Daoud v. MatzDaoud v. Matz
- Reporters:
- ,
- Before:
- Sebring
This proceeding involves a controversy between an employee and his employer, under the Workmen‘s Compensation Law,
The record reflects that on August 25, 1953, the employee Matz, in a proceeding before a deputy commissioner of the Florida Industrial Commission, received an award for injuries sustained on January 6, 1953, while in the employment of George J. Daoud and Maud Daoud, doing business as Daoud Brothers. This award consisted of three items, namely: compensation payments for disability from the date of the accident; medical expenses incurred in connection therewith; and attorney‘s fees in the sum of $1,500. No appeal from this award was taken by the employer to the Florida Industrial Commission.
On October 9, 1953, the employee Matz filed in the Circuit Court of Dade County, pursuant to section 7, Chapter 28241, Laws of Florida 1953,
The employer made no return to the order to show cause and, consequently, on October 28, 1953, the circuit court entered a judgment against the employer that the employee do have and recover of and from the employer “(1) Workmen‘s Compensation at the rate of $35.00 weekly commencing January 6, 1953, less the 4-day waiting period, to date in the amount of $1,435.00, (2) Medical expenditures in the amount of $12,625.07, (3) Attorney‘s fees in the amount of $1,500.00. The total amount
Subsequently, on December 11, 1953, the employer filed a sworn “Petition to Satisfy Judgment and For other Relief” in which it was alleged “* * * that since the time of the accident, by reason of which said claim was filed * * * which resulted in the award * * * and which subsequently became a judgment * * * Petitioner has paid to said Employee on account of said award in said judgment the aggregate sum of * * * $5,972.65. * * * that all of said payments [which were made after the accident but prior to the entry of the award] * * * were made on account of said award to apply on account thereof and, therefore, to apply on account of the judgment entered. * * * that said Employer is now able and ready to pay the balance of said judgment in the aggregate sum of * * * $9,587.42, together with $12.50 filing costs pertaining to said judgment, and herewith tenders the amount of said balance. All for the purpose of satisfying said award and judgment in full.”
The matter came on for hearing on the sworn petition on December 22, 1953, at which time, without the taking of testimony, the circuit court denied the petition, but ordered “that the judgment heretofore entered herein be and the same may be reduced in amount to the extent of * * * $630.00, being * * * 18 weeks compensation at * * * $35.00 per week, which sum was heretofore paid by the said employer.”
The employer, on December 22, 1953, took an appeal to this Court from this order.
After the appeal was taken the employee, on December 31, 1953, filed a “Motion For Order to Show Cause” in the Circuit Court of Dade County in which he alleged that in the compensation award entered by the deputy commissioner on August 25, 1953, it was ordered that the employer should “Provide such surety as may be required by Chapter 440.20(9), F.S.A., to the Treasurer of the State of Florida to assure the payment of such further compensation and medical benefits as the same arise;” that the employer had failed to comply with said order; and that a rule should be directed to the employer to show cause “why a writ of execution, or such other process as may be necessary to enforce the terms of the final compensation order * * * should not issue. * * *”
The cause came on for hearing before the circuit court on February 15, 1954, at which time the court entered an order that the employee Matz do have and recover of and from the employer “(1) Workmen‘s Compensation from October 28, 1953 [this date being the date of the entry of the order on the first motion for rule to show cause] to January 10, 1954, in the amount of $370.00; (2) Compensation of 15 per cent permanent partial of the left arm and 20 per cent permanent partial of the body as a whole, being 100 weeks at $35.00 or $3,500.00; (3) Medical, hospital and doctors’ bills to date in the sum of $1,973.33; (4) Attorney‘s fees to date * * * in the amount of $700.00. The total amount being $6,543.33, for which let execution issue.”
On February 22, 1954, the employer took an appeal to this Court from this order.
After the second appeal had been taken, the parties stipulated that the appeals should be consolidated for disposition; and on April 12, 1954, a motion to dismiss both appeals was disposed of by an order of this Court providing that “it appears to the Court that the orders or decrees complained of cannot be properly reviewed by appeal but may be reviewed by Petition for Writ of Certiorari,” and further providing “that the notices of appeal heretofore filed herein be treated as a Certiorari proceeding and allowed to proceed accordingly.”
The matter is now before the Court for final disposition as a certiorari proceeding.
As to the order of February 15, 1954, brought here for review by the second appeal, we have the view that, so far as shown by the record, the circuit court did not violate any “essential requirement
The order that was brought here for review by the appeal of December 22, 1953, was, as we have indicated, supplemental to a judgment entered on October 28, 1953, in the amount of $15,560.07, representing forty-one weeks’ compensation at the rate of $35 per week, totaling $1,435, together with $12,625.07 for medical expenditures. The employer alleged in its sworn petition filed December 11, 1953, that from the date of the accident through May 9, 1953, a period of nineteen weeks, it had paid to the claimant employee the sum of $314.35 each week “on account of said award to apply on account thereof and, therefore, to apply on account of the judgment * *.” The employer claimed a credit of $5,972.65, the sum of monies so paid, against the award and judgment, and tendered the balance of $9,587.42 and costs with its petition.
The employee did not controvert the allegations that the sums specified were in fact paid him, but contends that as a matter of law they must be considered as gratuities. Apparently he convinced the trial court of the soundness of his contention, at least in part, for the order of the trial court was “that said petition be and the same is hereby denied,” but “that the judgment heretofore entered herein be * * * reduced in amount to the extent of * * * $630.00,” representing maximum weekly compensation payments for each week of the 18-week period over which the employer‘s advance payments extended, less one payment made during the statutory 4-day waiting period after the date of injury.
As we view the effect of the circuit court‘s ruling, it was to refuse, as a matter of law, to allow application of the advance payments in satisfaction of the $35 a week compensation accruing from May 9, 1953 (the date upon which the employer made his last payment to the employee) through the date of the judgment of October 28, 1953, and to disallow any credit for previous payment of medical benefits adjudicated in the sum of $12,625.07.
The limitation inherent in the above provision for reimbursement from “unpaid” installments of compensation is that an employee shall not be required to relinquish compensation installments paid over to him. This aspect of the statute has been implemented by an officially published administrative rule of the Industrial Commission (of which notice may be taken) which provides, in effect, that whenever the total payments made by an employer to an employee, prior to entry of an award for disability compensation and medical attendance, are in excess of the amount ultimately found to be due such employee, such excess shall be considered a gratuity.
The clear and literal meaning of
Of primary importance in this situation, where an employer has made payments to an employee prior to an award, is, we think, the question of whether such payments were intended to be in fulfillment of the legal obligation of the employer to pay compensation to a disabled employee or whether they were intended as gratuitous payments in addition to what might be ultimately found due under the law. In respect to credit for continuing payments in the nature of salary to a disabled employee, it has been said, and with this principle we agree, that “if he is paid his regular wage although he does no work at all, it is a reasonable inference that the allowance is in lieu of compensation. An occasional court will say that such a payment is to be deemed a gratuity, but this, in the absence of special facts indicating a charitable motive is unrealistic.” Larson‘s Workmen‘s Compensation Law, 1952, Vol. 2, section 57.42; Tulsa Rolling Mills Co. v. Krejci, 149 Okla. 103, 299 P. 225. See also Modern Equipment Co. v. Industrial Comm., 247 Wis. 517, 20 N.W.2d 121; Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co. v. Hay, 159 Tenn. 202, 17 S.W.2d 904.
In view of the conclusions reached as to the intendment of
The sworn petition filed by the employer on October 28, 1953, also presented a factual issue as to whether any portion of the monies paid to the employee prior to the entry of the compensation order by the deputy commissioner was intended to be applied, and was actually applied, in satisfaction of the employer‘s obligation to furnish medical benefits pursuant to
At any rate the factual issues should have been determined by the judge of the trial court, and when he failed to do so but, instead, entered an order without evidence on the issues a departure from the essential requirements of law resulted.
From the conclusion reached it follows that as to the order of October 28, 1953, the writ of certiorari should be granted and said order should be quashed with directions that the cause proceed below in conformance with the principles expressed in this opinion.
It is so ordered.
ROBERTS, C.J., and TERRELL and MATHEWS, JJ., concur.