Rinard v. Eastern Co.Rinard v. Eastern Co.
- Reporters:
- , , ,
- Before:
- Graham
OPINION AND ORDER
GRAHAM, District Judge.
The present action was commenced by plaintiffs, former employees of the Pattin Manufacturing Company Division of defendant Eastern Company, on December 28, 1989. The named defendants are the Eastern Company (“Eastern”), the Eastern Company Pension Plan for Hourly-Rated Employees of the Pattin Manufacturing Company Division (the “Plan”) and Colonial Bank, a trustee of the Plan and holder of the funds which are the subject of this action. Counts One, Two and Three of the complaint allege violations of the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (“ERISA”),
On October 22, 1990, this court granted plaintiffs leave to file a first amended complaint, in which plaintiffs assert the additional claims of estoppel (Count Four), a violation of
This matter is now before the court on defendants’ motion for summary judgment and plaintiffs’ cross-motion for summary judgment. The procedure for granting summary judgment is found in
The judgment sought shall be rendered forthwith if the pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories and admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and that the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.
The evidence must be viewed in the light most favorable to the nonmoving party. Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144, 90 S.Ct. 1598, 26 L.Ed.2d 142 (1970). Summary judgment will not lie if the dispute about a material fact is genuine, “that is, if the evidence is such that a reasonable jury could return a verdict for the nonmoving party.” Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 248, 106 S.Ct. 2505, 2510, 91 L.Ed.2d 202 (1986). However, summary judgment is appropriate if the opposing party fails to make a showing sufficient to establish the existence of an element essential to that party’s case and on which that party will bear the burden of proof at trial. Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 2552, 91 L.Ed.2d 265 (1986). See also Matsushita Electric Industrial Company, Ltd. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 106 S.Ct. 1348, 89 L.Ed.2d 538 (1986).
The record before the court reveals that the Plan was terminated following the closing of the Pattin Manufacturing Company plant in Marietta, Ohio. The funding of all of the pension benefits specified in the Plan was completely provided for through the purchase of annuities. Defendants estimate that after the purchase of these annuities, approximately $100,000 remained in the Plan’s trust fund. The ultimate question presented by plaintiffs’ first amended complaint is whether plaintiffs or defendant Eastern are entitled to these surplus funds.
The distribution of residual assets under ERISA is governed by the provisions of
(1) Subject to paragraph (3), any residual assets of a single-employer plan may be distributed to the employer if—
(A) all liabilities of the plan to participants and their beneficiaries have been satisfied,
(B) the distribution does not contravene any provision of law, and
*1421 (C) the plan provides for such a distribution in these circumstances.
Plaintiffs claim in Count One that the requirements of
The documents before the court reveal that the pension plan for the hourly rated employees of Pattin Manufacturing dates back to 1957. Section 9 of the original version of the Plan (Toth Dep. Ex. 14) provided that
any funds not required to satisfy all liabilities of the Plan for pensions because of erroneous actuarial computations shall be returned to the Company.
The Plan was funded by means of a trust agreement which had been in effect since 1952 between Eastern and Hanover Bank. (Defendants’ Mot. Ex. 11). Paragraph 11 of the trust agreement provides that
there may be returned to the Company upon the termination of the Fund, only such amount as may, due to an erroneous actuarial computation, remain in the Fund after the satisfaction of or provision for all liabilities with respect to such employees or their beneficiaries; ...
Section 7 of the original Plan provided that all funds of the Plan would be held by a trustee, and that Eastern would pay contributions to the trustee to fund employee pensions. In Section 8 of the original Plan, Eastern reserved the right to modify the terms of the Plan.
At some point in the 1960’s, the United Steelworkers of America became the exclusive bargaining agent for the employees of Pattin Manufacturing.
Following the enactment of ERISA, Andrew Toth, a union representative, worked with Eastern to bring the Plan into compliance with ERISA. During that process, the language in Section 9 referring to reversion of surplus assets to Eastern was dropped from the Plan. Mr. Toth, when questioned about this section during his deposition, could not recall why this change was made. (Toth Dep., pp. 26-28).
In 1975, the 1952 trust agreement was amended to reflect an agreement between Eastern and the Colonial Bank and Trust Company as successor trustee. Section 12.2(d)(i) of the 1975 trust agreement provides in relevant part:
In the case of the termination of the Plan, and if, but only if, the Plan is a defined benefit plan, any residual assets of the Plan may be distributed to the company at the direction of the administrator (or of a trustee appointed upon the application of the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation) if all liabilities of the Plan to participants and their beneficiaries have been satisfied and the distribution does not contravene any provision of law.
The post-ERISA version of the plan, effective January 1, 1976, was changed from time to time. It was not until October of 1978 that section 17.1 of the Plan, relating to Eastern’s right to change the Plan terms, was amended to provide that the consent of the union was required for plan modifications. (Defendants’ Reply Ex. 5).
Defendants argue that although the Plan itself does not provide for reversion of surplus assets to Eastern, the Plan in effect incorporates the trust agreement by reference. Defendants’ position is that the trust agreement should be considered a Plan document. Defendants rely on
Schuck v. Gilmore Steel Corp.,
784 F.2d 947 (9th Cir.1986). In
Schuck,
the trust agreement provided for a reversion of surplus to the company. The pension agreement authorized the company to establish a trust, but did not specifically identify the trust agreement. The court,
Id.
at 951, rejected the plaintiffs’ argument that only the pension agreement should be referred to in analyzing compliance with
Here, the trust agreement authorizes the return of surplus assets to Eastern, where *1422 as the pension agreement is silent on that point. There is no language in the pension agreement specifically incorporating the terms of the trust agreement. However, there are many references to the trust in the Plan. The terms “trust fund”, “trust” and “trustee” are defined in Article 2 of the Plan. “Trust” is defined in Section 2.30 of the Plan as “the legal entity resulting from the Trust Agreement between the Company and the Trustee ... ”, thereby recognizing the existence of a trust agreement. Under Article 11, Section 11.1 of the Plan, benefits are payable by the trustee directly to the employee. Section 15.9 of the Plan permits Eastern to delegate all or part of its responsibilities in the management, operation and administration of the Plan to the trustee. Under Section 16.1, the trustee, identified in Section 2.31 as the Colonial Bank and Trust Company, is designated a “named fiduciary” with respect to the control, management and disposition of trust assets. Section 16.2 provides for consultation between Eastern and the trustee concerning funding policy and method.
Article 18 of the Plan, Section 18.1, states, “In order to implement the Plan, the Company has entered into an agreement of Trust ... for the exclusive benefit of the Members or their Beneficiaries under the Plan who may, in accordance with the terms of the Plan and such Agreement of Trust, be entitled to participation thereunder.” (Emphasis added) Section 19.5 provides that “It is the intention of the Company that the Plan, and the Trust established to implement the Plan, shall comply with [the Internal Revenue Code and ERISA] and the provisions of the Plan and Trust Agreement shall be construed to effectuate such intention.” In light of the many references in the Plan to the trust agreement, including those set forth above, an employee would have ample notice of the existence of the trust agreement and its role in the implementation of the Plan and the payment of benefits.
Additionally,
Plaintiffs point to a variety of factors which they claim indicate an intent on the part of the parties that the trust not be considered a part of the Plan. Plaintiffs note the fact that section 9 of the original Plan which allowed Eastern to claim the surplus was deleted when the Plan was revised following the enactment of ERISA. They assert that Eastern thereby waived any right to recover surplus funds. However, plaintiffs have presented no evidence which would indicate that this change was intentional on the part of Eastern or the union and the employees, nor does this indicate an intent that the trust document, which still contained a reversion provision, be disregarded. The Plan, as amended, contained no provision specifically awarding the surplus to the employees or prohibiting reversion to the employer. Plaintiffs cite no provision in the applicable collective bargaining agreements which would preclude reversion of surplus assets to the employer. The reversion provision in the trust agreement existed at the time of the first collective bargaining agreement, and was in effect at the time the union gained the right to approve plan modifications. The union and employees were well advised by the terms of the Plan that the operation of the Plan was governed in part by the trust agreement. In fact, a notice to employees from the union files containing the dates “November 4, 1977 — November 5, 1980” indicated that a “copy of the Plan and related Trust Agreement” was available for inspection and copying. (Reg. Admissions No. 29, Defendants’ Reply Ex. 20).
*1423
Plaintiffs also argue that if the Plan was modified to comply with ERISA, the deletion of Section 9 from the Plan also had the effect of modifying the trust agreement by striking the reversion clause. This argument ignores the fact that Section 9 of the original plan would not have violated ERISA, but rather would have been permissible under
Plaintiffs rely on various memoranda by Eastern officials as indicating an intent that the “Plan” be confined to the terms of the Plan Agreement and that the employees would recover the surplus. However, the fact that these letters and memos, which address other matters, do not specifically refer to the trust agreement as being a part of the Plan does not indicate an intent that the trust be excluded from the Plan. These memos certainly indicate no intent that the surplus be distributed to the employees.
Plaintiffs also note that Eastern does not refer to the trust agreement in its filings with the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation. However, the forms do indicate the existence of a trust. Other filings by Eastern with the Internal Revenue Service indicate that the trust agreement does not prohibit reversion of surplus assets to the employer. (Defendants’ Reply Ex. 9). The Plan summary, p. 19, advises employees that copies of the pension plan “and other Plan documents” are available.
Plaintiffs also refer to the deposition testimony of Mr. Donald Whitmore that he did not recall any employees who had been sent a copy of the trust agreement. Mr. Whitmore indicated that he did not send a copy of the trust agreement in response to requests for information because the trust agreement was referred to in the basic plan document. Plaintiffs have produced no evidence that any request to receive specifically a copy of the trust agreement was not honored by Eastern. In fact, defendants refer to statements by Mr. Toth and other union representatives to the effect that the union had no interest in the trust agreement. There is no evidence that Eastern tried to conceal the trust agreement, or that Eastern did not consider the trust agreement to be relevant to the Plan.
Plaintiffs also argue that incorporation of the trust agreement would be inconsistent with the regulations found in
In short, the court concludes that there is no material evidence which would indicate that the parties did not intend for the trust agreement to be considered a part of the Plan.
Plaintiffs advance other arguments as to why it would be contrary to ERISA to give effect to the reversion clause in the trust agreement. Plaintiffs rely on Bryant v. Int’l Fruit Products Co., Inc., 793 F.2d 118 (6th Cir.1986), in which the Sixth Circuit held under the circumstances of that case that an amendment to the pension plan which permitted reversion of surplus to the employer was invalid. However, the court in Bryant also noted, Id. at 123, that each case involving this issue “is controlled by the language of the documents creating the particular plan involved.” Where the plan provides for recoupment by the employer, reversion is *1424 permissible. Int’l Union, United Automobile Aerospace & Agric. Implement Workers v. Dyneer Corp., 747 F.2d 335 (6th Cir.1984). In Bryant, the plan contained language which specifically prohibited reversion to the employer as well as any amendment of the plan to allow for reversion. No such language is found in the Plan, the trust agreement or the collective bargaining agreement in this case. Further, the trust agreement expressly permitted reversion of surplus assets to Eastern during the entire period the Plan was in effect. Until 1978, Eastern was permitted to unilaterally amend the plan, and the reversion language was in place long before then. The case of Delgrosso v. Spang & Co., 769 F.2d 928 (3d Cir.1985) is likewise distinguishable. In Delgrosso the plan specifically prohibited reversion and did not give the employer the right to amend the plan.
Plaintiffs argue that the other clauses in the Plan prohibit recoupment of the surplus by Eastern. Plaintiffs note Section 18.1 of the Plan, which provides that the trust funds shall be “held in trust by the Trustee for the exclusive benefit of the Members or their Beneficiaries under the plan who may, in accordance with the terms of the Plan and such Agreement of Trust, be entitled to participation thereunder.” Section 18.2 provides:
It shall be impossible under any circumstances at any time prior to the satisfaction of all liabilities with respect to Members and their Beneficiaries for any part of the corpus or income of the Trust Fund to be used for or diverted to purposes other than the exclusive benefit of the Members of the Plan and their Beneficiaries and defraying the reasonable expenses of administering the Plan.
The above sections incorporate the language of
Except as provided in paragraph (2), (3), or (4) or subsection (d) of this section, or under sections 1342 and 1344 of this title (relating to termination of insured plans), (or under section 420 of Title 26 as in effect on January 1, 1991) the assets of a plan shall never inure to the benefit of any employer and shall be held for the exclusive purposes of providing benefits to participants in the plan and their beneficiaries and defraying expenses of administering the plan.
An exception to this “exclusive benefit” rule is created by
Here, the funds were held for the exclusive benefit of the employees insofar as their participation was “in accordance with the terms of the Plan and such Agreement of Trust.” Plan, Section 18.1. Section 1.2 of the Plan provides:
The purpose of the Plan is to provide retirement benefits for the eligible hourly-rated employees of the Company’s Pat-tin Manufacturing Company Division at its Marietta, Ohio plant and their beneficiaries. To provide such benefits, the Company proposes to make the contributions provided for hereunder. Such contributions and any income derived therefrom shall be for the exclusive benefit of Pattin Manufacturing Company Division Marietta, Ohio, employees and their beneficiaries and shall not be used for, or diverted to, any other purpose.
The above language is limited by Section 10.1, which governs contributions by the company. The contributions referred to are those “required to fund the costs of pension and other benefits provided by the Plan” in “such sums as are required, in accordance with sound actuarial practices acceptable to the Internal Revenue Service, to fund the total cost of benefits provided by the Plan for the Members.” Id. The *1425 Plan also sets forth definite pension and other retirement benefits to which participants are entitled. Thus, reading the Plan as a whole, see Wilson, 819 F.2d at 465, the “funds” which are to be held for the exclusive benefit of the participants are those funds necessary for the payment of the pension benefits set forth in the Plan, since the only purpose of the contributions to the fund is to finance the cost of benefits provided by the Plan. Residual assets are assets in excess of those necessary to satisfy defined benefit obligations, and need not be considered a part of the fund for the exclusive benefit of members. Wilson, 819 F.2d at 465; In re C.D. Moyer Company Trust Fund, 441 F.Supp. 1128 (E.D.Pa.1977).
Plaintiffs also argue that Section 17.3 of the Plan prohibits reversion. That section provides:
Upon termination or partial termination of the Plan, the rights of all Employees to benefits accrued to the date of such termination or partial termination to the extent then funded ... shall be nonforfeitable, and upon the occurrence of such event, the assets of the fund shall be allocated among the Members and their Beneficiaries in accordance with Section 4044(a) of ERISA ...
This section reflects the requirements of
Plaintiffs further assert that the Eastern Plan was a defined contribution plan rather than a defined benefit plan, and that therefore
Plaintiffs argue that the Eastern plan is a defined contribution plan because under the collective bargaining agreement, the amount of Eastern’s contributions to the fund was established by the formula of a fixed monetary rate times a fixed number of working hours times the average number of employees. However, the use of such a formula does not automatically establish a defined contribution plan. Defoe Shipbuilding, 639 F.2d at 313. The amount of benefits in the Plan here was determined by a formula independent of funding, and the Plan did not create individual employee accounts. For example, normal retirement benefits were calculated by multiplying the number of years of participation in the plan times a dollar amount set forth in the plan to arrive at an annual benefit. Plan, Section 3.2. Under Article 10 of the Plan, funding was solely by means of employer contributions, and no employee contributions were required or permitted. Plan, Section 10.3. The Plan in the present case does not satisfy the criteria for a “defined contribution” plan, and is therefore a “defined benefit” plan.
*1426 Plaintiffs further argue that the amount of contributions made to the Plan was a matter for collective bargaining, and therefore a recovery of surplus could not be unilaterally changed by Eastern. Plaintiffs cite Professional Admin. Ltd. v. Kopper-Glow Fuel, Inc., 819 F.2d 639 (6th Cir.1987), where the court held that plan trustees could not unilaterally increase the amount of contribution required from an employer. In contrast, the present case involves a situation where the employer has agreed to fund certain defined pension benefits through a trust agreement that provides that upon termination of the plan, any surplus beyond the amount required to fully fund those benefits would be returned to the employer.
Here, the Plan and trust agreement were in existence before the first collective bargaining agreement between Eastern and the union. The record reflects that provisions of the Plan were occasionally addressed during labor negotiations and that various amendments to the Plan were agreed upon. Appendix C to the 1974 collective bargaining agreement states that the “Company agrees to continue in effect for its employees, the present Pension program as placed in effect January 1, 1957, and amended November 4, 1975.” (Defendants’ Reply Ex. 20, Reg. Admissions No. 44). This agreement refers to pension “program,” not “plan,” suggesting that the union agreed to accept the entire pension scheme then in place, not just the Plan. However, even assuming that the reversion of surplus was never specifically addressed in the collective bargaining process, the evidence shows that the union and employees were advised of the existence and significance of the trust agreement, and could have negotiated for a specific provision for distribution of residual assets to the employees, yet the union never contested the reversion clause in the trust agreement. Under these circumstances, giving effect to the reversion clause would not contravene the federal labor policy favoring negotiation.
Plaintiffs further argue that the surplus in the trust fund was not due to actuarial error, but rather to the schedule of contributions established in the collective bargaining agreement. While paragraph eleven of the original trust agreement refers to surplus due to erroneous actuarial computation, Section 12.2(d)(i) of the 1975 trust agreement provides for the return of “residual assets” remaining after Plan liabilities have been satisfied. Thus, under the 1975 trust agreement, Eastern is not required to establish that the surplus was due to actuarial error.
In any event, authorities indicate that the surplus remaining after the purchase of annuities may be considered surplus due to actuarial error. In Dyneer Corp., 747 F.2d at 337, the Sixth Circuit applied the Internal Revenue Service’s definition of actuarial error, which provides that when pension liabilities are discharged through the purchase of insurance contracts, “the remaining assets may be considered surplus arising from actuarial error” (quoting Rev.Rul. 83-52, 1983-13 C.B. 87). The surplus funds here meet that definition.
Even assuming that proof of actuarial error is required, the evidence in the record indicates that actuarial error is the cause of the overfunding here. Contributions are required under Section 10.1 in “such sums as are required, in accordance with sound actuarial practices.” Mr. Toth, who worked in the Steelworkers Pension, Insurance and Unemployment Benefit Department, testified in his deposition that the union had employed the services of an actuary, and he referred to actuarial charts in a 1978 letter to counsel for Eastern which he indicated during his deposition as being “boilerplate” from a union agreement. (Toth Dep. pp. 19-21; Dep. Ex. 8). Mr. Toth further states in his letter that “we are not opposed to using the company’s actuarial equivalents” and requests “a copy of the company’s tables in order for our actuary to check out their reasonableness.” He also suggests making the actuarial tables a part of the plan. (Dep. Ex. 8). Thus, the evidence suggests that the formula for contributions in the collective bar *1427 gaining agreement was arrived at using actuarial data, and plaintiffs have submitted no evidence to the contrary.
Plaintiffs also assert, as a matter of policy, that to allow Eastern to recover the surplus would result in Eastern receiving a windfall. Even characterizing it as a windfall, it is one authorized by statute if the requirements of
The Sixth Circuit noted in
dicta
in
Bryant,
793 F.2d at 123-24, that its decision precluding the recovery of surplus by the employer would not result in a windfall for the employees, and that an award of surplus to the employer would have been a windfall for the employer. At the time
Bryant
was decided, there was no income tax on the reversion of pension fund assets to the employer, although the court noted that a ten percent excise tax had been proposed in 1986.
Id.
Under the present version of
Additionally, it has been noted that “participants benefit more from a policy that encourages employers to fund pension plans generously than from a policy that entitles plan participants to surplus assets and thereby discourages employers from potentially excessive funding.” Eager v. Savannah Foods & Industries, Inc., 605 F.Supp. 415, 420 (N.D.Ala.1984). Plaintiffs, “in the absence of an agreement to the contrary, have no right to a windfall resulting from an employer’s overly generous contributions to the plan.” Washington-Baltimore Newspaper Guild, 555 F.Supp. at 261.
In summary, the court finds that neither § 1344(d) nor public policy precludes the recovery of surplus assets in this case. The court concludes from the evidence that the trust agreement should be considered a part of the Plan for purposes of § 1344(d), and that no genuine issue of material fact has been demonstrated which would preclude this result. The trust agreement establishes defendants’ right to recover the surplus, and defendants’ motion for summary judgment as to Counts One and Two is well taken.
Defendants also assert that they are entitled to summary judgment on Count Three of the amended complaint, which alleges a breach of fiduciary duty on the part of Eastern under
An employer does not necessarily act in the role of fiduciary with respect to all actions taken in regard to an employee benefit plan. Musto v. American General Corp., 861 F.2d 897 (6th Cir.1988). In making the decision to terminate a benefit plan, an employer acts as an employer, not as a fiduciary. Id. Eastern would not be liable for breach of fiduciary duty for its decision to terminate the Plan. However, Eastern would still be responsible, in the event of termination, for ensuring that any liability for benefits due to participants was discharged in accordance with the terms of the Plan.
Under
In Count Four, plaintiffs assert a claim of promissory estoppel. Plaintiffs allege that Eastern made representations in the Summary Plan Description and otherwise to the effect that surplus assets would be distributed to the participants. To the extent that plaintiffs’ claim is based upon state law, it is preempted by ERISA under
In Black v. TIC Investment Corp., 900 F.2d 112 (7th Cir.1990), cited by plaintiffs, the court recognized an estoppel claim but confined its holding to unfunded employee benefit plans and specifically excluded pension plans from the scope of its decision. Thus, it is distinguishable.
Plaintiffs also rely on
Edwards v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co.,
851 F.2d 134 (6th Cir.1988).
Edwards
involved a situation where information in the plan summary conflicted with provisions in the actual plan, and plaintiffs relied on the plan summary, which was inaccurate and therefore violated
Even if this court were to find that plaintiffs may assert an ERISA estoppel claim, plaintiffs have produced no evidence to support such a claim. There is no evidence of representations in the summary plan description, the Plan itself or from other sources upon which plaintiffs could have *1429 reasonably based the conclusion that the surplus in the trust fund would be distributed to them upon termination of the Plan. Defendants are entitled to summary judgment on Count Four.
In Count Five, plaintiffs allege that Eastern is liable under
Further, plaintiffs must show a substantial lack of compliance with ERISA’s reporting and disclosure requirements, with resulting substantial harm to the employees, before a nondisclosure violation of
Here, the plaintiffs were informed in the summary plan that contributions made by mistake might be diverted. Unlike
Blau,
there is no evidence, despite plaintiffs’ bare, unsupported allegations to the contrary, that defendants attempted to hide the terms of the trust agreement from the employees. Rather, as noted previously, the Plan and trust agreement were available for inspection by the employees. The Plan makes repeated references to the trust and trust agreement, and those references were such as to reasonably alert the employees that the management and distribution of Plan assets was governed in part by the trust agreement. The court finds that no evidence has been produced which would create a genuine issue of material fact on the issue of whether defendants acted arbitrarily and capriciously in the reporting of Plan provisions. There has been substantial compliance with
Count Six alleges that the collective bargaining agreement does not permit Eastern to recapture the surplus, and therefore, such an act would violate the collective bargaining agreement and
Plaintiffs have produced no evidence of any clause in the collective bargaining agreement which prohibits the recovery of surplus by Eastern, or which provides for the distribution of surplus to the plaintiffs. Since there is no provision in the collective bargaining agreement which would preclude Eastern from recovering the surplus, Eastern would not violate the terms of the collective bargaining agreement in recovering the surplus, nor has any violation of
The fact that the collective bargaining agreement does not specifically refer to the trust agreement and termination provisions or provide for recoupment of the surplus by Eastern does not preclude Eastern from proceeding under the terms of the trust agreement, as there is no provision in the collective bargaining agreement which would preclude it from doing so. However, even if it is assumed that enforcement of the trust provision was dependent upon the acceptance of the trust by the parties through the collective bargaining agreement, the evidence before the court suggests that this was the case here. As noted above, Appendix C to the 1974 collective bargaining agreement states that Eastern agreed to continue the present “Pension program.” (Defendants’ Reply Ex. 20, Reg. Admissions No. 44). The present “program” included not only the Plan, but also the trust agreement. The Plan authorizes Eastern as plan administrator to enter into a trust agreement. The trust agreement was referred to several times in the Plan, including a reference in Section 18.1 that employees would be entitled to participate “in accordance with the terms of the Plan and such Agreement of Trust.” No evidence has been produced to indicate that the union or plaintiffs ever expressed an intent during negotiations or otherwise that the surplus be distributed to plaintiffs, nor has any evidence been offered which would establish a violation of the collective bargaining agreement, and no genuine issue of material fact exists as to Counts Six and Seven.
In accordance with the foregoing, defendants’ motion for summary judgment is granted, and plaintiffs’ cross-motion for summary judgment is denied. The clerk of courts shall enter judgment for defendants.