Borst v. Chevron Corp.Borst v. Chevron Corp.
- Reporters:
- ,
- Before:
- Politz, Garwood, Davis
( October 21, 1994 )
Before POLITZ, Chief Judge, GARWOOD and DAVIS, Circuit Judges.
GARWOOD, Circuit Judge:
This class action, brought under the
Both parties appeal portions of the district court‘s decision, In re Gulf Pension Litigation, 764 F.Supp. 1149 (S.D. Tex. 1991). Since oral argument before this court, the parties have settled those portions of the district court‘s rulings which were the subject of Chevron‘s appeal. Our primary concern is whether the plaintiffs are entitled to the surplus assets in the Gulf Plan upon a partial or full termination of the Plan.1 We conclude they are not.
Factual Background
We begin with a brief excursion into the history of the Gulf Plan, and the effect on it of
In 1975, Gulf created the Gulf Plan by amending the three former plans to provide for central administration of the plans.4 Although the Gulf Plan was governed by a single trust agreement beginning in 1979, the trust funds for each plan remained separate, and the benefits under each continued to be calculated independently. The Gulf Plan continued under this arrangement until July 1986, when it was amended to become part of the Chevron Plan, an employer funded defined benefit plan.
In January 1984, Gulf learned that a group led by T. Boone Pickens planned a hostile takeover of the company. Gulf sought protection from the takeover attempt by soliciting a friendly merger with Chevron. The two companies signed a merger agreement in March 1984. During a subsequent two-year interim period the two companies operated independently under a standstill agreement while the Federal Trade Commission and Chevron-Gulf integration teams determined how to complete the merger.
On July 1, 1986, the assets of the Gulf Plan were commingled with those of the 1933 Chevron Corporation Annuity Plan to create the Chevron Plan. At the same time, defendants amended the Gulf Plan to become a supplement to the Chevron Plan. As a result of this amendment, the Gulf Plan became subject to section 18.d of the Chevron Plan, which expressly provided for the reversion of surplus assets to Chevron upon termination of the merged Plan.
In early 1986, participants in the Gulf Plan who had been terminated due to the merger with Chevron, sought confirmation from Chevron that a partial termination of the Plan had occurred, entitling them to benefits under the Plan. These former Gulf employees asked Chevron to allocate and distribute to them their share of the Plan funds, including surplus assets, as though there had been a full termination. Chevron refused both requests.
Proceedings Below
Plaintiffs, Dean Borst, et al., brought the present action in November 1986 in the United States District Court for the Southern District of Texas. Shortly thereafter, in April 1987, plaintiffs Harry Back, et al., filed a similar suit in the United States District Court for the Western District of Pennsylvania. On the defendants’ motion, the Back lawsuit was transferred to Texas and consolidated with the Borst action. On February 26, 1990, the district court certified the consolidated suit as a class action pursuant to
In their lawsuit, plaintiffs sought reimbursement to the Gulf Plan for claimed losses to the Plan as a result of alleged violations of fiduciary duties by Gulf and Chevron.5 They also alleged that Chevron, during merger negotiations, misrepresented that it would, upon merger of the pension plans, set aside portions of the Gulf Plan assets to establish a reserve for then-existing retiree pensions. Furthermore, they asserted that a partial termination of the Gulf Plan had occurred, entitling them to their share of Plan funds as well as to a pro rata share of the surplus assets of the Gulf Plan.
Following a bench trial, the district court determined that Gulf and Chevron had breached certain fiduciary duties owed to plaintiffs and ordered reimbursement to the Gulf Plan accordingly. The court also agreed with the plaintiffs that a partial termination of the Gulf Plan had occurred as a result of the merger with Chevron. It found that those plaintiffs who were participants in
Chevron appealed, and plaintiffs cross-appealed. Of the variety of issues raised before the district court, most were settled during and after trial or during the pendency of this appeal. We consider here, inter alia, whether the plaintiffs are entitled to a pro rata share of the surplus assets of the A&B Plan.7
Discussion
I. Partial Termination of Gulf Plan
Plaintiffs contend that a partial termination of the Gulf Plan occurred during the interim period between March 1984, when Gulf and Chevron signed the corporate merger agreement, and July 1986, when the two pension plans were finally merged. Accordingly, they argue, this partial termination entitled them to a pro rata share of the surplus assets in that Plan.8
The district court agreed with the plaintiffs that a partial termination had occurred. It concluded that both vertical and horizontal partial terminations of the Gulf Plan occurred during the interim period between March 1984 and July 1986.9 The court determined,
Chevron had urged us to vacate the district court‘s ruling that the A&B Plan had partially terminated as unnecessary to the portions of its judgment still in issue because neither ERISA nor the language of the Gulf Plan required distribution of surplus assets to the plaintiffs in the event of either a partial or full termination of the Plan.10 As discussed below, we conclude that the plaintiffs were not entitled to surplus assets under the A&B Plan whether or not a partial termination, vertical or horizontal, occurred.11
II. Entitlement to Surplus
Plaintiffs assert that they are entitled to a pro rata share of the surplus assets in the A&B portion of the Gulf Plan. They argue that ERISA prohibits reversion of any plan assets unless the plan language contains an explicit reversion provision. Plaintiffs rely upon ERISA section 403(c)(1), a part of section 403 which is entitled “Establishment of Trust.” Section 403(c)(1) directs that “the assets of a plan shall never inure to the
“(1) Subject to paragraph (3) [addressing distributions of plans containing employee contributions], any residual assets of a single-employer plan may be distributed to the employer ifSQ
“(A) all liabilities of the plan to participants and their beneficiaries have been satisfied,
“(B) the distribution does not contravene any provision of law, and
“(C) the plan provides for such a distribution in these circumstances.”
29 U.S.C. § 1344(d)(1) (emphasis added).12
In contrast, section 4044(d)(3)(A) provides that “[b]efore any distribution from a plan pursuant to paragraph (1) [above quoted], if any assets of the plan attributable to employee contributions remain after satisfaction of all labilities . . . such remaining assets shall be equitably distributed to the participants who made such contributions or their beneficiaries . . . .” (emphasis added).
Plaintiffs also seek support for their claim in the common law of trusts. Their premise for this argument is that, because pension benefits are a source of additional compensation for employees, the pension trust is not a gratuitous trust. Ball v. Victor Adding Machine Co., 236 F.2d 170, 173 (5th Cir. 1956). Indeed, under common law, where surplus assets remained at termination of a trust established for consideration, a resulting trust of the surplus arose in favor of the person furnishing the consideration. RESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF TRUSTS § 434 (1959). However, although plaintiffs have rendered consideration to Gulf in the form of their services, this is not the situation envisioned by section 434. A trust established for consideration, in the context of that section, is one in which the owner of the property transfers it upon a trust to certain beneficiaries and receives consideration for the transfer from a third party, not from the beneficiaries themselves.
Further, while specified pension benefits in an employer funded defined benefit plan may be viewed as compensation for services rendered, an employer is not required by law to provide such benefits and if it undertakes to do so it is not required to do more than pay, or provide for payment of, those particular benefits. See Malia v. General Electric Co., 23 F.3d 828, 832 (3d Cir. 1994) (“‘A defined benefit plan gives current and former employees property interests in their pension benefits but not in the assets held by the trust.‘“). An entirely employer funded defined benefit plan pension trust is therefore more akin to a gratuitous trust so far as concerns surplus assets, as to which ERISA so markedly distinguishes between those attributable to employee contributions and those attributable to employer contributions (thus suggesting that employer contributions are not a form of recontributed wages for such purpose). Where a gratuitous trust is fully performed without exhausting the trust estate, a resulting trust of the surplus is presumed to arise in favor of the settlor. RESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF TRUSTS § 430. This principle has been looked to in holding an employer entitled to surplus assets on termination of an employer funded defined benefit pension plan. See Wilson v. Bluefield Supply Co., 819 F.2d 457, 464 (4th Cir. 1987) (“‘Surplus’ is the term used in the common law of trusts to describe any remaining assets in a trust after its purpose has been fulfilled. Under such circumstances, a `resulting trust’ for the benefit of the creator of the original trust arises by operation of law, unless he manifested a contrary intent“) (citing RESTATEMENT (SECOND)
Plaintiffs claim that the language of the A&B Plan did not contain an explicit reversion provision as they assert is required by section 4044(d)(1),
Consequently, we conclude that plaintiffs’ rights to a pro rata share of residual or surplus assets on partial termination must rest on some provision of the plan itself, and not merely on section 4044(d)(1) or section 411(d)(3). We likewise conclude that unless the plan itself provided for such rights or precluded amendment providing for reversion of surplus to the employer on complete termination, then the partial termination did not of itself prevent such a reversionary amendment thereafter. See Chait, 835 F.2d at 1022 (“we find no authority that holds that a partial termination . . . precludes further plan amendments which do not interfere with the employees’ anticipated and calculated rights under a defined benefit plan“). It is settled that a plan amendment may validly provide for reversion of surplus assets to the employer on final termination of an employer funded defined benefit pension plan. See Outzen v. FDIC, 948 F.2d 1184 (10 Cir. 1991); Wilson, 819 F.2d at 465; Chait. Accordingly, we turn now to the Plan language.
A. Language of the A&B Plan
Plaintiffs base their argument on the language of section 10A-2 of the Plan, which governs the distribution of assets on termination of the Plan, viz:
“Distribution of assets. Upon termination of the Plan the rights of members to the benefits accrued under the Plan to the date of such termination, to the extent then funded, shall be nonforfeitable. All of the assets held in trust, after provision for any properly chargeable expenses, shall be used solely for the members, pensioners, spouses, beneficiaries and joint pensioners until all liabilities under the Plan shall have been satisfied in full. The Benefits Committee shall determine on the basis of an actuarial valuation the share of the funds of the Plan allocable to each member, pensioner, spouse, and joint pensioner in the following order:
[there follows a six-tiered schedule of distribution directives]
. . . .
In the event of a partial termination of the Plan the provisions of this Section 10A-2 shall be applicable to the members affected by such partial termination.16
In no event shall any part of the Plan assets held in trust or any income on it, prior to the satisfaction of all liabilities under the Plan, revert to the Company or be used other than for the members, pensioners, spouses, beneficiaries and joint pensioners.” (emphasis added)
The six-tiered schedule of distribution set forth in section 10A-2 as above indicated does not contain any direction for distribution or allocation of surplus assets. Its allocations are only up to the amount of accrued benefits.
Section One of the 1944 Agreement of Trust of the A&B Plan echoes the language of section 10A.2:
“The Corporation hereby establishes with the Trustee a trust, effective as of January 1, 1944, which shall comprise such payments as shall from time to time be made to the Trustee by or on behalf of the Corporation for the purposes of the Plan . . . . Any and all contributions made by the Corporation shall be irrevocable and no part of the corpus of the Fund nor any income therefrom shall at any time prior to the satisfaction of all liabilities under the Plan revert to the Corporation or be used for or diverted to purposes other than for the exclusive benefit of participants, retired participants or their beneficiaries under the Plan.” (emphasis added)
In particular, plaintiffs rely on the language providing that Gulf‘s contributions to the Plan were to be “irrevocable” and that the funds were to be used “solely for” or “for the exclusive benefit of” the plan participants. Defendants contend that these phrases, and the rights created thereby, are qualified by the phrases “until all liabilities under the Plan shall have been satisfied in full” and “prior to the satisfaction of all liabilities under the Plan.” This language, defendants argue, implies that reversion to the employer is contemplated once all liabilities are satisfied.17
1. Prior to the satisfaction of liabilities
Although section 10A.2 does declare that Plan assets are not to revert to the employer, that language is qualified by the phrase “prior to the satisfaction of all liabilities under the Plan.” Plaintiffs maintain that this phrase creates, at best, an implied reversion; they contend that ERISA section 4044(d)(1) requires an explicit reversion provision, citing Albedyll. However, as noted, section 4044(d)(1) does not apply to partial terminations, and Albedyll was a final, not a partial, termination case. Further, the Albedyll plan contained a section which the court interpreted “to provide for pro rata distribution of plan assets to the participants upon termination.” In addition, an early outline of the plan “clearly indicated that the company could recover none of the contributed assets.”
Other cases, dealing with plans having language more similar to that now before us, but without an express employer reversion provision, have allowed an employer to recapture surplus assets upon termination of the plan. See Outzen v. Fed. Deposit Ins. Corp ex rel. State Examiner of Banks, 948 F.2d 1184, 1186-87 (10th Cir. 1991) (where plan provided funds could not be used other than for the exclusive benefit of participant prior to the satisfaction of all liabilities, court held later amendment adding express reversion provision was valid).
Plaintiffs mount a second attack on the “prior to” phrase of section 10A.2, claiming that it is mere “boilerplate” language required by tax law. The phrase in question was part of section 165(2) of the Revenue Act of 1938, and became section 165(2) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1939. 53 Stat. § 165(2) (1939). It has been carried over into the present Internal Revenue Code.18 Plaintiffs contend that Gulf‘s use of the language in the A&B Plan was mere repetition of the 1938 statute.
In response, Chevron argues that the legislative history of section 165 supports reading the A&B Plan to allow employer reversion. The “prior to” phrase was added to the Revenue Act of 1938 to allow employers to
“if under the trust instrument it is impossible, at any time prior to the satisfaction of all liabilities with respect to employees and their beneficiaries under the trust, for any part of the corpus or income to be . . . used for, or diverted to, purposes other than for the exclusive benefit of his employees or their beneficiaries . . . .”
Act did not require a rote phrase, without meaning or implication. Instead, it offered employers the ability, if desired, to establish a qualified pension plan in which the employer, upon final termination, received the surplus assets.
Based on the foregoing, we hold that in the context of section 10A-2 of the Plan, with its distribution allocation provisions not reaching surplus assets, the phrases “until all liabilities under the Plan shall have been satisfied in full” and “prior to the satisfaction of all liabilities under the Plan” at least implied the right to reversion in Gulf. We consider now whether any other language in the Plan limited or prohibited that right.
2. Irrevocability provision
Plaintiffs assert that the “prior to” language discussed above is inconsistent with the provision that Gulf‘s contributions to the A&B Plan be irrevocable. The Plan has contained the “irrevocable” language since its inception in 1944.20 Chevron claims that the drafters of the Plan were merely parroting references in the tax law as it existed in 1944 when the Plan was created. While the 1939 Internal Revenue Code did not specifically use the term “irrevocable,” it decreed that a trust forming part of a pension plan would not be taxable under the Code
“if under the trust instrument it is impossible, at any time prior to the satisfaction of all liabilities with respect to employees under the trust, for any part of the corpus or income to be . . . used for, or diverted to, purposes other than for the exclusive benefit of his employees.”
Internal Revenue Code, 53 Stat. § 165(2) (1939) .
The essence of this Code provision is that an employer may not revoke, or use for his own purposes, any part of corpus or income of the pension trust. Our reading of this provision, to require an employer‘s contributions to be “irrevocable,” is supported by the immediately succeeding section of the 1939 Code, which governs “Revocable Trusts.”21 Thus, Gulf‘s use of the term “irrevocable” in the A&B Plan is not extraordinary, as plaintiffs contend, but merely a rephrasing of the then-current tax code provision governing pension trusts.
Furthermore, we agree with Chevron that “revocation” and “reversion” are not synonymous terms.
“A power to revest or revoke may in economic fact be the equivalent of a reversion. But at least in the law of estates they are
by no means synonymous. For, generally speaking, the power to revest or to revoke an existing estate is discretionary with the donor; a reversion is the residue left in the grantor on determination of a particular estate.” Helvering v. Wood, 60 S.Ct. 551, 553 (1940).
The full termination of the A&B Plan and the fulfillment of its purpose by payment of accrued benefits to participants do not constitute a revocation of the Plan or of any of Gulf‘s contributions to the Plan. When all liabilities are satisfied, the Plan may terminate, and surplus assets revert to Chevron, without causing a revocation of the Plan.
Because defendants, through the merger, have not caused a revocation of the A&B Plan, the “irrevocable” provision does not determine whether the Plan allowed employer reversion of surplus assets.
3. Exclusive benefit clause
Plaintiffs claim that the A&B Plan could not provide for employer reversion of surplus assets because Gulf‘s contributions to the plan were to be used for the “exclusive benefit” of the plan participants and their beneficiaries. Their argument fails to recognize, however, that the “exclusive benefit” requirements of tax law and ERISA are counterbalanced by provisions allowing employer recapture of surplus assets.
Both tax law and ERISA require the funds of a pension plan be used “for the exclusive benefit of” the plan participants.
Because both the Tax Code and ERISA require exclusive benefit language and contemplate that an employer may recover surplus assets after all plan liabilities are satisfied, the mere existence of the exclusive benefit provision in the A&B Plan cannot prohibit reversion to an employer.
Courts construing pension plans containing this “exclusive benefit” language follow the rule that the phrase does not prohibit reversion
The use of the “exclusive benefit” language in the A&B Plan does not preclude reversion of surplus assets to Gulf.
B. Prohibition of Amendments Decreasing Employee Rights
Plaintiffs extend their argument that the A&B Plan did not allow reversion of surplus assets to the employer, claiming that the language of the Plan also prohibited amendments creating a right of reversion in the employer.23
The amendment provision of the A&B Plan stated as follows:
“The Board of Directors reserves the right at any time and from time to time to modify or to amend, in whole or in part, any or all of the provisions of the Plan, provided that:
“(a) No modification or amendment may be made which will deprive any person of any benefit under the Plan which has accrued on or prior to the time of such modification or amendment, and
“(b) No such modification or amendment shall make it possible for any part of the Trust Fund to be used for, or diverted to, purposes other than for the exclusive benefit of participants and retired participants, or their beneficiaries under the Plan.” (Emphasis added.)
Other courts have held that “exclusive benefit” language in a plan does not, by itself, prevent an employer from amending a plan to allow reversion of surplus assets. In Chait, although the plan contained a provision similar to that in the Gulf Plan, the Third Circuit determined that the language of the plan did not prohibit a reversionary amendment. Chait, 835 F.2d at 1022-26.24 The court held that “a vested employee who has fully received his vested benefits cannot rely on the `exclusive benefit’ language, standing alone, to prevent an amendment reverting surplus plan assets” to the employer. Id. at 1018. See also Outzen v. Federal Deposit Ins. Corp., 948 F.2d at 1186, 1187 (allowing reversion amendment despite exclusive benefit language, stating “[t]he cases which allow reversion as well as those which preclude it all dictate that strong, express prohibitory language is necessary to block employer recapture of surplus pension funds in a defined benefit plan“); Wilson v. Bluefield Supply Co., 819 F.2d at 461-465 (allowing reversion of surplus assets despite “exclusive benefit” language in plan); Washington-Baltimore Newspaper Guild Local 35, 555 F.Supp. at 260-262; In re C. D. Moyer Co. Trust Fund, 441 F.Supp. at 1131-32.
Thus, a defined benefit plan must generally contain language other than the “exclusive benefit” phrase in order to preclude an amendment providing for employer reversion. For example, in Bryant v. Int‘l Fruit Products Co., Inc., 793 F.2d 118, 123 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 107 S.Ct. 576 (1986), the Sixth
“Funds paid into the trust can never be refunded to the Company and are for the exclusive benefit of the employees under the Trust. . . . It is definitely provided that the funds paid into the Trust are for your exclusive benefit and can never, under any circumstances, revert to the Company.” Id. (quoting handbook) (emphasis added).
We conclude that the language of the A&B Plan prohibiting amendments other than for the exclusive benefit of the participants does not, by itself, preclude an amendment expressly allowing reversion to the employer. Furthermore, as discussed above, the language of the Plan impliedly allowed such a reversion.25 The policies underlying ERISA support our conclusion.
“Employers will continue to fund their plans under ERISA guidelines, but will not be penalized for overfunding in `an abundance of caution’ or as a result of a miscalculation on the part of an actuary. Thus, employees will continue to be protected to the extent of their specific benefits, but will not receive any windfalls due to the employer‘s mistake in predicting the amount necessary to keep the Plan on a sound financial basis.” In re C. D. Moyer Co. Trust Fund, 441 F.Supp. at 1132-33.26
Plaintiffs have received their expected benefits. An award of surplus assets, in light of Plan provisions inferentially and now expressly allowing employer reversion, would result in a windfall to the plaintiffs and would encourage defendants to fund the Chevron Plan more cautiously, to the potential detriment of present and future participants and their beneficiaries.
III. Alleged Chevron Misrepresentations Concerning Reserve for Gulf Plan
During the merger negotiations, Chevron‘s chairman stated in a letter to Gulf‘s chairman that, if Chevron decided to combine the pension plans upon merger of the companies, Chevron would set aside assets of the Gulf Plan to provide sufficient reserves for then-existing retiree pensions. Chevron repeated that statement orally and in writing in response to inquiries from persons concerned about the effects of the merger. In their complaint, plaintiffs alleged that Chevron failed to set aside the promised reserves and thus had breached its duty of loyalty under
The district court determined, and plaintiffs concede, that Chevron‘s promises were not contained in a written plan document as required by section 402(a)(1) of ERISA.
Our court has held that an oral agreement cannot sustain a cause of action under ERISA. Cefalu v. B.F. Goodrich Co., 871 F.2d 1290, 1297 (5th Cir. 1989). See also Rodrigue v. Western and Southern Life Ins. Co., 948 F.2d 969, 971-72 (5th Cir. 1991) (holding plaintiff precluded from arguing that employer was estopped from denying coverage based on oral modifications to plan); Degan v. Ford Motor Co., 869 F.2d 889, 895 (5th Cir. 1989) (ERISA precludes oral modifications to plan and as well as claims of promissory estoppel in suit seeking to enforce rights to pension benefits). This reasoning extends to written modifications or promises which are not, and do not purport to be, formal amendments of a plan following the procedures required by section 1102(b)(3). See Alday v. Container Corp. of America, 906 F.2d 660, 665-666 (11th Cir. 1990) (holding that booklet summarizing benefits and pre-retirement letters were insufficiently formal writings and did not amend ERISA plan; interpreting
In any event, the district court determined, and plaintiffs do not here challenge, that plaintiffs did not establish that they relied to their detriment on Chevron‘s promises and, even if they had so relied, that they suffered any injury as a result of any such reliance. Indeed, it is undisputed that the current reserves of the Chevron Plan are more than sufficient, without any additional contributions, to cover the benefits of both existing and future Gulf retirees for a significant time to come.
The district court did not err in holding that plaintiffs’ claims for misrepresentation and breach of ERISA‘s duty of loyalty were not actionable under ERISA or the common law.
IV. Seventh Amendment Right to Jury
Finally, plaintiffs challenge the district court‘s order granting Chevron‘s motion to strike their jury demand. They argue that several of their claims, particularly the claim for distribution of surplus assets, seek a money judgment and thus are legal in nature so as to entitle them to a jury trial.
“To determine whether a particular action will resolve legal rights, we examine both the nature of the issues involved and the remedy sought.” Chauffeurs, Teamsters, and Helpers, Local No. 391 v. Terry, 110 S.Ct. 1339, 1345 (1990). This analysis consists of two inquiries: (1) a comparison of the present statutory action to 18th-century actions in the courts of England before the merger of the courts of law and equity; and (2) an examination of the relief sought to determine whether it is legal or equitable in nature. Id.
Here, the first inquiry is relatively simple, as ERISA law is closely analogous to the law of trusts, an area within the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of equity. Firestone Tire and Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 109 S.Ct. 948, 954 (1989) (“ERISA abounds with the language and terminology of trust law. ERISA‘s legislative history confirms that the Act‘s fiduciary responsibility provisions `codif[y] and make[] applicable to [ERISA] fiduciaries certain principles developed in the evolution of the law of trusts‘“) (internal citations omitted; brackets in original). We have held, as have the majority of the other circuits, that ERISA claims do not entitle a plaintiff to a jury trial. Calamia v. Spivey, 632 F.2d 1235, 1237 (5th Cir. 1980) (inquiry into whether plan administrators acted arbitrarily and capriciously is action usually performed by judges). See also Kirk v. Provident Life and Accident Ins. Co., 942 F.2d 504, 506 (8th Cir. 1991) (summarily rejecting jury trial argument); Blake v. Unionmutual Stock Life Ins. Co., 906 F.2d 1525, 1526 (11th Cir. 1990) (claim for money damages was in effect claim for benefits plaintiffs were allegedly entitled to under the plan, which is “traditionally equitable relief“).
The second inquiry, although not as clear cut, also persuades us that plaintiffs’ claims sound in equity. Some relief sought by plaintiffs is clearly equitable: they sought specific performance as a remedy to cure the alleged breaches of the duty of loyalty stemming from Chevron‘s promises to set aside reserves for Gulf Plan participants.
Plaintiffs’ requests for monetary recovery on other claims, traditionally the form of relief offered in courts of law, do not mandate a conclusion that their action is legal in nature. Calamia, 632 F.2d at 1236-1237 (“The mere fact that the appellant would receive a monetary award if he prevailed does not compel the conclusion that he is entitled to a jury trial“). The Supreme Court has recognized two exceptions to the general rule that a claim seeking monetary recovery is legal in nature. In Terry, the Court made clear that a request for monetary recovery sounds in equity, and thus does not guarantee a jury trial, when it is restitutionary in nature or is intertwined with claims for injunctive relief. Terry, 110 S.Ct. at 1348. The first exception is particularly relevant in this case. Plaintiffs’ request for distribution of surplus assets is analogous to an action for disgorgement of improper profits. In this claim, as well as in the now settled claims for breach of fiduciary duty, plaintiffs seek restitution of money allegedly wrongly held by the defendants.
We hold that plaintiffs’ claim is equitable in nature. The district court did not err in striking plaintiffs’ demand for a jury.29
Conclusion
We conclude that under the circumstances here the partial termination found by the district court of the A&B Plan, an entirely employer funded defined benefit pension plan, neither bestowed on plaintiffs any right to plan assets which were then surplus (after providing for all accrued benefits as required by
AFFIRMED.
Notes
In determining its taxable income for federal income tax purposes, an employer generally may deduct its contributions to a pension plan meeting federal qualifications.“Unlike a defined contribution plan, under which the benefits an employee receives are contingent upon the funds contributed and the investment return on plan assets, in a defined benefit plan the plan itself defines the benefits to be paid. If the employer‘s contribution and investment return are inadequate to fund those benefits, normally the employer must make additional contributions to the plan.” In re Gulf Pension Litigation, 764 F.Supp. at 1161-1162 n. 1.
“(a) Accrued benefit. For purposes of section 411 and the regulations thereunder, the term ‘accrued benefit’ meansSQ
(1) Defined benefit plan. In the case of a defined benefit planSQ
(i) If the plan provides an accrued benefit in the form of an annual benefit commencing at normal retirement age, such accrued benefit, or
(ii) If the plan does not provide an accrued benefit in the form described in subdivision (i) of this subparagraph, an annual benefit commencing at normal retirement age which is the actuarial equivalent (determined under section 411(c)(3) and § 1.411(c)-(5) of the accrued benefit determined under the plan. In general, the term ‘accrued benefits’ refers only to pension or retirement benefits. Consequently, accrued benefits do not include ancillary benefits not directly related to retirement benefits such as payment of medical expenses (or insurance premiums for such expenses), disability benefits not in excess of the qualified disability benefit (see section 411(a)(9) and paragraph (c)(3) of this section), life insurance benefits payable as a lump sum, incidental death benefits, current life insurance protection, or medical benefits described in section 401(h).”
This regulation continues in effect today, without presently relevant substantive change.“The intent and purpose in section 165(a)(2) of the phrase `prior to the satisfaction of all liabilities with respect to employees and their beneficiaries under the trust’ is to permit the employer to reserve the right to recover at the termination of the trust, and only at such termination, such balance in the trust as is due to erroneous actuarial computations during the previous life of the trust. A balance due to an `erroneous actuarial computation’ is the surplus arising because actual requirements differ from the expected requirements based upon previous actuarial valuations of liabilities or determinations of costs of providing pension benefits under the plan in accordance with reasonable assumptions as to mortality, interest, etc., and correct procedures relating to the method of funding, all as made by a careful person skilled in calculating the amounts necessary to satisfy pecuniary obligations of such a nature.” Treasury Regulation § 29.165-2(b) (1942); 26 C.F.R. § 29.165-2(b) (1944 Cumulative Supplement at 6368) (emphasis added).
Section 10 of the 1944 Plan provided:
“In order further to implement the Plan the Corporation has entered into an Agreement of Trust to the end that such funds, as may be irrevocably contributed from time to time for the payment of all or any part of the annuities under the Plan, shall be segregated from the Corporation‘s own assets and held in trust for the exclusive benefit of the participants[.]”
This section, entitled “Revocable Trusts,” provides:
“Where at any time the power to revest in the grantor title to any part of the corpus of the trust is vested . . . in the grantor . . . then the income of such part of the trust shall be included in computing the net income of the grantor.”
53 Stat. § 166 (1939) .
Treasury Regulations in force when the A&B Plan was adopted explain the “exclusive benefit” requirement of section 165 of the 1939 Code:
“Under section 165(a)(2) a trust is not exempt unless under the trust instrument it is impossible . . . for any part of the trust corpus or income to be used for, or diverted to, purposes other than for the exclusive benefit of such employees or their beneficiaries. As used in section 165(a)(2), the phrase `if under the trust instrument it is impossible’ means that the trust instrument must definitely and affirmatively make it impossible for the nonexempt diversion or use to occur, whether by operation or natural termination of the trust, by power of revocation or amendment, by the happening of a contingency, by collateral arrangement, or by any other means. It is not essential that the employer relinquish all power to modify or terminate the rights of certain employees covered by the trust, but it must be impossible for the trust funds to be used or diverted for purposes other than for the exclusive benefit of his employees or their beneficiaries.”
Treasury Regulation § 29.165-2(a) (1942) ;26 C.F.R. § 29.165-2(a) (1944 Cumulative Supplement at 6368) (emphasis added).
This regulation continues in effect today without presently relevant substantive change.
Plaintiffs further assert, in the alternative, that even if the terms of the Plan did allow a reversionary amendment, the amendment of the Gulf Plan at the time of the merger resulting in the Chevron Plan (with its express reversion provision) was ineffective because it occurred after the partial termination of the A&B Plan. We reject this contention for the reasons previously stated.
The plan involved in Chait stated:
“no [amendment to the plan by the employer] shall authorize or permit any part of the funds held under the Plan to be used for or diverted to, purposes other than for the exclusive benefit of the Employees.” Chait, 835 F.2d at 1022 (footnote omitted).
Plaintiffs also rely on the summary plan description of the A&B Plan, required by
This language from In re C. D. Moyer Co. Trust Fund was also quoted with approval in Washington-Baltimore Newspaper Guild Local 35, 555 F.Supp. at 260.
According to the district court‘s opinion, no specific reserves were established. Plaintiffs’ own expert testified, however, that the merged Chevron Plan had surplus assets in excess of accrued benefits of more than $800 million which would not be depleted below the full funding limit for a considerable time. In re Gulf Pension Litigation, 764 F.Supp. at 1213.
Moreover, Chevron‘s statements were not shown to be made in its fiduciary capacity, as to opposed to being statements of intended action in its corporate nonfiduciary capacity as plan sponsor or settlor. See, e.g., Malia, 23 F.3d at 833; Johnson v. Georgia-Pacific Corp, 19 F.3d 1184, 1188 (7th Cir. 1994); Phillips v. Amoco Oil Co., 799 F.2d 1464, 1470-71 (11th Cir. 1986).
Our conclusion is supported by the posture the case is now in, following the settlement of most issues. Further, no issues of fact remain to be decided by a jury.