Lettich's Case
- Reporters:
- , ,
- Before:
- O'Connor
This is an appeal under
The employee appealed to the Appeals Court pursuant to
The single member’s decision favorable to the employee was largely based on the opinion of Alan Balsam, M.D., as set forth in a typewritten report to the employee’s attorney. Dr. Balsam concluded that there was a causal connection between the employee’s work-related stress and his coronary artery disease. The report was in evidence before the single member as part of the physician’s deposition. Dr. Balsam had not treated the employee. The testimony of other physicians, including that of the employee’s attending cardiologist, Maximilliaan G. Kaulbach, M.D., was also submitted to the single member in deposition form. The reviewing-board, relying heavily on Dr. Kaulbach’s deposition, concluded, contrary to the decision of the single member, that “[t]he overwhelming weight of the medical evidence in this case points to a natural progression of an underlying disease process which is unrelated to the work effort.”
In his report to the panel, the Appeals Court single justice noted that before the workers’ compensation law was substantially revised by St. 1985, c. 572, the reviewing board had plenary fact-finding authority. The reviewing board’s finding “entirely superseded that of the single member which thereafter became of no importance.” Ricci’s Case, 294 Mass. 67, 68 (1936). The question on judicial review was whether the evidence warranted the finding of the reviewing board. Di-Giovanni’s Case, 255 Mass. 241, 242 (1926).
‘ [t]he reviewing board shall reverse the decision of a [single] member only if it determines on the basis of such member’s written opinion and on an examination of a written transcript of the hearing, that the member’s decision is beyond the scope of his authority, arbitrary or capricious, contrary to law, or unwarranted by the facts. The reviewing board may weigh evidence, but may not review determinations by the member who conducted the hearing regarding the credibility of witnesses who have given testimony.’ It may be relevant, under this standard of review, that the testimony of all four doctors was received in deposition form rather than in live testimony before the single member.”
The single justice’s report concludes by identifying the issue this way: “Whether the reviewing board, under this new standard of review, may reject the single member’s adoption of one expert’s opinion and adopt instead the contrary opinion of another expert is a question of fundamental importance in determining the role of the reviewing board under the new statute. It is pivotal to this case and may well be pivotal in any case where (as is often true in workmen’s compensation cases) expert witnesses for the employee and for the employer have offered conflicting opinions as to disability or causation.”
We recite some of the single member’s findings for background purposes. The single member found as follows: The employee was employed by a patent law firm, from 1965 until March, 1982. At first he was an accountant-manager, and in the middle 1970’s his job title changed to “legal administrator.” As such, he was in charge of bookkeeping, supplies, and other administrative matters, including personnel, pensions, and insurance.
The employee first experienced chest pains in June, 1970, while on vacation. In July, he was diagnosed as having suffered
In 1980, the employee began to experience several incidents of stress at work. Among other things, heywas the only nonlegal employee not given a raise, and he was forbidden to chair partnership meetings as he had done in the past. He then filed an age discrimination suit, after which incidents of petty abuse and harassment increased. His angina began bothering him more in frequency and degree.
On March 18, 1982, while coming to work on the train, the employee suffered a severe angina attack. He left work at 3 p.m., and has not returned since. His current activities are extremely limited, and he experiences angina on a regular basis when he exerts himself, in response to emotional excitement, and on certain other occasions.
In addition, as we stated earlier in this opinion, the single member, relying substantially on Dr. Balsam’s opinion, found that the stress associated with the employee’s work had contributed to the employee’s disabling coronary artery disease.
The reviewing board’s decision contains a detailed discussion of the employee’s medical history from 1972 to 1983 as disclosed by Dr. Kaulbach’s records. None of the history contained in the reviewing board’s decision was inconsistent with the single member’s findings based on the credibility of witnesses before him. In support of its reversal of the single member’s determination, the reviewing board stated as follows: “The overwhelming weight of the evidence leads inescapably to the conclusion that the employee has failed to introduce sufficient
“The weight of the evidence in the case simply fails to support the proposition that the employee sustained an injury to his heart. In order to prove an injury to his heart, the employee must establish an aggravation or acceleration of his underlying arteriosclerotic heart disease. In plain terms he must prove that his heart condition worsened. A review of the testimony of the attending cardiologist evidences no worsening of the employee’s condition in the several years prior to his stopping work on March 18, 1982. The overwhelming weight of the medical evidence in this case points to a natural progression of an underlying disease process which is unrelated to the work effort.”
Close to the end of his decision, the single member reported as a “general finding” that “the employee [had] sustained an industrial injury on March 18, 1982.” The employee had sustained an angina attack on a train on his way to work that day. The insurer argues that the general finding was erroneous as a matter of law because “[i]t is now elementary that the compensation act does not extend to cover employees going to and coming from their work.”
Gwaltney’s Case,
355 Mass. 333, 335 (1969), and cases cited. The reviewing board, argues the insurer, properly reversed the single member’s decision on that ground alone. We are not persuaded by the insurer’s argument. The board thought it possible, and we believe it to be clear, that the single member “simply meant that the incident on the train while commuting to work was significant in that it was the last physical consequence flowing from a series of emotional and stressful situations at work.” The reviewing board reversed the single member’s decision solely on the ground that, despite the single member’s contrary finding, the em
We held in
Pospisil’s Case,
402 Mass. 820, 822 (1988), that
With respect to clarity,
We construe
With the facts thus established, the reviewing board’s function is to decide whether the single member’s determination as to the employee’s entitlement to benefits is “beyond the scope of his authority, arbitrary or capricious, contrary to law, or unwarranted by the facts.”
In the present case, the employee does not argue that the reviewing board’s decision was unwarranted by substantial evidence. Rather, the employee contends that the reviewing board “acted beyond its appellate authority in overturning the decision of the Single Member.” The reviewing board did not reject any finding of the single member based on “the credibility of witnesses who [gave] testimony.” See
So ordered.
Notes
The reviewing board’s statement, repeated above, that “[i]n formulating his opinion on causal relationship, Doctor Balsam gave weight to and relied upon his own opinion that the employee’s 1970 myocardial infarction was work related,” appears to be erroneous. Cross-examined about that matter during his deposition, Dr. Balsam stated that “irrespective of [the] issue of myocardial infarction, . . . there was a causal relationship between that stress and his coronary artery disease.” It seems clear that the board’s error in this regard is not the principal reason for the board’s rejection of Dr. Balsam’s opinion, however. Rather, the board viewed the evidence as inescapably leading to the conclusion that the employee’s condition was not work-related. The board characterized the weight of the evidence in that regard as “overwhelming.”