Benware v. MeansBenware v. Means
- Reporters:
- ,
- Before:
- Foil, Whipple, Guidry
GUIDRY, J.
In this legal malpractice action, appellant, Jesse L. Means, Jr., appeals the trial court‘s judgment. Pursuant to the judgment, Victor C. Benware (Mr. Benware) was awarded damages against appellant and appellant‘s third party demand against Daniel K. Willis (Mr. Willis) was dismissed.
FACTS AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY
Mr. Benware was injured while in the course and scope of his employment as a prison guard at Louisiana State Penitentiary, Angola, Louisiana, on March 27, 1982. While attempting to stop a fight between two inmates, Mr. Benware was kicked in the right leg by one of the inmates. The injury aggravated a pre-existing varicose vein condition, which rendered Mr. Benware partially disabled.
Following his injury, the State of Louisiana paid workers’ compensation benefits to him from the date of the accident through March 18, 1983. Believing he was still entitled to receive benefits, Mr. Benware hired appellant as his attorney to prosecute a workers’ compensation claim against the State.
After being retained by Mr. Benware, appellant filed a lawsuit against the Louisiana Department of Corrections (the Department) and the State of Louisiana on behalf of Mr. Benware on August 24, 1983. On November 2, 1983, the Department and the State filed an answer to the petition. On June 7, 1988, Henry D. Salassi, Jr., enrolled as counsel for the Department and the State. On June 28, 1988, Mr. Salassi filed interrogatories, and on July 13, 1988, Mr. Salassi filed a notice of deposition. No pleadings, other than the original petition, were filed by appellant.
Because of his difficulty in reaching appellant to discuss his case, Mr. Benware asked another attorney, Mr. Willis, to ask appellant about the status of the case. Mr. Benware also suggested that Mr. Willis assist appellant with the case.
On August 19, 1993, counsel for the Department and the State filed a motion to dismiss the action for want of prosecution. A judgment, dismissing the workers’ compensation suit with prejudice at Mr. Benware‘s cost for want of prosecution for a period of five years, was signed on September 10, 1993.
On July 8, 1994, Mr. Benware filed a petition for damages against appellant and his professional liability insurer, Lloyd‘s Underwriters at London. In the petition, Mr. Benware alleged that he engaged appellant as his attorney in a workers’ compensation matter, and that after filing a petition for damages on behalf of Mr. Benware, appellant failed to take any action on
On November 9, 1994, Alan Edward Clare, individually and as representative underwriter on behalf of those certain Underwriters at Lloyd‘s, London (Lloyd‘s), filed an answer, generally denying the allegations of the petition, and filed a crossclaim against appellant, alleging that Lloyd‘s did not insure appellant for any act or omission by him pre-dating October 1, 1993. On November 14, 1994, appellant answered Mr. Benware‘s petition, generally denying the allegations. On December 22, 1994, appellant answered the cross-claim and filed a third party demand against Lloyd‘s.1 On January 8, 1996, appellant filed a third party demand against Mr. Willis. On June 21, 1996, Mr. Willis answered the third party demand, generally denying the allegations.
A status conference was held on July 29, 1996. Appellant was not present at this conference. On August 12, 1996, the trial court issued an order setting forth the deadlines by which the parties must file all motions, complete discovery, amend pleadings, and circulate and sign the pretrial order. More specifically, the order required that all pretrial inserts be exchanged by November 8, 1996. On December 17, 1996, counsel for Mr. Benware submitted the pretrial order to the trial court without any pretrial inserts from appellant because appellant had not provided opposing counsel with this information. The pretrial inserts of each party were to contain each party‘s contentions, exhibit list, witness list, and any other relevant matters.
On February 7, 1997, counsel for Mr. Benware and Mr. Willis filed a motion to circumscribe the calling of witnesses and introduction of evidence by appellant. The motion was heard on March 31, 1997, the day of the trial, and the trial court rendered judgment on the motion in open court. Pursuant to the judgment, the motion was granted, and appellant was prohibited from maintaining any defense contentions, introducing any evidence, or calling any witnesses at the trial of the matter. After a trial on the merits, judgment was rendered and signed by the trial court on September 25, 1997. Judgment was in favor of Mr. Benware and against appellant in the amount of $50,000.00. There was also judgment in favor of Mr. Willis against appellant, dismissing appellant‘s third party demand with prejudice.
Appellant appealed the decision to this court and we reversed the trial court‘s ruling on the motion to circumscribe, reversed the judgment of the trial court on the merits, and remanded the matter for a new trial. Benware v. Means, 98-0203, p. 8 (La.App. 1st Cir.2/23/99), 738 So.2d 204 (unpublished opinion). However, Mr. Benware applied to the Louisiana Supreme Court for writs, and the supreme court granted the writ application. Benware v. Means, 99-1410 (La.9/17/99), 747 So.2d 554. The supreme court reinstated the trial court‘s judgment on the motion to circumscribe, set aside our judgment vacating the trial court‘s decision on the merits, and remanded the case for us to review the judgment on the merits. Benware v. Means, 99-1410, p. 14 (La.1/19/00), 752 So.2d 841, 849.
ASSIGNMENTS OF ERROR
The issues raised by appellant regarding the sanctions imposed and conduct of the trial without prior notice were disposed of by the supreme court. Thus, the following issues regarding the trial remain to be addressed by us: 1) whether the medical evidence submitted in the case supports a cause of action in the workers’ compensation case that Mr. Benware must prove in the legal malpractice case; 2) whether Mr. Benware‘s failure to follow recommended medical treatment was unreasonable and limited any benefits to which he was entitled to a period of twenty-six weeks; 3) whether Mr. Benware‘s stipulation as to the value of his claim being $49,999.99 was binding on the trial court, and whether the trial court should have applied any credit due appellant against $49,999.99; 4) whether the trial court‘s finding that Mr. Benware‘s income during the period of disability was $23,017.00 is arbitrary, and whether the trial court erred in not requiring of Mr. Benware adequate evidence as to the nature and extent of his income; and 5) whether the trial court erred in allowing Mr. Benware, over appellant‘s objection, to expand the pleadings without filing an amended and supplemental petition in writing.
DISCUSSION
Motion to Substitute Parties Plaintiff
During oral argument of this matter, we were informed by counsel for Mr. Benware that he died during the pendency of this appeal. Thereafter, a motion to substitute parties plaintiff was filed by Victoria Benware Leet (Victoria) and Leon Joseph Benware, II (Leon). Asserting that they are the lawful children and heirs, they moved to be substituted and, pursuant to
We cannot render a judgment for or against a deceased person, as such is an absolute nullity. Carr v. Hibernia National Bank, 95-1342, p. 1 (La.App. 1st Cir.9/25/98), 720 So.2d 81, 82, writ not considered, 98-2246 (La.11/13/98), 730 So.2d 451, reconsideration not considered, 98-2246 (La.1/15/99), 735 So.2d 645. We do, however, when a motion is properly filed, have the authority to substitute a party when a party dies during the pendency of an appeal as set forth in the Uniform Rules for the Louisiana Courts of Appeal. See
When a party dies during the pendency of an action which is not extinguished by his death, his legal successor may have himself substituted for the deceased party, on ex parte written motion supported by proof of his quality.
As used in Articles 801 through 804, “legal successor” means:
(1) The survivors designated in Article 2315.1 of the Civil Code, if the action survives in their favor; and
(2) Otherwise, it means the succession representative of the deceased appointed by a court of this state, if the succession is under administration therein; or the heirs and legatees of the deceased, if the deceased‘s succession is not under administration therein.
The documents attached to the motion to substitute demonstrate that Victoria and Leon are the legal successors of Mr. Benware
Standard of Review—De Novo
On appeal, appellant challenges the trial court‘s determination that Mr. Benware‘s income during his period of disability was $23,017.00 as arbitrary. We agree. Furthermore, we conclude that a de novo review of this case is required because of a misapplication of the law by the trial court.
Where one or more trial court legal errors interdict the fact-finding process, the manifest error standard is no longer applicable, and, if the record is otherwise complete, the appellate court should make its own independent de novo review of the record and determine a preponderance of the evidence. Ferrell v. Fireman‘s Fund Insurance Co., 94-1252, p. 7 (La.2/20/95), 650 So.2d 742, 747. As the Louisiana Supreme Court explained in Evans v. Lungrin, 97-0541, 97-0577, p. 7 (La.2/6/98), 708 So.2d 731, 735:
A legal error occurs when a trial court applies incorrect principles of law and such errors are prejudicial. Legal errors are prejudicial when they materially affect the outcome and deprive a party of substantial rights. When such a prejudicial error of law skews the trial court‘s finding of a material issue of fact and causes it to pretermit other issues, the appellate court is required, if it can, to render judgment on the record by applying the correct law and determining the essential material facts de novo. (Citations omitted)
Under the 1982 version of
Therefore, the trial court erred as a matter of law in its calculation of the benefits to which Mr. Benware was entitled and in allowing a credit for Mr. Benware‘s income during the period of his disability in the amount of $23,017.00. Accordingly, we must review the present case de novo.
Enlargement of Pleadings
Before reviewing the case de novo, we address the question of whether the pleadings were enlarged by allowing evidence regarding the period of Mr. Benware‘s disability and the number of weeks for which Mr. Benware was entitled to receive benefits.
In his petition for damages, Mr. Benware alleged that he “was entitled to damages for the permanent partial disability of his leg or sixty-six and two-thirds percent
A judgment rendered beyond the pleadings is a nullity. Stephens v. Stephens, 30,498, p. 3 (La.App.2d Cir.5/13/98), 714 So.2d 115, 117; Havener v. Havener, 29,785, p. 2 (La.App.2d Cir.8/20/97), 700 So.2d 533, 535. The trial judge has great discretion to admit or disallow evidence subject to an objection based upon the scope of the issues and pleadings and to determine whether evidence is encompassed by the general issues raised in the pleadings. Herrell v. Herrell, 594 So.2d 943, 946 (La.App. 3d Cir.1992).
A timely objection, coupled with the failure to move for an amendment of the pleadings is fatal to an issue not raised in the pleadings. Havener, 29,785 at 3, 700 So.2d at 535. If the evidence is admissible on the issues properly pleaded, the pleadings are not enlarged by its admission. Id. Furthermore,
We do not believe the trial court was in error in allowing the testimony regarding the time period for which Mr. Benware was entitled to benefits. Likewise, we do not believe it was error for the trial court to determine that Mr. Benware was entitled to 450 weeks of benefits. Clearly, this case centered around the issue of whether Mr. Benware was entitled to benefits on the basis of permanent partial disability. Although the petition states an incorrect time period, it expressly alleges that Mr. Benware is entitled to damages for his “permanent partial disability.”
In addition, appellant failed to show any prejudice by the admission of the evidence. See Herrell, 594 So.2d at 946. The petition gave appellant notice that Mr. Benware was claiming damages related to appellant‘s failure to prosecute Mr. Benware‘s permanent partial disability claim. Furthermore, appellant, as Mr. Benware‘s attorney in the workers’ compensation claim, had ample notice of the basis of Mr. Benware‘s legal malpractice claim. Therefore, we find no abuse of discretion by the trial court in allowing evidence regarding the 450-week maximum compensation duration for permanent partial disability.
Thus, we now review the entire record, including all the evidence presented at trial, applying the de novo standard.
Workers’ Compensation Law Applicable to this Case
An employee may be deemed partially disabled if he is unable to perform the same duties in which he was customarily engaged, or duties of the same or similar character for which he is fitted by
In his petition for damages, Mr. Benware alleged and sought to prove at trial that he is permanently partially disabled as the result of his 1982 on-the-job injury. After the injury, Mr. Benware received compensation benefits for approximately 51 weeks. Thereafter, his benefits were terminated, and a workers’ compensation action was filed on his behalf. This claim was governed by the law at the time the accident occurred.
In 1982,
Prior to his injury, Mr. Benware‘s average wages were $596.77 twice a month or approximately $298.39 per week. According to Mr. Benware, after the injury he looked for employment but no one would hire him. He then opened a gun shop. When he opened the shop, his intent was to receive a weekly salary of $100.00. However, according to Mr. Benware, he rarely collected a salary because the business was not making enough money to pay him. According to Mr. Benware, his average annual wages from the gun shop were below $4,000.00. Yet, he received $100.00 for the weeks that he did receive wages. None of Mr. Benware‘s testimony was contradicted by appellant. Thus, we conclude that, had he not stipulated that his damages did not exceed $50,000.00, Mr. Benware would be entitled to damages in the amount of $52,775.73.7
Appellant argues that Mr. Benware failed to prove his entitlement to workers’ compensation benefits, which is a necessary element in proving legal malpractice.8 Additionally, appellant argues that Mr. Benware‘s unreasonable failure to follow recommended medical treatment limited any benefits Mr. Benware could recover to a period of 26 weeks.9
An attorney is negligent if he accepts employment and fails to assert timely
Furthermore, the record supports the conclusion that Mr. Benware had a valid claim against his employer. Mr. Benware‘s treating physician, Dr. Kent Martin, testified in his deposition (taken in the underlying workers’ compensation case) that although Mr. Benware‘s objective signs and symptoms of the injury had resolved a year after the accident, Mr. Benware continued to complain of severe pain that would keep him from returning to work. While Dr. Martin acknowledged that he would not have “tolerated this” in a normal individual and would have insisted that such individual return to work, he could not issue such an order in Mr. Benware‘s case because Mr. Benware “already had severe morbidity from his other medical problems, if he said he had pain so severe that he couldn‘t work, [Dr. Martin] didn‘t feel that [he] could ignore that.” The expert legal testimony of Mr. Canaday and the testimony of Henry D. Salassi, Jr., the former attorney for Mr. Benware‘s employer, further bolster Mr. Benware‘s case and adequately prove Mr. Benware‘s entitlement to compensation.
Appellant‘s argument that Mr. Benware failed to follow recommended medical treatment is based on a recommendation by Dr. Martin and Dr. Sheely, a specialist referred by Dr. Martin, that Mr. Benware wear Jobst support stockings and that he lose weight. We, however, do not believe that Mr. Benware‘s failure to wear the stockings was unreasonable. According to Mr. Benware, the stockings were so painful that he could not bear to wear them. Furthermore, Dr. Martin testified that he was not very hopeful that the stockings would be effective because Mr. Benware‘s legs were so large.
As to the weight loss recommendation, Dr. Martin also did not believe this alternative was possible. Likewise, Mr. Benware testified that he was unable to lose weight because he could not tolerate much usage of his leg. Thus, he was unable to exercise. Accordingly, Mr. Benware‘s failure to lose weight was not unreasonable.
Stipulation of Damages
On August 20, 1996, Mr. Benware stipulated that the value of his claim against appellant did not exceed $49,999.99 and asked that the request for a jury trial be dismissed. In light of this stipulation, appellant argues that it was error for the trial court to determine that Mr. Benware was entitled to $73,017.00 in damages, which was then reduced to $50,000.00 based on a credit in favor of appellant in the amount of $23,017.00 for earnings by Mr. Benware. We agree.
A stipulation has the effect of a judicial admission or confession, which binds all parties and the court. Stevens v. Winn-Dixie of Louisiana, 95-0435, pp. 7-8 (La.App. 1st Cir.11/9/95), 664 So.2d 1207, 1212. Stipulations between the parties are binding on the trial court when not in derogation of law. Bullock v. Graham, 96-0711, p. 4 (La.11/1/96), 681 So.2d 1248, 1250. Moreover, it is well settled that procedural maneuvers designed solely to deprive litigants of their right to a jury trial based on jurisdictional amounts are disfavored. Bullock, 96-0711 at 4, 681 So.2d at 1250.
In the present case, it is clear from the stipulation by Mr. Benware that the primary motivation for stipulating that
CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, Victoria Benware Leet and Leon Joseph Benware, II, are substituted as parties plaintiff as the legal successors of Victor C. Benware, and the trial court‘s judgment is amended to reduce the damage award from $50,000.00 to $49,999.99. All costs of this appeal are assessed to appellant, Jesse L. Means, Jr.
MOTION GRANTED. JUDGMENT AMENDED, AND AS AMENDED, AFFIRMED.
Notes
La. C.C. art. 2315.1 provides, in pertinent part:
A. If a person who has been injured by an offense or quasi offense dies, the right to recover all damages for injury to that person, his property or otherwise, caused by the offense or quasi offense, shall survive for a period of one year from the death of the deceased in favor of:
(1) The surviving spouse and child or children of the deceased, or either the spouse or the child or children.