Morgan v. BellMorgan v. Bell
- Reporters:
- , ,
- Before:
- Jenkins
Mrs. Leonora P. Morgan, a niece of Mrs. Sallie P. Payne, was devised a remainder interest in real estate by the alleged will of Mrs. Payne, and was named therein as executrix. This instrument was offered for probate in solemn form. W. V. Bell, the only child of Mrs. Payne, filed a caveat on the sole contested ground of mental incapacity. The instrument was dated September 15, 1936. Mrs. Payne died in September, 1938. From a judgment by the court of ordinary, in favor of the caveator, the propounder appealed to the superior court, where the jury found for the caveator. The judge denied a new trial, on a motion limited to the general grounds. Although it is argued by brief for the plaintiff in error that the verdict should have been for the propounder because opinion testimony was admitted for the caveator, there was no exception to the admission of such testimony. The sole question presented is whether the evidence on the one issue of mental capacity was sufficient to authorize the verdict. The propounder made out a prima facie case by testimony of the subscribing witnesses and the draftsman of the instrument, that at the time of the signature by the decedent she was apparently of sound mind, and that there was nothing about her appearance to indicate an abnormal or subnormal mentality; and (in rebuttal) there was strong additional testimony by the propounder, her husband, and two other witnesses, all of whom had long known the decedent, as to her sound mental capacity.
For the caveator seven witnesses testified, including Dr. E. C. Brown, the physician who had attended the decedent at intervals after she suffered a stroke of apoplexy ten years previously. He testified as to her toxic condition from the kidneys, due to Bright‘s disease, which at times caused convulsions; as to paralysis of her
D. R. Pearce testified for the caveator, that he had known the decedent intimately for about forty years, and in later years had visited her and her son two or three times a week; that “from my observation and knowledge of Mrs. Payne, I don‘t think she had the mental capacity to make a will;” that after the paralytic stroke, her condition “just gradually got worse; she could say a few words,” but “her tongue just would not work, and you could not sit down and carry on a conversation with her, talk like ordinary people;” that from June 5, 1935, “she grew gradually worse;” that “from my observation of and experience with Mrs. Payne, her mental powers were weakened; after that stroke she had the mind of about a six or eight-year-old child; she just did not have it like
Miss Faustine Smith testified for the caveator, that since she was a baby she had known the decedent; that her physical condition with respect to ability to talk grew gradually worse, “and that same great limitation on her powers of speech was even worse, of course, in 1935, four years ago, and that was true in 1936, all of both those years; she could not think clearly after that stroke of paralysis, her mind was very foggy; it did not come and go, it was continuous; . . any effort would cause her great mental suffering and physical suffering, because she had high blood pressure; . . she did not at any time after she had this stroke have sufficient mind to have a decided and rational desire what she wanted to do with her property; her mind was distempered by this disease. . . That condition grew worse; it was very decidedly worse in 1935 than in 1927; it was decidedly worse in 1936 than in 1927.” Her sister, Mrs. Mattie Batts, testified as to her frequent visits to the home of the decedent, as to the physical manifestations of the condition of the decedent, and: “I think her mind was foggy; it was worse at times, but I would say it was continuous, never got any better. I
1. “Every person may make a will, unless laboring under some legal disability arising either from a want of capacity or a want of perfect liberty of action.”
2. “Where the question under examination, and to be decided by the jury, shall be one of opinion, any witness may swear to his opinion or belief, giving his reasons therefor; but if the issue shall be as to the existence of a fact, the opinions of witnesses, generally, shall be inadmissible.”
3. While it was held by this court, as early as 1849, in Potts v. House, 6 Ga. 324 (3), 335 (50 Am. D. 329), that “The opinions of the subscribing witnesses to a will, as to the sanity of the testator, are admissible, without stating the facts upon which they are founded,” which ruling was followed in Scott v. McKee, 105 Ga. 256 (2), 258 (31 S.E. 183), and Dyar v. Dyar, 161 Ga. 615 (2), 619 (131 S.E. 535), the distinction was drawn in the Potts case that “The mere opinions of witnesses, other than physicians and the attesting witnesses, are not admissible, unless accompanied with the facts on which they are founded; but having stated the appearance, conduct, conversation, or other particular facts, from which the state of the testator‘s mind may be inferred, they are at liberty to express their belief or opinion, as the result of those facts.” See, as to the opinions of non-experts in such cases, accompanied by stated facts, Merritt v. Wallace, 173 Ga. 435, 436 (160 S.E. 610), and cit.; Dean v. Littleton, 161 Ga. 651 (131 S.E. 507); Pennington v. Perry, 156 Ga. 103 (6) (118 S.E. 710); Snell v. Snell, 165 Ga. 724 (2), 726 (142 S.E. 96); Winkles v. Drake, 165 Ga. 335 (5) (141 S.E. 67); Credille v. Credille, 131 Ga. 40 (61 S.E. 1042); Compton v. Porterfield, 155 Ga. 480 (117 S.E. 464), and cit.; Brown v. McBride, 129 Ga. 92 (2), 95 (58 S.E. 702); Proctor v. Pointer, 127 Ga. 134 (2) (56 S.E. 111); Conn. Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Lathrop, 111 U.S. 612, 622, 4 Sup. Ct. 533, 28 L. ed. 536. However, as was recently pointed out by this court, in Smoot v. Alexander, 188 Ga. 203 (3 S.E.2d 593): “What is mental capacity to make a will is a question of law. On the trial of an issue of devisavit vel non, whether the alleged testatrix had mental capacity to make a will at the time of signing the paper is a question for decision by the jury, and a witness can not testify as to such legal conclusion.” (Italics ours.) See Travelers Insurance Co. v. Thornton, 119 Ga. 455, 456 (46 S.E. 678), and Slaughter v. Health, supra, cited in the Smoot case; Patterson v. State, 86 Ga. 70, 72 (12 S.E. 174); Griggs v. State, 59 Ga. 738 (3); Taylor v. State, 135 Ga. 622 (6) (70 S.E. 237); Allison v. Wall, 121 Ga. 822 (49 S.E. 831). This rule applies with equal force to expert and non-expert testimony; the only distinction being that a non-expert witness in expressing his opinion as to the mental condition of the deceased must narrate the facts and circumstances upon which his conclusion is based, whereas an expert witness can express his opinion as to that condition, upon proof being made that he was in a position to form an expert opinion, without the necessity of stating the facts forming the basis of his conclusion. Taylor v. State, 83 Ga. 647 (9), 658 (10 S.E. 412); Central Railroad v. Senn, 73 Ga. 705 (2), 711; Augusta Summerville R. Co. v. Dorsey, 68 Ga. 228, 237; Hammond v. State, 156 Ga. 880 (2), 882 (120 S.E. 539); Potts v. House, supra. An exception to the rule also permits an expert witness to state his opinion or conclusion from a hypothetical question based upon the testimony of other witnesses.
But, as already indicated, neither an expert nor a non-expert witness is permitted to express an opinion upon the ultimate conclusion as to whether the testator was or was not possessed of that mental capacity which is necessary to make a will; and this is true whether any such witness does or does not narrate the facts upon which to base any such opinion. The recent decision of this court in Metropolitan Life Insurance Co. v. Saul, 189 Ga. 1 (5 S.E.2d 214), is not in conflict with this interpretation of the rule, which was there recognized. As was there in effect pointed out, with other distinguishing “circumstances” which “obtained” in that case, the statement of witnesses related to the existence of a substantive fact, even though the language might have corresponded more or less with the terms of the policy; that is, whether the plaintiff was totally disabled from performing any sort of labor and whether this condition was permanent. Merely that in testifying to a state of fact the expert witnesses may have used language more or less identical with that used in the policy would not prevent the testimony from relating to a question of fact rather than a question of law. Where the question was asked as a question of fact, and not whether the disability measured up to a proper legal interpretation of the language of the policy, the fact that under the decisions of this court a proper interpretation of the policy might not have required proof going to the full extent of the witness‘s answers would not convert the answers as related to a question of fact into answers seeking to interpret the legal rule as measured by the language of the policy.
4. In this case there was properly admitted opinion testimony from non-expert witnesses as to the mental condition of the testatrix, accompanied by the facts and circumstances on which their opinions were based, which authorized the jury to find that the testatrix was incompetent to make a will, under the rules of law set forth in the first division of this opinion. There was also
Judgment affirmed. All the Justices concur.