Veterans’ Appeals.
HAGEL, Judge:Before the Court is Robert L. McGee’s appeal from a February 12, 2004, Board of Veterans’ Appeals (Board) decision in which the Board denied him an effective date earlier than April 15,1999, for a grant of service connection for sarcoidosis with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease. The Court has jurisdiction pursuant to
I. FACTS
Mr. McGee served on active duty in the U.S. Marine Corps from May 1968 to September 1970. In August 1970, he was referred to a physical evaluation board with a diagnosis of “sarcoidosis, associated with a severe restrictive ventilatory defect.” Record (R.) at 30. The physical evaluation board found him unfit to perform his duties because of physical disability. In September 1970, he was separated from service and placed on the temporary disability retired list.
In April 1999, Mr. McGee sent VA a letter in which he asserted that he was service-connected for a lung disability— rated 30% disabling — and that his lungs were bothering him again. R. at 56. In February 2001, a VA regional office awarded him service connection for sarcoi-dosis and assigned that condition a 30% disability rating, effective July 17, 2000. The regional office increased that disability rating to 60% in an August 2001 decision, and assigned Mr. McGee a rating of total disability based on individual unem-ployability. Mr. McGee appealed that decision on the basis that he is entitled to an earlier effective date for his service-connected sarcoidosis. In June 2002, the regional office informed him that the Febru*474ary 2001 regional office decision was the product of clear and unmistakable error and that April 15, 1999, was the proper effective date for the award of service connection for sarcoidosis. See R. at 215-16. That decision was premised on the fact that the claim for an increased disability rating was filed within one year of the mailing to Mr. McGee of a VA claim form in response to his April 1999 letter. R. at 216. Mr. McGee appealed that decision on the basis that he is entitled to an effective date earlier than April 15, 1999. That issue reached the Board and was the subject of the February 2004 decision now on appeal.
In that decision, the Board denied Mr. McGee an effective date prior to April 15, 1999, for service connection for sarcoidosis. In so doing, the Board concluded that “there is no evidence of VA receipt of a written claim, formal or informal, for service connection for sarcoidosis ... until April 15,1999.” R. at 4.
On appeal, Mr. McGee raises a single argument — that “[t]he Board erred in failing to consider or apply
In response, the Secretary asserts that the Court should not consider Mr. McGee’s argument because he never raised it before VA. See Secretary’s Br. at 6-10. If the Court should address Mr. McGee’s argument, the Secretary contends that the Board had no obligation to consider
II. ANALYSIS
A Board determination of the proper effective date is a finding of fact. See Hanson v. Brown, 9 Vet.App. 29, 32 (1996). The Court reviews Board factfinding under the “clearly erroneous” standard of review.
Here, Mr. McGee argues that the Board violatedsection 7104(a) by failing to consider and apply10 U.S.C. § 1218 , which he contends is an applicable law. See Appellant’s Br. at 7. That statute provides, in pertinent part, as follows:
(a) A member of an armed force may not be discharged or released from ac*475tive duty because of physical disability until he—
(1) has made a claim for compensation, pension, or hospitalization, to be filed with the Department of Veterans Affairs, or has refused to make such a claim; or
(2) has signed a statement that his right to make such a claim has been explained to him, or has refused to sign such a statement.
Because we hold that
Because Mr. McGee’s lone argument— that the terms of
III. CONCLUSION
On consideration of the foregoing, the February 12, 2004, Board decision is AFFIRMED.
Notes
. The statute has remained unchanged substantively since Mr. McGee‘s separation from service in 1970.
. The U.S. Court of Federal Claims was called the U.S. Court of Claims before its name was changed in 1992.
. We have considered the applicability of the Federal Circuit’s decision in Bates v. Nicholson, 398 F.3d 1355 (Fed.Cir.2005), and find it to be inapposite here. Bates concerned a legal interpretation of
. Our dissenting colleague believes that “[i]n a case where a claimant who has been discharged from the military because of a physical disability alleges that he filed an application for VA benefits prior to his discharge, and there is no evidence of such an application,
Concurrence Opinion
concurring in part and dissenting in part:
I fully concur in the majority’s decision that the benefit of the doubt does not operate as a presumption to establish that the appellant filed a claim for VA benefits prior to his release from active duty in 1970. Appellant’s Br. at 5-6. Mr. McGee’s primary argument, as set forth in his briefs, is that pursuant to
A presumption involves an assumption that a fact exists, based on the known or proven existence of some other fact or group of facts. See Black‘s Law DICTIONARY 1203 (7th ed.1999). However, this Court and the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit have held that presumptions are not evidence. Routen v. West, 142 F.3d 1434, 1440 (Fed.Cir.1998) (citing 1 Michael H. Graham, Handbook of Federal Evidenoe § 301.10 at 156-57 & nn. 1-3 (4th ed. 1996) (“It is now universally recognized that a presumption is a rule of law for the handling of evidence, not a species of evidence.”) and Ronald J. Allen, Presumptions, Inferences, and Burden of Proof in Federal Civil Actions — An Anatomy of Unnecessary Ambiguity and a Proposal for Reform, 72 N.W. U.L.Rev. 892, 903 (1982) (“Presumptions are not evidence — they are labels applied to decisions about evidentiary matters.”)); see also Kent v. Nicholson, 20 Vet.App. 1, 8 (2006) (stating that although presumptions are rules of law for handling evidence, they are not themselves considered evidence). Even though a presumption may fill in an evidentiary gap that would ordinarily have to be filled by more evidence, when contrary evidence is submitted to rebut the presumption, unlike true evidence, the presumption disappears. Routen, 142 F.3d at 1440 (citing 1 Weinstein’s Federal Evidence § 301.02[1], at 301-07 (2d ed.1997); and 2 McCormick on Evidenoe § 342, at 450 (John W. Strong ed., 4th ed.1992)).
The fundamental flaw with Mr. McGee’s argument is that the benefit of the doubt is not a presumption. To the contrary, the benefit of the doubt is the unique standard of proof that applies in decisions on claims for veterans benefits. As this Court recognized in Gilbert v. Derwinski, 1 Vet.App. 49, 53 (1990), the term “standard of proof’ refers to the “evidentiary threshold which a litigant must achieve in order to prevail.” Within the American judicial system, the various forms of standards of proof cover a wide spectrum ranging from the most stringent “beyond a reasonable doubt” standard in a criminal case to the less restrictive “by a fair preponderance of the evidence standard” in a civil case. Within the VA adjudicatory system, Congress mandated that VA use the least restrictive “benefit of the doubt” standard when deciding claims for veterans benefits. Id. at 53-54.
Pursuant to
Thus, contrary to Mr. McGee’s argument, the benefit of the doubt does not relieve him of the burden of having to produce actual evidence to support his contention that he applied for service-connected benefits prior to April 1999. Further, the benefit of the doubt, in conjunction with section 1218, does not create evidence otherwise missing from the record to be weighed in Mr. McGee’s favor when the Board determines whether the evidence is in equipoise. Accordingly, without actual documentary evidence to indicate that Mr. McGee applied for VA benefits prior to his release from active duty, the Board may not assume that he exercised this option under section 1218.
While I agree with the majority regarding Mr. McGee’s benefit of the doubt argument, I respectfully differ with the majority’s view that the Board does not have a duty to consider
The majority cites no authority for its narrow interpretation of
Here,
As this Court has recognized, there is a continuing obligation upon VA to assist veterans in developing the facts pertinent to their claims throughout the entire administrative adjudication. See Dingess v. Nicholson, 19 Vet.App. 473 (2006); see also Murincsak v. Derwinski, 2 Vet.App. 363 (1992). Under
Whether the Secretary’s duty to assist a claimant has been triggered in obtaining relevant service personnel records when a veteran was discharged from the military because of a disability involves certain factual determinations that should be made by the Board in the first instance. The majority does not discuss the potential effect of
However, on the eve of oral argument, the Secretary sought permission to supplement the record on appeal with Mr. McGee’s 1978 application for educational benefits, in which the appellant indicated that he had not filed any prior claim for VA benefits. In light of this new document being added to the record, Mr. McGee refined his argument. In his written response to the supplemental record on appeal, Mr. McGee stated that he was withdrawing his argument for reversal, and was seeking a remand, which he indicated was the appropriate relief because the evidence of record no longer contained only one permissible view of the evidence and that a remand was appropriate for the Board to weigh all of the evidence and to determine the need for further development of the evidence in accordance with VA’s duty to assist.
At oral argument, Mr. McGee contended that the Board’s failure to consider
In this case, the record does not contain an application for service connection for a lung disability filed by the appellant prior to April 15, 1999. Additionally, there is mixed evidence as to whether the appellant alleges that he filed a claim for VA benefits prior to April 1999. On the one hand, there is the appellant’s 2000 formal application for service connection for a lung disability in which he indicated that he had previously applied for VA benefits. R. at 73. On the other hand, there is the 1978 application for educational benefits in which he indicated that he had not previously applied for VA benefits. Mr. McGee asserts in his briefs that he filed a claim for VA benefits prior to the date that he was discharged from active duty in 1970, a factor that would be key in triggering any duty by VA to obtain his service personnel records. However, it is unclear from the evidence whether he actually alleged that he filed such an application. All of these are factual issues that need to be adjudicated by the Board, in the first instance, as part of its consideration of
Accordingly, I respectfully dissent from the Court’s decision that