Berthiaume's Case
- Reporters:
- , ,
- Before:
- Ronan
The employee testified that, while engaged in his regular occupation as a ground man in connection with the operation of a crane, a wire coil weighing more than one hundred pounds slipped out of a bundle of coils which was being raised by the crane and struck him on the head, rendering him unconscious; that he forthwith reported the accident to the employer’s personnel director and, as advised by the latter, went to the physician who had been engaged by the employer to attend employees injured at the plant; that he furnished this physician with the details of the accident; and that the physician applied a bandage to the cut on the back of his head. The employee did not work for a couple of weeks as he had dizzy spells, headaches, and “blackouts,” which caused him to fall and become unconscious. He returned to his employment for a short time and then quit because of his condition. He has not since been employed by anyone.
He has seen various physicians, some to get a pair of eyeglasses that would fit him and others because of dizzy spells and blackouts. He made six visits to the outpatient department of a hospital in January, 1947. In September, 1947, he consulted Dr. Carmody, a neurological surgeon, who sent him to a hospital where he was confined on three occasions and from which he was finally discharged on October 30, 1947. He was operated on at the hospital by Dr. Carmody, who diagnosed his condition as traumatic encephalopathy with associated cortical atrophy.
The claim for compensation was filed on September 8, 1948. It stated that the employee “was injured on or about June of 1941” when a bale of wire dropped from a crane and struck him on the head. It described the nature of the injury in the identical words employed by the neurological surgeon.
The single member found that the employee suffered an injury to chest and ankle in June, 1941, that this injury had no causal connection with the condition for which he was hospitalized in 1947, and that the insurer was prejudiced by lack of notice with reference to a head injury and by
The reviewing board reversed the decision of the single member. It adopted the employee’s version of the accident and the diagnosis of Dr. Carmody. It accepted the opinion of the latter that there was a causal connection between the brain injury from which the employee was suffering and the injury sustained when he was struck in the head by the coil of wire, which it found occurred in July, 1942. It found that notice of the injury was given seasonably by the employee after he had knowledge that the inflammation of the brain and the shrinking of its outer layer had its source in the injury of 1942. It also found that the employee sought and received suitable medical attendance; and that the insurer was not prejudiced by the late filing of the claim. The board found that the employee was entitled to compensation based on total incapacity, which on January 23, 1950, amounted to $4,500, and which it ordered paid.
The employee appealed from a decree of the Superior Court dismissing the claim.
There was great conflict in the evidence as to when the employee received the head injury. The written claim filed by the employee states that it was “on or about June,” 1941. The personnel director and the plant’s physician supported by théir records testified that.the employee was injured in June, 1941, and that his injuries were to his chest and ankle. Both denied that they saw the employee shortly after his alleged head injury of 1942. Both testified that they never knew of any head injury. The employee testified that he sustained a head injury in the fall of 1942, but the payroll records show he finally quit his employment during the week commencing August 1, 1942. The operator of the crane testified that the accident occurred in 1941 or 1942; “he does not know” but “he thought it was in 1942 but he is not sure.” It was on this slender basis that the board found that the injury occurred in July of 1942. Doubtless the evidence would have supported a finding that the injury occurred in 1941 but it did not as matter of
The testimony of Dr. Carmody that the injury to the employee’s brain was causally connected with the head injury sustained by the employee was sufficient to support the finding of the board that it was so related, even though it was more or less uncertain when this physician first learned of the head injury and notwithstanding the recital in the hospital record that dizzy spells commenced two years before his admission in 1947 and the further recital that during World War I he was struck in the left side of the head by a shell fragment with force enough to knock him off a tractor. The employee denied that he had been struck by any shell fragment. He was apparently in.good health prior to the injury of July, 1942. There was no error of law in the acceptance by the board of the opinion of Dr. Carmody. Marlow v. Dike, 269 Mass. 38, 40. Dug-gan’s Case, 315 Mass. 355, 358. Josi’s Case, 324 Mass. 415, 417-419.
The statute,
On the matter of notice the board found “that notice of injury was given seasonably by the employee after he had knowledge that the condition from which he was suffering was related to the injury of 1942.” The written notice required by §§ 41, 42, is a condition precedent to the maintenance of a proceeding for an award of compensation. It is an essential part of the employee’s case, and the burden
The finding of the board that notice was given seasonably after the employee learned that his condition was related to the injury of 1942 cannot be sustained. There was no evidence that the employee ever gave any written notice of ■his injury. It was, therefore, necessary for the employee to show that the insurer, insured or agent had knowledge of the injury or that no prejudice resulted to the insurer from want of notice. There was conflicting evidence upon the question of knowledge. Whether the insurer was prejudiced presented a question of fact for the determination of the board. No finding was made as to either matter apparently because the board relied upon its erroneous finding that notice had been given by the employee as soon as practicable after the occurrence of the accident.
The failure to file a claim within the time prescribed by
The board should have decided the question of knowledge of the injury or the existence of prejudice. While it seems likely that if the insurer was not prejudiced by the late filing of the claim the same result would follow from a want of notice, it was also the duty of the board to decide that question of fact and not the function of this court. We think the proper course to follow is that adopted in Coakley’s Case, 284 Mass. 559, 562, where there was no finding by the board on the issue as to prejudice arising from the absence of notice and where it was properly decided that no prejudice to the insurer resulted from a late filing of the claim. See Evans’s Case, 299 Mass. 435; Craddock’s Case, 310 Mass. 116.
So ordered.