Jones v. Mansfield Training SchoolJones v. Mansfield Training School
- Reporters:
- , ,
- Before:
- Peters
Lead Opinion
The dispositive issue in this administrative appeal is whether injured state employees may elect to calculate their benefits in accordance with the traditional workers’ compensation benefits established by
The facts were stipulated. As a result of an attack by one of the residents of the Mansfield Training School, the claimant, an employee of the school, sustained an injury to her right knee and left thumb that left her temporarily totally incapacitated. If calculated in accordance with
The claimant appeals from the determination of the compensation review division limiting her compensation benefit to that established by
As the compensation review division noted in its opinion, our legislature enacted the predecessor statute to
The state points to three statutory provisions as indicative of a legislative intent to require injured employees to look to
We are not persuaded that the legislature’s use of the word “shall” demonstrates that the salary benefit provided by
The state buttresses its argument for exclusivity by pointing to the legislature’s express preservation, for injured
The same ambiguity inheres in the clause in
What is notable about the text of both
Our reluctance to infer exclusivity of remedy from the ambiguous provisions of a remedial statute finds support, furthermore, in another case in which we concluded that workers are entitled to choose between different statutory measures providing compensation for on-the-job injuries. In Bakelaar v. West Haven, 193 Conn. 59, 66-69, 475 A.2d 283 (1984), we concluded that a municipal firefighter or police officer suffering from hypertension or heart disease could elect whether to proceed under
Concededly, the governing statutes in Bakelaar were clearer than they are in this case. We are nonetheless persuaded that the legislature did not intend, sub silentio, to convert the special benefits conferred by
The judgment is reversed and the case is remanded to the compensation review division with direction to reinstate the finding and award of the compensation commissioner.
In this opinion Shea and Callahan, Js., concurred.
Notes
Under
The claimant’s contention that she has a statutory right to election of remedies is buttressed by her assertion that a contrary construction of
As enacted in 1939, General Statutes § 78e provided in relevant part: “DISABILITY COMPENSATION TO EMPLOYEES OF STATE POLICE AND STATE institutions. Each employee of the state police department or of any correctional or penal institution or of any institution for the care of persons afflicted with a mental disorder or a mental defect, in case of injury sustained while making an arrest or in pursuit of such purpose, or while attending or restraining an inmate of any such institution or sustained as a result of being assaulted while in the performance of his duty, shall not be removed from the payroll, except that, in the event of total disability, he shall be continued on the payroll for two hundred and sixty weeks and thereafter shall receive compensation at the rate of one-half the salary he was receiving at the time of the injury . . . .”
Concurrence Opinion
concurring. While I concur in the result, I am unable to agree with that portion of the majority-opinion that discusses the circumstances under which the legislature’s use of the word “shall” in a statute is considered directory, as opposed to mandatory. As written, the opinion implies that we have concluded that the word “shall” in
“In determining whether a statute is mandatory or merely directory, the most satisfactory and conclusive test is whether the prescribed mode of action is of the essence of the thing to be accomplished, or in other words whether it relates to [a] matter of substance or to [a] matter of convenience.” International Brotherhood of Teamsters v. Shapiro, 138 Conn. 57, 68, 82 A.2d 345 (1951).
Dissenting Opinion
dissenting. The majority, through statutory construction, grants certain state employees an election to receive for total incapacity either their “full salary” under
There is no dispute that, in the present case, the claimant falls within a category of those state employees covered by
In the concurring opinion, it is stated that the word “shall” pertains to a matter of substance and as a result is mandatory. I agree; this time, “shall” means “shall.” The concurring opinion, however, seeks to reach the majority’s result by pointing out that
Finally, for at least two reasons, there is no basis for the majority’s conclusion that the legislature intended an election because it failed to amend
I am mindful of the remedial purposes of the Workers’ Compensation Act and “ ‘that it should be broadly construed to accomplish its humanitarian purposes.’ ” Ash v. New Milford, 207 Conn. 665, 672, 541 A.2d 1233 (1988). Nevertheless, the legislature in adopting
Although this court has the final word on the interpretation of our state statutes, there is a “higher authority”—that is, the constitution of the state of Connecticut. Article second of the Connecticut constitution provides in part: “The powers of government shall be
I would affirm the decision of the workers’ compensation review division.6 Accordingly, I respectfully dissent.
See footnote 1, supra.
The workers’ compensation review division found that “Sec. 5-142 (a) after the sentences creating full salary benefits contains the following: ‘All other provisions of the workers’ compensation law not inconsistent herewith, including the specific indemnities and provisions for hearing and appeal shall be available to any such state employee or the dependents of such deceased employee.’ We think Sec. 31-307 defining compensation as equal to sixty-six and two-thirds per cent of average weekly earnings is inconsistent with the full salary definition of benefits provided in Sec. 5-142 (a). We therefore conclude that the claimant’s] election of benefits argument cannot apply.”
The claimant also argues that the “full salary” should also include “average weekly wage.” There is no basis for the argument. The plaintiff concedes that the commissioner has, without exception, calculated the “full salary” under