Forsyth v. RoweForsyth v. Rowe
- Reporters:
- , ,
- Before:
- Norcott
The dispositive issue in this appeal is whether a trust established for the benefit of the plaintiffs ward, Gregory Forsyth, and funded with the proceeds from the settlement of a suit brought on his behalf to recover damages for injuries he sustained in an automobile accident is a “medicaid qualifying trust”1 under
The material facts are not in dispute. On August 26, 1988, Gregory Forsyth, who was twenty-four years old, sustained injuries as a result of a motor vehicle accident that left him unable to care for himself or to man
On August 13, 1990, the plaintiff, acting on behalf of Gregory, entered into a settlement agreement with State Farm whereby State Farm would pay $300,000, minus attorney’s fees, into the Gregory L. Forsyth Trust (trust) in return for the release of the plaintiff’s tort claim. At the recommendation of both the plaintiff and Gregory’s guardian ad litem, a trust agreement was executed on August 24, 1990,5 and State Farm, after approval of the settlement and trust agreements by the Probate Court, transferred approximately $195,000 into the trust.
The plaintiff6 subsequently applied to the state for medicaid benefits for Gregory. The department rejected the plaintiff’s application because Gregory had assets in excess of the department’s maximum asset limit. The department treated the funds in the trust as available to Gregory and included them in its calculation of his assets.
The plaintiff requested a fair hearing pursuant to
The plaintiff appealed the decision of the fair hearing officer to the trial court.8 The plaintiff claimed that the hearing officer had improperly found that the trust had been established by Gregory. The plaintiff main
In this court, the department contends that Gregory is not eligible for medicaid benefits because the trust assets constitute resources available to him in excess of the department’s resource standard. The department argues that Gregory is both the individual who established the trust and its beneficiary and that the trust, therefore, is a medicaid qualifying trust. The plaintiff, to the contrary, argues that the trust does not fit within the definition of a medicaid qualifying trust because it was established by him as Gregory’s conservator and not by Gregory himself. The plaintiff claims that the plain language of
The federal medicaid program was enacted in 1965 as a cooperative federal-state endeavor designed to provide health care to needy individuals.
“ ‘As originally enacted [the] Medicaid [Act] required participating States to provide medical assistance to “categorically needy” individuals who received cash payments under one of four welfare programs established elsewhere in the Act. . . . The categorically needy were persons whom Congress considered especially deserving of public assistance because of family circumstances, age, or disability. States, if they wished, were permitted to offer assistance also to the “medically needy”—persons lacking the ability to pay for medical expenses, but with incomes [or resources] too large to qualify for categorical assistance.’ Schweiker v. Gray Panthers, 453 U.S. 34, 37, 101 S. Ct. 2633, 69 L. Ed. 2d 460 (1981).” Id. Connecticut has chosen to cover the medically needy.
The Medicaid Act requires that participating states determine financial need by setting a resource standard that must be met before assistance can be provided.
“[A] ‘medicaid qualifying trust’ is a trust, or similar legal device, established (other than by will) by an individual (or an individual’s spouse) under which the individual may be the beneficiary of all or part of the payments from the trust and the distribution of such payments is determined by one or more trustees who are permitted to exercise any discretion with respect to the distribution to the individual.” (Emphasis added.)
Neither party disputes that Gregory, who, through the plaintiff, applied for medicaid benefits as a medically needy individual, is a beneficiary of the trust. A
A trust is established by the person who provides the consideration for the trust even though in form it is created by someone else. Matter of Brooks, 844 F.2d 258, 263 (5th Cir. 1988); Lehman v. Commissioner of Internal Revenue, 109 F.2d 99, 100 (2d Cir. 1940); Stewart v. Merchants National Bank of Aurora, 3 Ill. App. 3d 337, 338, 278 N.E.2d 10 (1972); Guaranty Trust Co. v. New York Trust Co., 297 N.Y. 45, 50, 74 N.E.2d 232, 36 N.Y.S.2d 443 (1947). This is true even where an individual provides consideration for the funding of a trust by another. See Mahoney v. United States, 831 F.2d 641, 648-49 (6th Cir. 1987). The trust in this case was funded with the proceeds from the settlement of the personal injury claim brought by the plaintiff solely on Gregory’s behalf. Gregory provided the funds with which the trust was established when, through the plaintiff, his claim was settled in return for a payment to the trust.11 Gregory, therefore, is the individual who established the trust.
The plaintiff would have us read
Our conclusion reflects the legislative concern that the medicaid program not be used as an estate planning tool. The medicaid program would be at fiscal risk if individuals were permitted to preserve assets for their heirs while receiving medicaid benefits from the state. Congress enacted the medicaid qualifying trust provision as an addition to the “provisions designed to
Our holding that a trust established by the person who furnishes the consideration is a medicaid qualifying trust for purposes of
The determination of Gregory’s eligibility does not, however, end with our conclusion that the trust is a medicaid qualifying trust. The trust assets are considered available to Gregory up to the maximum amount of payments that the trustee could disburse if he exercised his full discretion under the terms of the trust whether the distributions are actually made.
The judgment is reversed and the case is remanded to the trial court for further proceedings consistent with this opinion.
In this opinion the other justices concurred.
Notes
Contrary to what the term implies, a finding of a “medicaid qualifying trust” makes one ineligible for medicaid benefits. The term refers to a trust that is deemed to have been created in order to qualify for medicaid benefits and, for policy reasons, is considered an available asset to an applicant.
Title 42 of the United States Code
“(1) In the case of a medicaid qualifying trust (described in paragraph [2]), the amounts from the trust deemed available to a grantor, for purposes of subsection (a) (17) of this section, is the maximum amount of payments that may be permitted under the terms of the trust to be distributed to the grantor, assuming the full exercise of discretion by the trustee or trustees for the distribution of the maximum amount to the grantor. For purposes of the previous sentence, the term ‘grantor’ means the individual referred to in paragraph (2).
“(2) For purposes of this subsection, a ‘medicaid qualifying trust’ is a trust, or similar legal device, established (other than by will) by an individual (or an individual’s spouse) under which the individual may be the beneficiary of all or part of the payments from the trust and the distribution of such payments is determined by one or more trustees who are permitted to exercise any discretion with respect to the distribution to the individual. . . .”
Throughout this opinion Lynn Forsyth will be referred to as the plaintiff when acting in his capacity as conservator. Gregory Forsyth will be referred to by name.
State Farm was the insurer of the driver of the car with which Gregory had collided.
The corpus and income of the trust are managed by a corporate trustee. Disbursements are made at the direction and discretion of a separate trust advisory committee consisting of three persons including the plaintiff. The agreement provides that the trust is intended to provide supplemental health care for Gregory.
All the actions of the plaintiff were taken on behalf of Gregory.
The plaintiff appealed the decision of the fair hearing officer pursuant to
“1. the trust was established by the individual or individual’s spouse other than by means of a will; and
“2. the individual is the beneficiary of the trust; and
“3. the trustee is able to distribute the funds to the individual at the trustee’s discretion. This is true even if:
“a. the trust is irrevocable; and
“b. the trustee does not exercise his or her discretion.” (Emphasis added.)
The settlement agreement provided in relevant part: “I, Lynn Forsyth, Conservator of Gregory L. Forsyth, on behalf of said, Gregory L. Forsyth, his heirs and assigns, hereby release and forever discharge Martha Wells, as driver, and State Farm Insurance Company, as insurer, and all heirs, successors and assigns of said releasees from all claims, damages, actions, or causes of action on account of damage to property, bodily injury or consequential damages and present and future medical expenses resulting from an automobile collision which occurred on or about August 26, 1988, on Route ST-116, in North Salem, New York.
“The consideration for this release is as follows:
“No payments will be made to Gregory L. Forsyth or to Lynn Forsyth as his Conservator, but the Company will pay to the Gregory L. Forsyth Trust the sum of Three Hundred Thousand and 00/100 ($300,000.00) Dollars upon the delivery to it of this Agreement, properly executed.” (Emphasis added.)
In support of his argument, the plaintiff urges that we adopt the reasoning of two cases decided in other jurisdictions holding that trusts created by a conservator and a probate court on behalf of incompetent beneficiaries were not medicaid qualifying trusts. Both cases are distinguishable on their facts and we decline to follow their reasoning.
In Kegel v. State, 113 N.M. 646, 830 P.2d 563 (N.M. App. 1992), the trust created by the conservator was funded with the proceeds from settlement of a suit in which both the beneficiary, a minor child, and his parents each were named separately as plaintiffs each on their own behalf. The New Mexico Appellate Court found that there was nothing in the record indicating that the beneficiary was “entitled to any particular portion of the proceeds” from the settlement. Id., 567. The court then held that the trust had multiple grantors and that there was insufficient evidence in the record to determine that the beneficiary was the grantor of the trust. Id., 567-68. In the present case, Gregory, represented by the plaintiff, was the only plaintiff named in the suit that yielded the funds for the trust. Furthermore, there is no evidence in the record showing that anyone else might have had a claim to those funds. In Miller v. Ibarra, 746 F. Sup. 19 (D. Colo. 1990), four trusts created by the probate court for the benefit of four elderly incompetents were all funded by income streams that were insufficient to pay for the beneficiaries’ medical expenses, but were in excess of the eligibility requirements for Colorado medicaid benefits. Id., 20. Each of the trusts designated the Colorado department of social services as the residual beneficiary. Id., 32. The Colorado District Court stated that the Congressional purpose for prohibiting medicaid qualifying trusts is “to prevent wealthy individuals, otherwise ineligible for medicaid benefits, from making themselves eligible by creating irrevocable trusts in order to preserve assets for their heirs.” Id., 34. Noting that the designation of a public agency as residual beneficiary, rather than private heirs, removed any conflict with the purpose behind medicaid eligibility rules, the court held that the trusts were not medicaid qualifying trusts. Id. In the present case, the trust is sufficient to cover Gregory’s current expenses and once its funds are depleted he will become eligible for medicaid funds. More importantly, the trust is directly contrary to the above stated Congressional purpose in that Gregory’s heirs are the residual beneficiaries of the trust. See footnote 13.
The trust agreement provides in relevant part: “Upon the death of GREGORY L. FORSYTH, any assets remaining in the Trust estate shall be distributed by the Trustee for the benefit of the surviving heirs of GREGORY L. FORSYTH
The department also argued, both in the trial court and in this court, that the trust assets are available to Gregory because the trust is a nullity. The department contends that the plaintiff lacked the authority, the Probate Court lacked the power and Gregory lacked the capacity to create a trust with the settlement proceeds. The trial court never addressed these issues and, therefore, we decline to address them today.