John E. Washington v. Allstate Insurance CompanyJohn E. Washington v. Allstate Insurance Company
- Reporters:
- ,
- Before:
- Duhe
Washington appeals the trial court’s dismissal of his breach of contract action against his homeowner’s insurer Allstate. We affirm.
Washington alleged that Allstate failed to pay for property damage to his home covered under an insurance policy issued to him by Allstate; Washington attached the Allstate policy to his complaint. Allstate answered claiming prescription and moved to dismiss on the basis of prescription. Allstate was granted until 20 days after the date of the hearing on its motion to dismiss to produce documents and respond to requests for admissions. Washington did not object to the extension.
Thereafter, Washington responded to Allstаte’s motion, arguing: (1) that the action had not prescribed on its face; (2) that Allstate had acknowledged the debt by having a repair estimate made, thereby interrupting prescription; and (3) that Allstate had created a genuine issue of material fact by attaching to its motion a copy of the standard fire policy languаge set forth in
In granting Allstate’s motion to dismiss, the district court accepted Allstate’s argument that Washington’s claim had prescribed and rejected Washington’s claim that Allstate interrupted prescription by hiring a contractor to assess the plaintiff’s damages. Though neither the parties nor the court designated under which rule dismissal was sought,
Where matters outside the pleadings are considered by the district court on
When the district court considered
Washington contends that judgment was premature because the trial court allowed no discovery. He objected to this state of affairs in his supplemental response to Allstate’s motion to dismiss and in his brief to this court. Thus he argues that the district court erred in failing to allow him a “rеasonable opportunity” to respond as required by
Rule 56(c) requires that the nonmovant have 10 days within which to respond to a motion for summary judgment. However, “[ujnder Rule 56 it is not necessary that the district court give ten days’ notice after it decides to treat a
Here Allstate attached a copy of
The next question is whether the trial court erred in granting summary judgment becаuse Washington had not engaged in any discovery. Washington did not object
Rule 56 does not require that any discovery take place before summary judgment can be granted; if a party cannot adequately defend such a motion, Rule 56(f) is his remedy. New America Shipbuilders, Inc. v. United States, 871 F.2d 1077, 1081 (Fed.Cir.1989); Reflectone, Inc. v. Farrand Optical Co., Inc., 862 F.2d 841, 843-44 (11th Cir.1989); American Nurses Association v. State of Illinois, 783 F.2d 716, 729 (7th Cir.1986); Weir v. Anaconda Co., 773 F.2d 1073, 1081 (10th Cir.1985); United States of America, acting Through the Small Business Association v. Light, 766 F.2d 394, 397 (8th Cir.1985). This court has long recognized that a plaintiff’s entitlement to discovery prior to a ruling on a motion for summary judgment is not unlimited, and may be cut off when the record shows that the requested discovery is not likely to produce the facts needed by the plaintiff to withstand a motion for summary judgment. Paul Kadair, Inc. v. Sony Corp. of America, 694 F.2d 1017, 1029-30 (5th Cir.1983). See Fisher v. Metropolitan Life Insurance Co., 895 F.2d 1073 (5th Cir.1990) and Netto v. Amtrak, 863 F.2d 1210, 1216 (5th Cir.1989).
Rule 56(f) provides:
Should it appear from the affidavits of a party opposing the motion that the party cannot for reasons stated present by affidavit facts essential to justify the party’s opposition, the court may refuse the application for judgment or may order a continuance to permit affidavits to be obtained or depositions to be taken or discovery to be had or may make such other order as is just.
The protection afforded by Rule 56(f) is an alternative to a response in opposition to summary judgment under Rule 56(e) and is designed to safeguard against a prеmature or improvident grant of summary judgment. 10A Wright, Miller, and Kane, Federal Practice and Procedure § 2740 (1983).
To obtain a Rule 56(f) continuance, the nonmovant must present specific facts explaining his inability to make a substantive response as required by Rule 56(e) and by specifically demonstrating “how postponement of a ruling on the motion will enable him, by discovery or other mеans, to rebut the movant’s showing of the absence of a genuine issue of fact.” Securities and Exchange Commission v. Spence & Green Chemical Co., 612 F.2d 896, 901 (5th Cir.1980), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 1082, 101 S.Ct. 866, 66 L.Ed.2d 806 (1981) (quoting Willmar Poultry Co. v. Morton-Norwich Products, Inc., 520 F.2d 289, 297 (8th Cir.1975), cert. denied, 424 U.S. 915, 96 S.Ct. 1116, 47 L.Ed.2d 320 (1976)). The nonmovant may not simply rely on vague assertions that discovery will produce needed, but unspecified, facts. Gossett v. Du-Ra-Kel Corp., 569 F.2d 869, 873 (5th Cir.1978).
In Fontenot v. Upjohn Co., 780 F.2d 1190, 1194 (5th Cir.1986), the court observed that “[wjhile a party’s failure to comply with Rule 56(f) procedure does not preclude consideration оf the motion, some equivalent statement, preferably in writing ... is to be expected.” In Fontenot the plaintiff neither filed an affidavit nor stated any facts that would have required a continuance; furthermore, he did not suggest on appeal how he was prejudiced by the denial of a continuance. The Fontenot court, noting that Rule 61 forbids reversal absent prejudice to the “substantial rights” of a party, declined to find that the trial court erred in refusing to grant the plaintiff a Rule 56(f) continuance both because of the discretion vested in the trial judge and because no resultant prejudice was shown. Fontenot, 780 F.2d at 1194.
Assuming, without deciding, that Washington’s request for discovery in his
Netto v. Amtrak, 863 F.2d 1210, 1215 (5th Cir.1989) is instructive. Netto opposed Amtrak’s motion for summary judgment, alleging that some discovery was still outstanding. Netto neither moved for a сontinuance nor submitted an affidavit showing how the outstanding discovery could have assisted him in opposing the motion. On appeal, Netto’s allegations lacked specificity and presented no explanation about the way in which the outstanding discovery could have aided his cause of action. The court found thаt by their very nature, the outstanding discovery requests could not have controverted Amtrak’s summary judgment evidence. Similarly, Washington has neither alleged nor alluded to any facts beyond the existence of the contractor’s estimate to support his contention that Allstate acknowledged his claim.
Having found that the district court’s аction was procedurally correct, we turn to the merits on summary judgment. Summary judgment is appropriate under
On November 22, 1987 Washington’s home, insured by Allstate Insurance Company, was burglarized and vandalized. Thereafter, Washington filed a claim and a sworn proof of loss with Allstate in accordance with the terms of the insurance contract. At Allstate’s request, Washington submitted himself for an examination under oath. Allstate also hired a contractor who assessed the damage to Washington’s home and submitted to Allstate a proposal for repair costs. No negotiations transpired between the parties, and Washington filed suit against Allstate on January 20, 1989, one year and 59 days after the loss.
Washington asserts that the Allstate policy provision is ambiguous in that “one year after the loss” could mean either “one year after the inception of the loss” or “one year after the loss аccrues.” Thus he argues that because the policy required the insured to give Allstate a sworn proof of loss within 60 days after the loss, the loss accrued at the expiration of that sixty day period and the one year prescriptive period began to run at the end of the 60 days. We disagree.
The form of the standard fire рolicy is mandatory under Louisiana’s Insurance Code. Grice v. Aetna Cas. & Sur. Co., 359 So.2d 1288 (La.1978). 1 Even if the term “loss” in the Allstate policy is ambiguous and thus conflicts with 22:691, the policy expressly provides that in such instance its provisions are reformed to conform with that law. Under 22:691, and thus under the Allstate policy, Washington had one year from the occurrence causing his loss within which tо file suit. See Gremillion v. Travelers Indemnity Co, 256 La. 974, 240 So.2d 727, 731 (1970). Consequently, because Washington filed this action one year and 59 days after the damage was sustained, his claim had prescribed absent some circumstance which tolled the running of prescription. We now turn to Washington’s argument that Allstate interrupted the running of prescription by acknowledging his claim.
Generally, when a petition shows on its face that the prescriptive period has run, the burden is on the plaintiff to prove interruption of the prescriptive period. Touchet v. State Farm Fire & Casualty Co., 542 So.2d 1142,1143 (La.App. 3rd Cir.), cert. denied, 546 So.2d 1214 (La.1989); Frederick v. Aetna Life & Casualty Co., 467 So.2d 600, 602 (La.App. 3rd Cir. 1985); Emery v. Cabral, 400 So.2d 340, 342 (La. App. 4th Cir.), cert. denied, 405 So.2d 533 (La.1981).
Prescription can be interrupted when one acknowledges the right of the person against whom he had commenced to prescribe. La.Civ.Code art. 3464. Under Louisiana lаw, an acknowledgement sufficient to interrupt prescription must be a clear, concise and express recognition of the right which the creditor claims. Simmons v. Bartleet Chemical, Inc., 420 So.2d 1273, 1275 (La.App. 3rd Cir.1982); Tassin v. Allstate Insurance Co., 310 So.2d 680, 685 (La.App. 4th Cir.1975). The acknowledgement may be express or tacit and need not be in any particular form. Flowers v. U.S.F. & G. Co., 381 So.2d 378, 381-82 (La.1980). However, such acknowledgement must be made with the intеntion to interrupt prescription. Touchet v. State Farm Fire & Casualty Co., 542 So.2d 1142, 1144 (La.App. 3rd Cir.), cert. denied, 546 So.2d 1214 (La.1989); Marathon Insurance Co. v. Warner, 244 So.2d 353, 355 (La.App. 2nd Cir.1971).
Mere investigation of a claim or loss does not constitute conduct which may be taken as a waiver of a policy provision.
Insurance Company of North America v. Board of Commissioners of the Port of New Orleans,
733 F.2d 1161, 1167 (5th Cir.1984) (interpreting Louisiana law).
None of the following acts by or on behalf of an insurer shall be dеemed to constitute a waiver of any provision of a policy or any defense of the insurer thereunder: ...
(3) Investigating any loss or claim under any policy or engaging in negotiations looking towards a possible settlement of any such loss or claim.
The crucial determination is whether the overall actions of the insurer lеd the insured to reasonably believe the insurer
The recognition оf a disputed claim and efforts to settle or compromise the claim do not constitute an acknowledgement. See Touchet v. State Farm Fire & Casualty Co., 542 So.2d at 1146; DeFrancesch v. R. Peterson & Assoc. Ins. Agency, 508 So.2d 1014,1016 (La.App. 5th Cir.1987); Frederick v. Aetna Life & Casualty Co., 467 So.2d 600, 602 (La.App. 3rd Cir.1985); White v. Miller, 447 So.2d 1192, 1194-95 (La.App. 5th Cir.), cert. denied, 449 So.2d 1357 (La.1984); Trainer v. Aycock Welding Co., 421 So.2d 416, 417-18 (La.App. 1st Cir.1982).
Washington contends that the contractor’s estimate served as an acknowledgment of the debt owed sufficient to interrupt the running of prescription, relying heavily on Richardson v. Louisiana Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Co., 393 So.2d 200 (La.App. 1st Cir.1980), cert. denied, 398 So.2d 529 (La.1981). Washington’s reliance is misplaced. In Richardson there was an oral offer and an оral acceptance of a compromise agreement. Although the oral compromise was unenforceable under La.Civ.Code art. 3071, the court concluded that it met the requirements of an acknowledgment of the debt sufficient to interrupt prescription. 393 So.2d at 203. In the instant case, the parties reached neither a settlement nor a compromise; indeed, the parties never even negotiated. Viewing the facts in the light most favorable to Washington, the contractor’s estimate falls far short of constituting an acknowledgment so as to interrupt prescription under Louisiana law.
For the foregoing reasons, the ruling of the district сourt granting summary judgment in favor of Allstate is
AFFIRMED.
Notes
. The Allstate policy insured against a number of perils, including both fire and theft. The Grice court held that “if the homeowners policy is part of the same contract as the standard fire policy the burglary and theft coverage of the homeowners policy will be governed by the same limitation as the standard fire policy.” 359 So.2d at 1291.