Elks v. ConnElks v. Conn
- Reporters:
- Before:
- Preston
The petition, filed May 29, 1916, alleged the relationship of employer and employee between plaintiff and defendant, at the time plaintiff was injured, February 11, 1916, and charged defendant with negligence in furnishing plaintiff fuse, used by plaintiff in blasting, which fuse was inferior, old, and defective; that plaintiff was free from contributory negligence; that, as a result of the explosion, both of plaintiff’s eyes were blown out, and his sight destroyed, his face wounded and disfigured, his leg broken, and other injuries sustained. It was further alleged that defendant failed to comply with the provisions of Chapter 8-A, Title XII, of the Supplement to the Code, *501913, in respect to employers’ liability and workmen’s compensation, and failed and neglected to insure liis liability, as by Section 2477-mál is required; and that thereby the said defendant rejected the provisions of said act. The answer denies any negligence, and specifically denies that he rejected the terms and provisions of the Compensation Act; and says that he never served or caused to be served on any person, or posted any notice, with any view or intention of rejecting the terms thereof; that he never did any act to indicate that he intended to reject the terms thereof. It also pleads that the injury of plaintiff was due to contributory negligence of plaintiff, and that plaintiff assumed the risk. At the close of the evidence, the court submitted the questions of fact raised by the issues to the jury. No exceptions were taken to the instructions by either party. The court also submitted special interrogatories. The jury found that plaintiff was in the employ’ of defendant, and that defendant was guilty of negligence, and, by a general verdict, assessed damages in t-he sum of $4,500. The motion in’ arrest, so far as it is now material, is as follows:
“2. Because the petition of the plaintiff fails to state a cause of action against the defendant which is recognizable in a court of law in this: that it fails to show or state what acts or omissions of the defendant worked a rejection of the Workmen’s Compensation Act, and states only that the defendant rejected the terms of the said act by reason of not taking out Workmen’s Compensation insurance, which act is not a rejection of the act.”
*51
It is admitted in the record that defendant did not*»” comply with the two sections before named, and that no such insurance was taken out, and that he was not relieved by the insurance department and the industrial commissioner from the taking out of such insurance under the provisions of the last-named section. Section 2477-m, Code Supplement,’ 1913, provides substantially, without quoting the entire statute, that, except as by this act otherwise provided, it shall be conclusively presumed that every employer, as defined by this act, has elected to provide, secure, and pay compensation, according to the terms, conditions, and provisions of this act, for any and all personal injuries sustained by an employee, arising out of and in the course of the employment; and in such cases, the employer shall be relieved from other liability and levy of damages, or other compensation for such personal injury. Then follows the provision that an employer electing to reject the terms is deprived of certain defenses, and that negligence is presumed, and further:
*52“Every such employer shall be conclusively presumed to have elected to provide, secure and pay compensation to employees for injuries sustained arising out of and in the course of the employment according to the provisions of this act, unless and until notice in writing of an election to the contrary shall have been given to the employees by posting the same in some conspicuous place at the place where the business is carried on.”
Section 2477-mál, Code Supplement, 1913, provides:
“Every employer, subject to the provisions of this act, shall insure his liability thereunder in some corporation, association or organization approved by the state department of insurance. Every such employer shall within thirty days after this act go.es into effect exhibit on demand oil the state insurance department evidence of his compliance with this section; and if such employer refuses, or neglects to comply with this section, he shall be liable in case of injury to any workman in his employ tmder Part I of tMs act.”
The thirty-seventh general assembly, after plaintiff was injured, and after the bringing of this suit, by Section 20, Chapter 270, amended the last-named section by striking out the words, “Part I of this act,” at the end of the section, and inserting the following:
“The common law as modified by statute, and in the same manner and to the same extent as though such employer had legally exercised his right to reject the compensation provisions of Chapter 8-A, Title XII, Supplement to the Code, 1913.”
*53
“While a legislative construction of an act is entitled to due consideration from the courts, it is by no means binding; and whenever it appears that the so-called construing act may have been passed simply for the purpose of removing doubt from previous acts, the courts should so consider it. And such was, in our judgment, the purpose of the chapter.”
Code Section 3446 provides:
“The rule of the common law, that statutes in derogation thereof are to be strictly construed, has no application to this Code. Its provisions and all proceedings under it shall be liberally construed with a view to promote its objects and assist the parties in obtaining justice.”
Section 2477-m2 of the Compensation Act is:
Such a state of affairs as given in the illustration is not improbable. We think it could not have been the intent of the legislature to enact a law which was intended for the benefit of the employee and society in general, which would place an employee in such a situation. In the case of Bayon v. Beckley, 89 Conn. 154 (93 Atl. 139, 8 Neg. & Com. Cases, 588), while the language of the Connecticut statute is not *58identical with our own, yet the essential features are quite the same. In that case, it was held that both parties had accepted the Compensation Law, because neither party had expressly rejected it or withdrawn from it. The plaintiff was injured while iri the course of his employment, and it was then discovered that the defendant had failed to comply with the provisions of Section 30 of Part B of the act (Chapter 138, Public Acts, 1913). That’ section reads as follows:
“Every employer subject to Part B, who shall not furnish to the commissioner satisfactory proof of his solvency and financial ability to pay directly to injured employees or other beneficiaries, the compensation provided by this act, shall insure his full liability under Part B.”
Section 42 of the Connecticut act reads:
“Any employer who has accepted Part B of this act and who thereafter fails to conform to any of the provisions of Section 30 of Part B shall thereby forfeit all benefits thereunder and shall be liable as if he had not accepted the same.”
If the provisions of the Iowa statute, Section 2477-m41, had been worded the same as Section 42 of the Connecticut act, just quoted, there could be little doubt that the failure on the part of Conn either to insure or to be relieved thereby upon a showing to the commissioner would have operated the same as though he had not presumably accepted the act.
In the Bayon case, the defendant claimed that defendant was, therefore, properly presumed to have accepted Part B, because neither he nor the plaintiff had refused to accept it, and that he thereby incurred no liability to compensate the plaintiff for any injury under Part B, for the reason that he failed to comply with the provisions of Section 30, and that, if liable to her at all for her injuries, it was only in an action at law. The court said:
*59“These claims present two questions of law for our decision * * * second * * * does a failure to comply with the provisions of Section 30, of Part B, deprive not only them, but also their employees, of the benefits of its provisions?”
Discussing the second question in the case, which is similar to that before us, the court said:
“The chief benefit accruing to an employer from his acceptance of Part B is that he is thereby relieved from liability to any action for damages on account of personal injuries to his employees. If he had not accepted Part B, he would be liable for such injuries according to the rule of the common law, as modified by Part A. When, therefore, Section 42 provides that he shall forfeit all benefits under Part B, and be liable as if he had not accepted the same, the literal meaning of the language is that his failure to comply with the provisions of Section 30 deprives bim of the right to exemption from liability at common law for injuries to his employees arising out of their employment, and renders him liable to such actions, as modified by Part A. This is his situation when he refuses to accept Part B, or, having accepted it, withdraws his acceptance. It is also the situation when the employee refuses to accept Part B, or, having accepted, withdraws his acceptance; for the employer in such case, although he still adheres to his acceptance of Part B, is relegated to- his common-law rights. The effect of Section 42 clearly is to render the employer who does not comply with Paragraph 30 liable as he would be had he not accepted Part B; but it does not follow that he is also relieved from liability under Part B to compensate his employee for injuries for which the latter could not recover at common law. While providing that the employer’s noncompliance with Section 30 results in a forfeiture of all his benefits under Part B, Section 42 does not, in terms, say that the employee loses all his rights and *60benefits under Part B. Nothing is said as to its effect upon the employee; but, by making the employer liable as if he had not accepted the act, it necessarily restores to the employee his common-law right of action, as modified by Part A, against the employer. This is the clear implication from the language. If Part B gave compensation only for personal injuries for which a’ common-law action would lie, it would be entirely clear that the intention was, by Section 42, to make neglect to comply with Section 30 relegate both parties to their common-law rights. But the chief inducement to the employee to -accept Part B unquestionably is the fact that he thereby secures compensation for injuries for which the common law gives him no remedy. It is too unreasonable to believe that the legislature intended that the employer, after having accepted Part B, should be able to deprive the employee of these benefits without notice, by simply neglecting to comply with the provisions of the act which he had accepted. It is consistent with the language of Section 42 to hold that failure by the employer to comply with Section 30 deprives the employer of his benefits under Part B, but does not deprive the employee of his benefits under it; and that the latter, in such case, may claim compensation under the act, or, in a case when the common law gives a remedy, may have this action at common law, as modified by Part A.”
The construction given by the trial court, it seems to us, nullifies Sections 2477-m41 and 2477-m49. An employer, by doing nothing, would be presumed to have accepted the act. After having accepted the act by presumption, if he failed to comply with the requirements of the first of the two sections just referred to, no consequences would follow, and no rights be forfeited; and thus these sections would be of no force. Under the construction contended for by appellant, if the employer, by presumption, accepted the act, then he would be compelled to comply with all the *61provisions of the act, including the taking out of insurance to protect his losses; and a failure on his part to obey the law with reference to insurance would deprive him of the benefits of the act.
For the reasons given, we think the trial court was in error in sustaining the motion in arrest of judgment. The cause is reversed and remanded, with directions to overrule the motion and enter judgment against the defendant for the amount of the verdict, and as of the date when the verdict was returned. — Reversed and remanded.
Ladd, C. J., Weaver, Gaynor, and Salinger, JJ., concur.