Pool Company v. Otis L CooperPool Company v. Otis L Cooper
- Reporters:
- ,
- Before:
- Goldberg
Petitioners Pool Company (“Pool”) and its insurance carrier Signal Mutual Indemnity Association, Ltd. (“Signal”), appeal the decision of the Benefits Review Board (“BRB”) awarding respondent Otis L. Cooper (“Cooper”) temporary total disability benefits under the Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act (“LHWCA” or “Act”),
1. FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND
Cooper began his employment at Pool in 1979 as a roustabout. In 1989, he sustained an injury to his right knee, which required surgery. During his approximately six-week convalescence, Pool paid him temporary total disability benefits under the LHWCA. 2 Cooper’s physician, Dr. William A. Morrison, a board-certified orthopedic surgeon, diagnosed a fifteen percent permanent partial disability. Cooper accordingly continued to receive permanent partial disability benefits for his scheduled injury after he resumed work as a roustabout in 1990.
On August 20, 1992, Cooper re-injured Ms right knee while working for Pool. He informed his supervisors of the mishap and received authorization to seek medical attention. On August 28,1992, Dr. Morrison ordered a magnetic resonance imaging (“MRI”) of Cooper’s knee. Dr. Morrison also referred Cooper to Dr. Gene Barrett, another board-certified orthopedic surgeon, who informed Cooper that his anteri- or cruciate ligament (“ACL”) required surgery. On November 24, 1992, Cooper ceased working, and Pool voluntarily began to pay Cooper temporary total disability benefits. At an unspecified date, Pool also began to pay Cooper permanent partial disability benefits, apparently before any diagnosis of maximum medical improvement.
Dr. Barrett performed surgery on Cooper’s ACL on February 24, 1993. The
On October 20, 1994, after Dr. Barrett suggested that Cooper obtain a second opinion, Dr. Morrison again examined Cooper’s right knee, and recommended another MRI. On December 8,1994, Dr. Barrett diagnosed Cooper with a grade three or grade four chrondromalacia, a condition whereby coating on the bone cracks and, at grade four, raw bone rubs on raw bone. Shortly thereafter, on December 20, 1994, Dr. Barrett noted Cooper’s performance on a knee strength test as “pitiful.”
On February 25, 1995, Cooper filed a form LS-203, Notice of Disputed Claim, with the Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs (“OWCP”) of the United States Department of Labor, seeking further disability benefits. Pool received written notice of Cooper’s claim from the OWCP on March 15, 1995, and responded on March 22,1995, by filing a form LS-207, Notice of Controversion, disputing Cooper’s entitlement to additional benefits. On March 28, 1995, the OWCP informed Cooper of the petitioners’ assertions. Cooper never responded to the OWCP, and the claim did not move forward until 1997.
Throughout 1995 and 1996, Cooper worked off and on as a security guard, while continuing to be treated by Dr. Barrett for his chronic knee pain. On January 31, 1997, Dr. Barrett performed an arthroscopic procedure on Cooper’s right knee that confirmed the diagnosis of chrondro-malacia and the necessity of reconstructive ACL surgery. In particular, Dr. Barrett found that if Cooper underwent additional ACL surgery, his impairment rating would decrease to around fifteen percent and potentially he could resume his job at Pool, but that if he did not undergo the surgery, his condition would decline to thirty percent impairment. Following the arthroscopic procedure, Dr. Barrett placed Cooper on temporary total disability. Cooper, who had been working as a security guard prior to the procedure, did not return to that job until April 10,1997.
Signal authorized ACL surgery and Dr. Barrett’s ongoing treatment of Cooper. However, Cooper pursued his claim against the petitioners for additional monetary compensation. The ALJ conducted a formal evidentiary hearing on December 5, 1997. In his decision and order awarding benefits, the ALJ held that Cooper’s claim was not time-barred; that Cooper’s condition had not stabilized; that consequently Cooper was entitled to ACL surgery and to temporary total disability benefits until such time as he did attain maximum medical improvement; and that Cooper had been temporarily totally disabled from February 24, 1994 through September 2,
In conformity with
II. DISCUSSION
A. Standard of Review
This Court conducts a de novo review of the BRB’s rulings of law, see H.B. Zachry Co. v. Quinones, 206 F.3d 474,‘477 (5th Cir.2000), owing them no deference because the BRB is not a policy-making agency. Potomac Elec. Power Co. v. Director, OWCP, 449 U.S. 268, 278 n. 18, 101 S.Ct. 509, 66 L.Ed.2d 446 (1980); Temporary Employment Services v. Trinity Marine Group, Inc., 261 F.3d 456, 458 (5th Cir.2001). However, we do afford deference to the Director’s interpretations of the LHWCA. Boudreaux v. American Workover, Inc., 680 F.2d 1034, 1046 n. 23 (5th Cir.1982) (en banc); H.B. Zachry, 206 F.3d at 478. As the Supreme Court has recently made clear, the precise amount of deference that we owe to any given interpretation by the Director “will depend upon the thoroughness evident in its consideration, the validity of its reasoning, its consistency with earlier and later pronouncements, and all those factors which give it power to persuade, if lacking power to control.” United States v. Mead Corp., 533 U.S. 218, 121 S.Ct. 2164, 2172, 150 L.Ed.2d 292 (2001) (quoting Skidmore v. Swift & Co., 323 U.S. 134, 140, 65 S.Ct. 161, 89 L.Ed. 124 (1944)). 3
Finally, we will reverse the ALJ’s award of attorney’s fees “only if it is arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of discretion, or not in accordance with law.” H.B. Zachry, 206 F.3d at 481.
B. Cooper’s Claim Is Not Time-Barred
Pool and Signal argue that Cooper’s claim for additional benefits was time-barred under § 13(a) of the LHWCA, which states:
Except as otherwise provided in this section, the right to compensation for disability or death under this chapter shall be barred unless a claim therefore [sic] is filed within one year after the injury or death. If payment of compensation has been made without an award on account of such injury or death, a claim may be filed within one year after the date of the last payment.
We find these arguments unconvincing for several reasons. First, we do not think that the claim that Cooper filed on February 25,1995 may be fairly characterized as “protective.” Unlike the claimants in In-galls Shipbuilding, who had endured exposure to asbestos but as yet suffered neither physical nor economic disability, see 17 F.3d at 135, Cooper’s claim arose from a specific injury, which he identified on the LS-203. Cooper was under the active medical care of Drs. Morrison and Barrett in the months before he filed the LS-203. During several consultations in late 1994, they advised him of the need for further tests, and for the first time diagnosed the serious condition of chrondromalacia. Thus, there exists substantial evidence from which the ALJ could infer that, at the time Cooper filed his claim, he was undergoing continuing treatment for his original injury in the hope of improving his condition, and he and his physicians reasonably believed that he had not attained maximum medical improvement after all. Indeed, the ALJ made precisely such a finding:
A medical report from Dr. Morrison shows that Claimant was aware of the loss of his wage earning capacity on October 20, 1994. Since Claimant had to quit working as a security guard because of his right knee injury, his capacity to earn a living was diminished. Therefore, Claimant attained the requisite awareness mandated by the Act that is required to filed a claim for compensation benefits.
Decision and Order — Awarding Benefits (June 5, 1998), at 12-13 (citation omitted). We think this conclusion is reasonable and consistent with our prior decisions. See, e.g., Louisiana Ins. Guar. Ass’n v. Abbott, 40 F.3d 122, 126 (5th Cir.1994) (“One cannot say that a patient has reached the point at which no further medical improvement is possible until such treatment has been completed — even if, in retrospect, it turns out not to have been effective.”). Even if we were entitled to reweigh the evidence on this issue, we would not do so, as Pool and Signal have offered no countervailing medical evidence whatsoever. 4
Second, and relatedly, the ALJ awarded temporary total disability benefits from February 24, 1994 to September 2, 1994. While the petitioners attack this award on procedural grounds,
see infra,
they never refute the basic assumption underlying this award — that Cooper had not attained
In Metropolitan Stevedore, the Court considered whether a worker who has suffered a real work-related injury but who is not presently “disabled” within the meaning of the LHWCA may nevertheless obtain a compensation award, in anticipation of potential future loss, in order to toll the statute of limitations. The Court answered affinnatively, holding that “a worker is entitled to nominal compensation when his work-related injury has not diminished his present wage-earning capacity under current circumstances, but there is a significant potential that the injury will cause diminished capacity under future conditions.” Id. at 138, 117 S.Ct. 1953. Of the two reasons that the Court gave for its ruling, 5 the first concerned the impact of § 13(a) of the LHWCA:
Because an injured worker who has a basis to anticipate wage loss in the future resulting from a combination of his injury and job-market opportunities must nonetheless claim promptly [to defeat the one year statute of limitations], it is likely that Congress intended “disability” to include the injury-related potential for future wage loss. And because a losing claimant loses for all time after one year from the denial or termination of benefits, it is equally likely that Congress intended such a claimant to obtain some award of benefits in anticipation of the future potential loss.
Id. at 129, 117 S.Ct. 1953 (footnote omitted). The Court also noted that a present award of nominal compensation was preferable to the dubious practice of permitting protective filings, because “the [latter] approach, unlike the [former], has the defect of putting off the adjudication of every element of the worker’s claim, including such matters as the work-related nature of the injury, until long after the evidence grows stale.” Id. at 129 n. 2, 117 S.Ct. 1953.
The reasoning expressed in
Metropolitan Stevedore
— requiring claims for com
The petitioners’ reliance on Pettus is likewise unavailing. In that case, the Fourth Circuit held that two letters briefly reciting a “demand for any and all benefits that may be due” were too vague to constitute the filing of a claim to amend a compensation order under the LHWCA. 73 F.3d at 527-28. The court observed that the OWCP did not inform the employer of any claim and did not otherwise take any action in response to the letters, because the letters were so sparse that they “failed to indicate any actual intention on the part of the claimant to seek compensation for a particular loss, a factor that is critical in assessing their sufficiency.” Id. at 527. Thus, Pettus is easily distinguished on its facts from the instant case, where Cooper filed a formal claim, 6 the OWCP processed it as such, and Pool responded with a Notice of Controversion. 7 While the Pet-tus court did remark that the claimant’s additional period of disability followed the first claim letter, and that “[s]uch anticipatory filings cannot be thought of as initiating review,” id., we do not read that observation as forming a cornerstone of the court’s analysis. To the extent that Pettus does stand for the proposition that a claim may only seek compensation for an antecedent period of disability, it is in direct conflict with the Supreme Court’s holding in Metropolitan Stevedore, and we must disregard it.
Finally, the petitioners’ argument that they had paid Cooper all the benefits to which he was entitled is not germane to the issue of whether his claim satisfied the
Accordingly, we hold that Cooper’s claim for disability benefits was not time-barred under § 13(a) of the LHWCA.
C. The ALJ Must Take Notice of Cooper’s Attempt to Withdraw a Portion of His Claim, and Allow the Petitioners to Comment Thereon
The petitioners assert that even if Cooper’s claim is not time-barred, the ALJ erred by awarding temporary total disability benefits for the period March 3, 1994 through September 2, 1994. They argue that Cooper withdrew his claim to such benefits during the formal hearing before the ALJ. At that hearing, Cooper’s counsel became aware for the first time of a letter sent by Thomas Brooks, a representative of Pool’s previous insurance carrier, to Cooper’s previous counsel, Karl Wiede-mann. The letter, dated March 10, 1994, purported to memorialize a telephone conversation between Mr. Brooks and Mr. Wiedemann on March 3, 1994, in which they agreed that Cooper had attained maximum medical improvement (albeit with a fifteen percent permanent partial disability) and that Cooper was employable at other jobs and did not require the assistance of an employment rehabilitation counselor. Upon learning of this letter, Cooper’s current counsel stated on the record that Cooper would withdraw his claim for temporary total disability benefits from February 28, 1994, to March 3, 1994. Contrary to the record evidence, the petitioners characterize this withdrawal as covering March 3, 1994 to September 2, 1994. See Petitioners’ Brief, at 17; Petitioners’ Reply Brief, at 7-8.
Cooper urges us to affirm the decision of the BRB, which held that the concession of Cooper’s counsel at the formal hearing was without effect because he did not follow the procedure for withdrawing a claim for benefits set forth in
The Director questions whether the petitioners accurately describe the dates for which Cooper waived a part of his claim. Assuming that they are correct, the Director then argues that the BRB erred, as such a concession would not constitute withdrawal of Cooper’s claim, but only an amendment of a part of it, and thus not implicate the formal requirements of
Before we reach the issue of the dates for which Cooper allegedly withdrew a part of his demand for benefits, we must first consider whether he could even make such a concession at the hearing before the ALJ, rather than by following the formal requirements of
Section 13(a) of the LHWCA provides that “the right to compensation for disability or death under this Act shall be barred unless a claim therefore [sic] is filed.”
Furthermore, the fluid nature of the categorization of disabilities militates against their treatment as discrete claims. A single injury can and usually does give rise to several different disabilities, since the LHWCA conceives of disabilities not merely in a medical sense, but an economic one as well.
See
We are aware that in some cases, including this one, our interpretation of “claim” may run counter to public policy insofar as it makes it easier for an injured employee to waive his rights to disability benefits to which he might otherwise be entitled. However, we think that on balance a more flexible approach will redound to the benefit of claimants and better fulfill the statutory purpose of the LHWCA, either because they seek to modify their claims so as to recover greater benefits, or simply because a speedier resolution of their claims will result in quicker payment of benefits. All parties, including-claimants, have an interest in the expeditious resolution of claims for disability benefits.
In the instant ease, Cooper’s counsel apparently concluded that Cooper was not entitled to total temporary disability benefits for a brief period of less than five days, a small fraction of his total alleged period of disability. It defies common sense to suggest that the proper course at that point would be for the ALJ to suspend proceedings, for Cooper to draft a formal letter to the district director stating his intention to withdraw a claim to a fraction of the benefits that he sought, and for all parties to await the ruling of the district director. Besides wasting judicial resources, such a policy would delay the claimant’s eventual recovery of compensation, and subvert the flexibility, informality, and efficiency that are the hallmark of the workers’ compensation statutes.
See U.S. Indus./Fed. Sheet Metal, Inc. v. Director, OWCP,
455 U.S. 608, 613 n. 7, 102 S.Ct. 1312, 71 L.Ed.2d 495 (1982) (observing that procedure in workmen’s compensation law “is generally summary and informal” and that “[t]he whole idea is to get away from the cumbersome procedures and technicalities of pleading, and to reach a right decision by the shortest and quickest possible route”) (quoting 3 A. Larson, The Law of Workmen’s Compensation § 78.10, p. 15-2 (1976));
see also
Having concluded that the withdrawal provision of
[COOPER’S COUNSEL]: Since I did not have that letter [from Mr. Brooks to Mr. Wiedemann], I will withdraw any claim for TTD benefits during that period, up and to his conversation with Mr. Wiedemann.
[ALJ]: Well, what period would that be now?
[COOPER’S COUNSEL]: There would be just an additional five days, from February 28, not even to March 3, ’94.
[ALJ]: Oh, okay.
Transcript of ALJ Hearing (Dec. 5, 1997), at 56. At no stage of the proceedings, including in their brief to the BRB, 10 have the petitioners identified any basis beyond this exchange for their asseveration that Cooper withdrew his claim to benefits for the period from March 3, 1994 to September 2, 1994. Yet in their reply brief, the petitioners persist in characterizing their position on this point as “uncontested.” See Petitioners’ Reply Brief, at 7. In fact, the Director expressly challenged their version of the dates in his brief, and thus their claim is in no way “uncontested.” 11 See Director’s Brief, at 25 n. 9. Oddly, however, Cooper conceded the accuracy of the petitioners’ version of the dates in his brief to the Court. See Cooper’s Brief, at 15-16. We are entitled, but not required, to treat this concession as a binding judicial admission of fact. City Nat’l Bank v. United States, 907 F.2d 536, 544 (5th Cir. 1990). While we are loath to condone careless advocacy, we are even less willing to reward the petitioners for making claims directly contradicted by the record evidence. Nor is Cooper’s admission, made in passing in the one short paragraph he devotes to this issue, on par with the “overwhelming, consistent totality of the[ ] circumstances” in which we previously held a judicial admission binding. See Stallard v. United States, 12 F.3d 489, 496 (5th Cir.1994).
While the ALJ was likewise free not to treat Cooper’s concession as a binding judicial admission, we agree with the Director that considerations of equity require that he should have so stated and given the petitioners notice and opportunity to be heard. We therefore remand so that the ALJ may resolve whether Cooper effectively withdraw his claim to compensation for the period of February 28, 1994 to March 3,1994.
D. The BRB Erred By Reversing the ALJ’s Award of Attorney’s Fees Under Section 28(a) of the LHWCA and Awarding Them Instead Under Section 28(b)
The LHWCA provides two avenues by which a successful claimant’s attorney may recover attorney’s fees from the employer or carrier. Under § 28(a), the ALJ shall award attorney’s fees “[i]f the employer or carrier declines to pay any compensation on or before the thirtieth day after receiving written notice of a claim for compensation having been filed from the deputy commissioner, on the ground that there is no liability for compensation ...,”
If the employer or carrier pays or tenders payment of compensation without an award ..., and thereafter a controversy develops over the amount of additional compensation, if any, to which the employee may be entitled, the deputy commissioner or [BRB] shall set the matter for an informal conference and following such conference ... shall recommend in writing a disposition of the controversy. If the employer or carrier refuse to accept such written recommendation ... they shall pay or tender to the employee in writing the additional compensation, if any, to which they believe the employee is entitled. If the employee refuses to accept such payment or tender of compensation, and thereafter utilizes the services of an attorney at law, and if the compensation thereafter awarded is greater than the amount paid or tendered by the employer or carrier, a reasonable attorney’s fee based solely on the difference between the amount awarded and the amount tendered or paid shall be awarded....
It is clear that the BRB erred in awarding attorney’s fees under § 28(b). Pool did pay compensation without an award; a controversy about the amount of additional compensation did subsequently arise; and Cooper subsequently did obtain a compensation award in excess of what Pool was willing to pay. However, as the parties concur, no informal conference with the Department of Labor ever took place. Under the law of our Circuit, that fact poses an absolute bar to an award of attorney’s fees under § 28(b).
See FMC Corp. v. Perez,
128 F.3d 908, 910 (5th Cir.1997);
accord Staftex Staffing v. Director, OWCP,
237 F.3d 404, 409 (5th Cir.2000),
modified on rehearing,
237 F.3d 409 (5th Cir.2000);
James J. Flanagan Stevedores v. Director, OWCP,
219 F.3d 426, 434-35 (5th Cir.2000). Cooper variously argues that
Perez
misconstrued the Ninth Circuit precedent on which it was based, that
Staftex Staffing
applied an unduly strict construction to
Although initially Pool voluntarily paid disability benefits to Cooper, it ceased making all such payments on April 25, 1994. Cooper filed his claim for additional benefits on February 25, 1995, and Pool received written notice thereof on March 15, 1995. Pool disclaimed further liability and declined to pay any further benefits within thirty days after receiving written notice of Cooper’s claim, and is thus liable
Accordingly, we affirm the award of attorney’s fees, but on different grounds than those cited by the BRB.
III. CONCLUSION
We affirm the decision of the BRB that Cooper’s claim was not time-barred; affirm the award of attorney’s fees on grounds other than those cited by the BRB; and reverse the decision of the BRB affirming the ALJ’s award of temporary total disability benefits for the period from February 28, 1994 through March 3, 1994. We remand to the ALJ with instructions to resolve, after giving petitioners notice and opportunity to be heard, whether Cooper withdrew his claim for benefits for that same period.
AFFIRMED IN PART; REVERSED IN PART; and REMANDED.
Notes
. The LHWCA distinguishes disabilities bina-rily with respect to both their duration (permanent or temporary) and their degree (partial or total).
See
“The point of maximum medical improvement represents the beginning of permanent, as opposed to temporary, disability under the statutory scheme.”
Louisiana Ins.,
40 F.3d at 126. At that point, if suitable alternative employment is still unavailable, the employee qualifies for permanent total disability benefits; otherwise, the employee receives permanent partial disability benefits. If the employee‘s injury involves a part of the body among those enumerated in
. In Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837, 104 S.Ct. 2778, 81 L.Ed.2d 694 (1984), the Supreme Court held that both court and agency must defer to Congress‘s unambiguous intent, but if a statute that the agency administers is silent or ambiguous with respect to a particular issue, the court must defer to the agency’s reasonable construction of the statute, even if the court’s own reading would lead to a different conclusion. 467 U.S. at 842-45, 104 S.Ct. 2778. Mead clarified that Chevron’s expansive conception of judicial deference to an administrative agency’s legal interpretation applies only when “Congress delegated authority to the agency generally to make rules carrying the force of law, and ... the agency interpretation claiming deference was promulgated in the exercise of that authority.” 121 S.Ct. at 2171 (emphasis added).
Our recognition that we owe deference to the Director’s interpretations of the LHWCA preceded the Supreme Court‘s Chevron decision, and thus was not predicated thereon. See, e.g., Alford v. American Bridge Div., United States Steel Corp., 642 F.2d 807, 809 n. 2 (1981), vacated in part on other grounds on reh’g, 655 F.2d 86 (5th Cir.1981); Boudreaux, 680 F.2d at 1046 n. 23. In our LHWCA cases post-Chevron, we have consistently acknowledged a measure of deference for the Director‘s interpretations of the LHWCA, but where we have discussed Chevron in this context, we have tended to avoid giving full Chevron deference. See, e.g., Phillips v. Marine Concrete Structures, 877 F.2d 1231, 1234-35 (5th Cir.1989) (court owes “deference” to an agency’s reasonable interpretation); Texports Stevedores Co. v. Director, OWCP, 931 F.2d 331, 333 (5th Cir.1991) (court affords “considerable weight” to Director’s interpretation); Ingalls Shipbuilding, Inc. v. Asbestos Health Claimants, 17 F.3d 130, 134 n. 11 (5th Cir.1994) (court “generally will give judicial deference” to agency’s reasonable statutory interpretation). In other cases we have found the issue moot. See, e.g., H.B. Zachry, 206 F.3d at 478-79 (declining to address Di rector‘s claim to Chevron deference because applicable statute was clear on its face); Sketoe v. Exxon Co., USA, 188 F.3d 596, 597 (5th Cir.1999) (rejecting Director‘s interpretation that was unsupported by regulations, rulings, or other indications that it was “the product of agency deliberation and judgment”); Henry v. Coordinated Caribbean Transp., 204 F.3d 609, 610, 613 (5th Cir.2000) (dispelling Director‘s invocation of Chevron deference because his interpretation “has no statutory or other support”). However, in one case decided shortly before Mead, we did state that the Director‘s interpretations of the Act merit full Chevron deference. See Ceres Marine Terminal v. Hinton, 243 F.3d 222, 227 (5th Cir.2001) (“The Director’s interpretations of the Act ... are accepted as controlling, unless they are unreasonable ... or contrary to clearly expressed legislative intent.”). And in his brief in the instant case, the Director lays claim to such deference. See Director’s Brief, at 14.
Whatever the characterization of our previous posture, it is now clear that when the Director advances interpretations of the LHWCA in litigation briefs, such interpretations merit not Chevron deference, but Skidmore deference. See Mead, 121 S.Ct. at 2177 n. 19 (rejecting dissent‘s argument that agency interpretation not promulgated in exercise of its rulemaking authority, but subsequently reaffirmed in agency‘s litigation briefs, warranted Chevron difference). Indeed, the Supreme Court suggested as much in Metropolitan Stevedore Co. v. Rambo, 521 U.S. 121, 136, 117 S.Ct. 1953, 138 L.Ed.2d 327 (1997) (“[T]he Director’s reasonable interpretation of the [LHWCA] brings at least some added persuasive force to our conclusion, see, e.g., Skidmore v. Swift & Co. ....“); accord Neeley v. BRB, 139 F.3d 276, 281 (1st Cir.1998).
. We are at a loss to comprehend how the petitioners can assert that “the date Claimant attained MMI was not even a realm of dispute at the ALJ hearing” and then suggest that the ALJ became “an advocate from the bench” because he held that Cooper had not attained maximum medical improvement. See Petitioners’ Reply, at 6. The majority of the testimony and exhibits adduced at the hearing concerned the continuing state of Cooper‘s health. Moreover, a claim of temporary disability necessarily subsumes a claim that the employee has not attained maximum medical improvement.
. Because
Metropolitan Stevedore
involved a non-scheduled injury permanent partial disability claimant, the second consideration on which the Court based its decision was a statutory provision applicable only to that category of disability and to temporary partial disabilities.
See
521 U.S. at 130-34, 117 S.Ct. 1953. Compensation for these categories of injuries is based on the difference between the employee‘s pre-injury wages and his post-injury wages.
See
. We note in passing that even an informal claim suffices to toll the statute of limitations so long as it “discloses an intention to assert a right to compensation.” Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co. v. Bergeron, 493 F.2d 545, 547 (5th Cir.1974) (quoting Atlantic & Gulf Stevedores v. Donovan, 279 F.2d 75, 76 (5th Cir.1960)).
. Pool and Signal distort the meaning and significance of the letter of March 28, 1995, that the OWCP sent to Cooper after he filed his LS-203. Contrary to the petitioners’ assertions, this letter did not state that the LS-203 “did not seek any relief for additional workers’ compensation benefits,” see Petitioners’ Brief, at 9, or that “the OWCP was not able to discern the nature of his claim(s) at that time.” Id. at 14. As the Director points out, and as the plain text of the letter makes clear, it merely informed Cooper that Pool disputed his claim for benefits and that he needed to supply additional information to substantiate his claim. See J. Ex. 10.
. In dicta, the Supreme Court has observed that in proceedings under the LHWCA ” ‘considerable liberality is usually shown in allowing amendment of pleadings to correct ... defects,’ unless the ‘effect is one of undue surprise or prejudice to the opposing party.’ ” U.S. Indus./Fed. Sheet Metal, 455 U.S. at 613 n. 7, 102 S.Ct. 1312 (1982) (quoting 3 Larson, Law of Workmen‘s Compensation § 78.10, p. 15-11). Particularly in cases such as in this one, where the effect of the amendment is to reduce the liability of the employer and carrier, there is no danger of prejudice.
. The petitioners also argue in passing that Cooper never claimed benefits for any period prior to the filing of the LS-203, until the morning of the ALJ hearing. However, they offer no evidence to support their claim of ambush, aside from the comments of their own counsel at the hearing.
. The BRB did not address the discrepancy in dates in the brief portion of its opinion dedicated to this issue.
. This is not the only instance in this case where the petitioners’ counsel have misstated the facts or the law. While the Court hesitates to impute any willfulness to such actions, excessive misrepresentations test the bounds of tolerable human error and call into question counsel’s adherence to even a minimal practice standard.