Bahre v. HogbloomBahre v. Hogbloom
- Reporters:
- , ,
- Before:
- Cotter
The plaintiff, on December 17, 1954, while employed by the named defendant, sustained a back injury arising out of and in the course of his employment. He was paid temporary total compensation until March 2, 1965, pursuant to awards entered by the workmen’s compensation commissioner. After payments had been made for total incapacity for a period of more than nine years, the commissioner found that as of March 2, 1965, the plaintiff had a capacity for work and thus had only a permanent partial disability and reduced his compensation rate accordingly; and, thereafter, payments for partial disability were made to July 22, 1968. On July 27,1968, however, the plaintiff under
Thereafter, in compliance with the order, compensation was paid for total incapacity to the claimant to January 26, 1970, when compensation payments were discontinued because the employer claimed that the combined temporary total and temporary partial payments had reached 780 weeks. The plaintiff claimed that, pursuant to § 2287c of the 1953 Cumulative Supplement, now designated
The present controversy, it is agreed, is concerned solely with an interpretation of §§ 2287c and 2288c of the 1953 Cumulative Supplement, i.e., whether
The history of the statute, § 2287c, Cum. Sup.
The defendants take the position that the last sentence of § 2288c, pertinent provisions of which appear in footnote,
2
precludes payment beyond a
The court, in construing a legislative act, considers its history, its language, the purpose it is designed to serve and the circumstances surrounding its enactment; and, in determining its purpose and scope, makes every part operative and harmonious with every other part insofar as is possible since the letter of a law or its literal meaning is not in all cases a correct guide to the intent and true sense of the lawmaker.
Feldman
v.
Administrator,
138 Conn. 724, 727, 89 A.2d 210. The legislative objects must be
The last two sentences of § 2288c apply the 780-week limitation to a combination of payments of total incapacity and disfigurement, or partial incapacity and disfigurement, and demonstrate a legislative intent and purpose to limit the additional pay
The sole application of § 2288c to a totally disabled employee is to an employee who is disfigured in addition to being totally disabled. The statute does not affect the period that payments are to be made for total disability which are paid pursuant to § 2287c. The plaintiff makes no claims of disfigurement, nor has the commissioner made a finding to that effect. Since the claimant has no disfigurement, and has been found to be totally disabled, § 2288c is not applicable. “ ‘Courts must assume that the legislature intended a reasonable and rational result and must, when possible, construe statutes accordingly.’ ” Stone v. Sullivan, 154 Conn. 498, 503, 227 A.2d 76.
The application of § 2287c providing compensation for total disability is not limited solely to those persons who are permanently and totally disabled. It is quite likely that an injured person may have undergone a period of partial incapacity prior to, or intervening, a period of total incapacity. The Workmen’s Compensation Act anticipates such occurrences and provides that the award of the com
The Workmen’s Compensation Act is liberally construed in favor of the employee; Gesmundo v. Bush, 133 Conn. 607, 611, 53 A.2d 392, 58 Am. Jur., Workmen’s Compensation, §§ 26, 27; and it is to be interpreted with sufficient liberality to carry into effect the beneficent purpose contemplated in that act and not to defeat that purpose by narrow and technical definition. Meade v. L. G. DeFelice & Son, Inc., 137 Conn. 292, 296, 76 A.2d 862. The rationale behind the Workmen’s Compensation Act has always been to provide compensation for an injury arising out of and in the course of employment regardless of fault and we can assume that the General Assembly acted with the knowledge of this longstanding construction which this court has given to the purpose of such legislation. Klapproth v. Turner, 156 Conn. 276, 279, 240 A.2d 886.
The real and essential purpose of § 2287c, clearly expressed in the enactment, was to remove any limitation on payments for total incapacity.
Kuehne
v.
Town Council,
136 Conn. 452, 456, 72 A.2d 474. To apply § 2288c as urged by the defendants would defeat the expressed intent of § 2287c. We cannot conclude that the two statutes are in conflict. Where one construction thwarts the purpose of an enactment and another does not, the latter construction, where possible, is preferred.
Bergner
v.
State,
144
There is error, the judgment is set aside and the case is remanded to the Superior Court with direction to sustain the appeal and return the case to the commissioner for further action in accordance with this opinion.
In this opinion the other judges concurred.
Notes
These statutes were in force at the time of the injury. Schmidt v. O. K. Baking Co., 90 Comn. 217, 220, 96 A. 963.
“Sec. 2288c [Cum. Sup. 1953]. compensation fob pabtial incapacity. If any injury for which compensation is provided under the provisions of this chapter shall result in partial incapacity, there shall bo paid to the injured employee a weekly compensation equal to sixty per oent of the difference between his average weekly earnings before the injury and the amount he is able to earn thereafter. Such compensation shall in no case be more than forty dollars weekly and shall continue during the period of partial incapacity, but no longer than seven hundred and eighty weeks. If the employer shall procure for an injured employee employment suitable to his capacity, the wages offered in such employment shall be taken as the earning capacity of the injured employee. With respect to the following-described injuries the compensation, in addition to the usual compensation for total incapacity but in lieu of all other payments for compensation, shall be sixty per oent of the average weekly earnings of the injured employee, but in no ease more than forty dollars or less than, twelve dollars weekly. ... In addition to compensation for total or partial incapacity or for a specific loss of a member or use of the function of a member of the body, the commissioner may award such compensation as he deems just, equal to sixty per cent of the average weekly earnings of the injured employee, but in no case more than forty dollars or less than twelve dollars weekly, for any serious and permanent disfigurement of the face, neck, head, forearms or hands up to one hundred and four weeks, but no compensation shall be awarded when sueh disfigurement was caused solely by the loss of or the loss of use of a member of the body for which compensation payments are provided by the terms of subsections (a) to (1), inclusive. Sueh combined compensation for total incapacity, partial incapacity or specific loss of a member or of the use thereof and disfigurement shall in no case be more than the sum equivalent to compensation for seven hundred and eighty weeks.”
The reference to total incapacity in the last sentence of § 2288c was deleted in the 1961 legislative session. Public Acts 1961, No. 491 § 31.