Hummer's Case
- Reporters:
- , ,
- Before:
- Ronan
The employee, a butcher, while taking meat out of a barrel on September 28, 1937, received a scratch on the back of his right hand which became infected, necessitated three operations at a hospital where he was confined for several months, resulted in the amputation of a large part of his right hand, and rendered his hand permanently incapable of use. During the last operation, he suffered a pulmonary embolism or a coronary thrombosis and became critically ill. Upon the application of the insurer to discontinue compensation, a single member of the Industrial Accident Board found, on March 5, 1941, that the employee was totally disabled; that his total disability was in part produced by the fact that he had been totally deprived of the use of his right hand and in part due to heart disease; that he had a heart disease which existed at the time of his injury, but that the surgical operations required in the treatment of his injury “precipitated an attack of symptoms due to the disease, from which symptoms he is not as yet free and which in themselves are totally disabling.” He ordered the continuance of payments at the rate fixed for total incapacity. Neither party sought a review of this decision.
The insurer made payments amounting to $4,500, the maximum amount provided by
The single member found that the employee as a result of the original injury has lost the use of his right hand; that in addition he has a heart condition that is disabling to some degree; and that the combination of the injury and the heart condition renders the employee totally disabled. He found that the heart condition from which the employee is suffering was not causally related to the injury; that apart from the heart condition, the employee for all practical purposes was a one-handed man in the labor market, but that he was not thereby totally and permanently disabled. He denied, on December 18, 1942, the claim for further compensation. A reviewing board adopted the findings of the single member and dismissed the claim. The employee appealed from a final decree entered in the Superior Court dismissing his claim.
The employee contends that the finding made in the earlier proceeding that the surgical operations necessitated by the injury had brought on an attack of the existing heart disease was equivalent to a finding that there was a causal connection between the injury and the disease, and that that finding from which no review was taken settled the existence of this relationship. It is true that the liability of the insurer when once finally determined cannot be fur*621ther heard by a single member or a reviewing board, and that a decision of the member or the board, from which no review or appeal is taken, that incapacity has ceased, where the case is not reserved for further consideration or in the absence of a statute authorizing further consideration, is also final and that there is no jurisdiction to hear claims for disability alleged to have been subsequently sustained. See
The determination of the cause and extent of the then existing incapacity of the employee was the only question presented for decision at the first proceeding. That the loss of the use of the hand was permanent was not disputed. The duration of his disability due to his general condition was not in issue and was not decided. The length of time that the .effect of the surgical, operations might be reflected in the condition of the heart was not passed upon. The finding went no farther than to establish that the operations precipitated an attack of the symptoms of heart disease “from which symptoms he is not as yet free.’’ There is nothing here suggestive of any lasting injury to the heart. The flare-up of the heart condition had not then subsided, and there is no intimation in any finding made in the first proceeding that the heart condition in so far as it was affected by the injury would persist indefinitely. Hunnewell’s Case, 220 Mass. 351. Weir’s Case, 252 Mass. 236. Hanson’s Case, 264 Mass. 300. Panago-topulos’s Case, 276 Mass. 600.
The question of the permanency of the employee’s disability did not arise until the second proceeding. The fact that the heart condition had previously been accentuated by the injury and had contributed to the total disability from which he was found to have suffered was not an adjudication that, whatever the heart condition might be in subsequent years, it must be deemed due to the injury. It was the duty of the single member and the reviewing board *622in the second proceeding to ascertain the actual physical condition of the heart at that time and then determine whether the evidence showed that it was or was not connected with the injury. The burden was on the employee to show that he was entitled to compensation. Ginley’s Case, 244 Mass. 346. Hatch’s Case, 290 Mass. 259. Davis’s Case, 304 Mass. 530. It could have been found that the employee was at the time of the second proceeding suffering from a degeneration of the muscles of the heart. In determining whether that condition was traceable to the original injury, the single member could consider the finding made in the previous proceeding that the surgical operations had precipitated a heart attack, together with the other evidence, some of which tended to show that the effect of the injury upon the heart had still continued and some of which strongly indicated that the present condition of the heart had nothing to do with the original injury. The fact that the condition of the employee’s heart was the same as it would have been if he had not incurred the injury would not bar an award of further compensation if the employee proved that the present condition was due to the aggravation caused by’ the injury, Duprey’s Case, 219 Mass. 189, 193, but the fact that the present heart condition might have developed to its present extent through natural causes alone called for careful consideration of the evidence, which in this aspect consisted chiefly of medical testimony. Whether the heart condition existing at the time of the second proceeding was traceable to the original injury was a question of fact. The single member and the reviewing board were not required to find that the detrimental effect exerted upon the heart by the surgical operations still continued or in some way had contributed to the present heart condition, and there was enough in the testimony to warrant the finding that there was no causal connection between the present condition of the heart and the original injury. That finding must stand. West’s Case, 313 Mass. 146. Amon’s Case, 315 Mass. 210.
It is next contended that the single member was in error in stating that the testimony of the employee’s physician *623would not warrant a finding that there was a causal relation between the heart condition and the injury. It is to be noted that the finding of the absence of such relation was based upon all the evidence. Furthermore, if the employee thought that the point was worth raising, he should have done so before the member or the reviewing board, and it is too late to raise it for the first time in this court. Wnukowski’s Case, 296 Mass. 63. Indrisano’s Case, 307 Mass. 520.
It is finally urged that the loss of the use of his right hand by one whose only occupation was that of a butcher renders him totally and permanently disabled and entitles him to further payment under
The statement of the single member that “I find and rule” (a common formula which “has been interpreted so as to require us to support the decision if warranted upon the evidence,” Flesher v. Handler, 303 Mass. 482, 483, and imports “that such conclusion is permissible as matter of law and is found as matter of fact,” Roney’s Case, 316 Mass. 732, 734) that the disability is not total and permanent was a finding of fact and not a ruling of law. This finding is not lacking in support from the testimony and in accordance with the general principle cannot be reversed. McGowan’s Case, 288 Mass. 441. Mozetski’s Case, 299 Mass. 370.
Decree affirmed.